Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

A little career assistance

This is a discussion on A little career assistance within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I'm currently a CPA who has always had a love computers. In hind sight, I should have pushed

Closed Thread

Old 09-04-2013, 06:36 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hello all,

I'm currently a CPA who has always had a love computers. In hind sight, I should have pushed an IT career from the beginning, but you go where life takes you.

I currently work in industry, and my job has evolved to include an IT component, which I really enjoy. I do a lot of work in access, custom reporting, queries, etc., and will be doing some additional work in SQL server. Naturally, I use Excel a lot.
I've intentionally directed my position toward the IT side of things, and am considered the resident tech in our accounting department. I like being the liaison between IT and finance.

That being said, I'm almost 38 and looking to define my next career move. I'd like to do more on the data/information side, maybe business intelligence or information assurance. I don't have much interest in traditional side of accounting anymore.

I'm just not sure what direction to head. I've been studying some basic SQL server books, and I've thought about pursuing my CISA and or CISSP. I've also considered going back to grad school for computer science, information technology or information assurance.

So, I've got way too much going in my head right now, and I'm hoping someone here could give some guidance.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-04-2013, 08:15 PM   #2
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert

My System