Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

1st Line Helpdesk Support/Analyst

This is a discussion on 1st Line Helpdesk Support/Analyst within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, I'm looking for some advise in regards to obtaining an entry level job for the above role. My

Closed Thread

Old 09-28-2014, 02:48 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hi all,

I'm looking for some advise in regards to obtaining an entry level job for the above role.

My situation is I've been working in Customer Services for around 9 years and unfortunately due to business changes my entire site is being closed and we're all being made redundant due to the distance of the re-location.

My past experience will be sadly nothing in an IT professional role but I've tried to support the people in the department as much as possible with the limitations of it being a big company and a lot of restrictions to administrator only (even the clock).

I do have a GNVQ from 10 years ago in ICT (college) but nothing to speak of in terms of education.

I've always wanted to work in IT but, ultimately I had to take a job doing something before and work my way up to a wage I could afford. Customer Services skills seemed relevant to try and gain.

I'm now 29 (In the coming week) and would really like a change in career moving into IT. I'm still employed until the end of October and I have some money available from the company and redundancy to use towards bolstering my certifications (or lack of).

Any help on what certifications would be right for me to take towards this goal and advice on anyone who might have been in the same or similar situation to me.

A couple of particulars from my research so far if anyone could answer for me?

Q: I've read a little about ITL
Would this be of benefit?

Q: A+ and Microsoft certifications