Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Approaching 50, career advice?

This is a discussion on Approaching 50, career advice? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. In high school, I graduated third in my class. My SAT's were 780 math, and 700 verbal. These were high

Closed Thread

Old 04-15-2014, 09:34 AM   #1
Registered Member

In high school, I graduated third in my class. My SAT's were 780 math, and 700 verbal. These were high enough to put me in top 1/50th of 1 percent. I loved computers so I went to one of the US's top universities and graduated with a dual major in Mathematics and Computer Science in the 1980's.

The first fifteen years of my career were great. I worked senior level positions in programming, databases, networking, servers, and project management. At one point I managed 14 people. After that I faced several layoffs, outsourcings, and then searching for whatever short term jobs I could find as a consultant.

A decade ago, I was working in senior level consulting jobs for $50 an hour. Later, as I took the best job I could find to pay the bills, the jobs started to not be so well paid. Currently I am working as a refresh technician for less than $20 an hour.

Over the years I have earned a lot of certifications—MCSE, CCENT, A+, CISA, and a few others. In the current job market, the only relevant information seems to be one’s job history for the most recent three years. Is there any way to turn my career around?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-15-2014, 11:47 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support

OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System