Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

User Tag List

Windows Crashes/ Hangs After Running 3D application

This is a discussion on Windows Crashes/ Hangs After Running 3D application within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a HP Pavilion dv6t 7000 quad edition with i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30 8 gb RAM and a nvidia


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-2012, 05:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Win 7 SP1



I have a HP Pavilion dv6t 7000 quad edition with i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30 8 gb RAM and a nvidia 650 m gt, running Windows 7 64 bit edition.


I got the laptop last week, but didn't get to test it or anything because of the hurricane.


I have installed all windows update, updated all drivers and such.

Whenever I run a game with 3D application, my computer freezes up and the sound loops. At first I thought it was the game's fault, but it happened with both Diablo 3 and Guild Wars 2, so I thought it was a drivers issue.

I first installed the Windows Update graphic drivers, that didn't work, so I reformatted and installed official nVidia drivers. That didn't work either, so I reformatted again, and installed the official HP drivers by scanning my computer for the correct ones.

Then I proceeded to think that it was a overheating issue, and so I downloaded FluidMark and ran the program. It was ok for a minute or two, then crashed. I ran it again, and made note that it crashed around 56 degrees. I ran it again (using different settings) and it crashed around 56 degrees (Celsius(is 56 degrees Celsisus considered hot?)).

I have no idea what else to look for, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. If it is an overheating issue, can I fix it myself, or will that void my warranty.

If I can fix it myself, can anyone give me some pointers?

If you need any further information, just ask.
pyroko1678 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2012, 05:20 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Hello,

Install HWMonitor and post a screenshot of the program at idle and again while gaming.

Does it matter if running on battery or with the ac adapter connected?

What is the Power Scheme set to? Blanced,Power Saver, or Performance?
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 11-06-2012, 05:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Win 7 SP1



Thanx for the quick reply.

My computer is plugged into the AC charger, and I am running on High Performance profile. Should I change these settings to see if it makes a difference?

For more information, after I screenshoted the "ingame" image, I was able to move around for ~10 seconds, and
then it the screen froze, and the sound kept looping.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	idle.PNG
Views:	38
Size:	90.4 KB
ID:	118337   Click image for larger version

Name:	in game.PNG
Views:	48
Size:	109.4 KB
ID:	118338  
pyroko1678 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2012, 06:48 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Win 7 SP1



I tried getting a screenshot of HW Monitor because I couldn't find the section for my video card, then I realized I had to run HW Monitor after I started GW2. Here is the new screenshot. After the screenshot was taken, the game crashed ~15 seconds later.

This time I got a BSOD, but didn't have time to read the screen before and reboot happened automatically. Usually I would have to do a hard reboot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	in game 2.PNG
Views:	47
Size:	137.2 KB
ID:	118341  
pyroko1678 is offline  
Old 11-07-2012, 12:01 AM   #5
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Temps appear to be okay.

Post the dump file for the BSOD. https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ta-452654.html
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 11-07-2012, 08:28 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Win 7 SP1



I tried the steps as posted on your link. Steps 1 and 2 worked fine (I think) but step 3 I had some issuses.

First when I went to start and type "perfmon /report" (no quotes) it would try to gather information for about 5 seconds and then crash saying Error: An error has occurred...(attached image below)

To remedy this I typed "perfmon /report" and this time ran it as administrator (was this step correct?) and it seemed to work (see image 1). I went to Performance Monitor on the left pane, and right clicked the right graph and saved the settings to a html file (see image 2)

Some things to note are that when I ran perfmon /report as an administrator and didn't seem to use anytime to gather information.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	error.PNG
Views:	38
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	118366   Click image for larger version

Name:	1.PNG
Views:	50
Size:	123.6 KB
ID:	118367   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	155.6 KB
ID:	118368  

pyroko1678 is offline  
Old 11-07-2012, 08:54 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Win 7 SP1



I posted some information in another thread, hopefully that might answer some questions you might have.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ml#post3947993

OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Windows 7 x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 64 bit What was original installed OS on system? Windows 7 Home Premium Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? OEM version Age of system (hardware) I customized and order the laptop on 10/16/12, got the laptop on the 29th. Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? Reinstalled OS three times CPU i7 3610QM @ 2.30 gHz Video Card nVidia GT 650m MotherBoard HP 181E 52.23 Power Supply - brand & wattage not quite sure its a laptop System Manufacturer HP Exact model number (if laptop, check label on bottom) A3F49AV
Attached Files
File Type: zip perfmon.zip (797.4 KB, 25 views)
pyroko1678 is offline  
Old 11-09-2012, 06:29 PM   #8
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Temps look okay doesn't seem to be overheating but symptoms and issue indicate otherwise.

Try the steps below to completely uninstall the graphics driver:

-Download Trexxy Driver Fusion from Driver Fusion - The Complete Driver Solution and install it. Don't run the program yet
- First, Uninstall the NVidia driver/software from Control Panel > Uninstall a program and restart
-Now run Driver Fusion, select Nvidia Display and then select Delete
-After complete restart the PC then install correct Graphics driver only from the HP Support site.

If you continue to have problems with crashing I would suggest that you contact HP for warranty or exchange.

The one dump file that is in the report is 0x116 Video TDR Failure. This can usually be caused by faulty drivers, Overheating, or faulty hardware

Code:
Windows 7 Kernel Version 7601 (Service Pack 1) MP (8 procs) Free x64
Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS Personal
Built by: 7601.17944.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120830-0333
Machine Name:
Kernel base = 0xfffff800`02c66000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`02eaa670
Debug session time: Tue Nov  6 21:43:26.326 2012 (UTC - 5:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:06:34.138
Loading Kernel Symbols
...............................................................
................................................................
.............................
Loading User Symbols
Loading unloaded module list
......
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck 116, {fffffa800a7b1120, fffff8800fd55630, ffffffffc000009a, 4}

Unable to load image \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\nvlddmkm.sys, Win32 error 0n2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for nvlddmkm.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for nvlddmkm.sys
Probably caused by : nvlddmkm.sys ( nvlddmkm+ade630 )

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

6: kd> !analyze -v
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

VIDEO_TDR_FAILURE (116)
Attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed.
Arguments:
Arg1: fffffa800a7b1120, Optional pointer to internal TDR recovery context (TDR_RECOVERY_CONTEXT).
Arg2: fffff8800fd55630, The pointer into responsible device driver module (e.g. owner tag).
Arg3: ffffffffc000009a, Optional error code (NTSTATUS) of the last failed operation.
Arg4: 0000000000000004, Optional internal context dependent data.

Debugging Details:
------------------


FAULTING_IP: 
nvlddmkm+ade630
fffff880`0fd55630 4055            push    rbp

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  GRAPHICS_DRIVER_TDR_FAULT

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1

BUGCHECK_STR:  0x116

PROCESS_NAME:  System

CURRENT_IRQL:  0

STACK_TEXT:  
fffff880`03fcea48 fffff880`04e8e004 : 00000000`00000116 fffffa80`0a7b1120 fffff880`0fd55630 ffffffff`c000009a : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff880`03fcea50 fffff880`04e61867 : fffff880`0fd55630 fffffa80`0d544000 00000000`00000000 ffffffff`c000009a : dxgkrnl!TdrBugcheckOnTimeout+0xec
fffff880`03fcea90 fffff880`04e8de13 : fffffa80`ffffd84d 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`0a7b1120 00000000`00000000 : dxgkrnl!DXGADAPTER::Reset+0x2a3
fffff880`03fceb40 fffff880`04f5e069 : fffffa80`0d40abb0 00000000`00000080 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`0d541410 : dxgkrnl!TdrResetFromTimeout+0x23
fffff880`03fcebc0 fffff800`02f7be5a : 00000000`01c14cec fffffa80`0d352a00 fffffa80`072eeae0 fffffa80`0d352a00 : dxgmms1!VidSchiWorkerThread+0x101
fffff880`03fcec00 fffff800`02cd5d26 : fffff800`02e57e80 fffffa80`0d352a00 fffff800`02e65cc0 00000000`00000000 : nt!PspSystemThreadStartup+0x5a
fffff880`03fcec40 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiStartSystemThread+0x16


STACK_COMMAND:  .bugcheck ; kb

FOLLOWUP_IP: 
nvlddmkm+ade630
fffff880`0fd55630 4055            push    rbp

SYMBOL_NAME:  nvlddmkm+ade630

FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: nvlddmkm

IMAGE_NAME:  nvlddmkm.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  506b3099

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x116_IMAGE_nvlddmkm.sys

BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x116_IMAGE_nvlddmkm.sys
makinu1der2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repost Per: CatByte Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem
Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem Hello, I hope I'm at the right area for help. This pc I'm on was infected with Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD. I was able to get to the net somehow and I installed and ran Malwarebytes and got rid of SmartHDD. Then I ran Windows Defender and it found...
mg67 Resolved HJT Threads 23 07-30-2012 06:24 AM
happili.com virus
Hi, I wrote yesterday that believe i have the happili.com virus and cannot remove it. I was told to follow the pre-post instructions. However, I could not run dds.scr. It would open ans tell me to wait. It said the scan should not last more than 3 minutes. But it never ended and I could not close...
sharkfan12 Resolved HJT Threads 23 04-17-2012 12:38 PM
Redirect Virus
Hi, Since about a month I've noticed that whenever I run google search after clicking at link in results page I'm being redirected to some random pages. I've ignored it at first as I thought It's harmless, however after making some research I notice it's a serious problem and after failing...
Asator616 Resolved HJT Threads 17 11-17-2011 04:21 PM
3TB HDD won't format
I recently bought a 3TB 5400RPM hard drive and placed it in an enclosure. I orginially had connected it to my PC via USB 2.0 and formatted the entire drive and everything seemed to be in working order. After that I decided to connect the drive via eSATA because of the speed increase. When...
UhOhOhNo Hard Drive Support 8 09-13-2011 08:22 PM
Aggravating Google Redirect Virus on Wife's Computer
my wife's laptop suddenly is getting the redirect on google searches. i know this is one of your common problems to fix. i had the same problem on my computer about a year ago and your help was the only way i got rid of it on my computer. this computer runs updated version of webroot securities....
scott1nc Inactive Malware Help Topics 36 04-20-2011 04:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts