Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Vista BSOD still, after Reinstall

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Vista BSOD still, after Reinstall within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, just asking for some help here. I was forced to reinstall Vista, due to inability to install SP1, or


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2011, 08:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Hi, just asking for some help here.

I was forced to reinstall Vista, due to inability to install SP1, or indeed SP2 not offered.

Reinstalled from from the Restore partition on this Dell inspiron 1525, which I was tasked with fixing under Microsoft e-mail help, after all other avenues to fix this machine failed!!!!!

This machine belongs to my brother-in-law, is oldee, and is under-powered, including the need for more RAM, 2GB ordered......but even then....

Reinstall worked, to the extent that I am now up-to-date, with SP1 and SP2 and all Security updates now installed.

Just for info, I have UAC disabled.....

Latest Avast Antivirus (6.0.1203) is installed, which is also supposed to protect against Spyware??....

Auto Defrag turned off, I use Auslogics Defrag and Ccleaner......

I am going to attach the report files, and give the info below:

==========================================================

OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ?

Microsoft Vista Home Premium (now SP2)...fully updated via Windows Update.


x86 (32-bit) or x64 ?

32-bit


What was original installed OS on system?

Vista Home Premium (Original)


Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)?

OEM Preinstalled.....Dell inspiron 1525


Age of system (hardware)

2008, AFAIK


Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS?


Re-installed OS to Factory Image, from Recovery Partiton on HD.



CPU.......Intel Pentium Dual CPU T2370 @ 1.73 GHz 1.73 GHz


Video Card.......Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family


Motherboard.......Dell 0u990C.....Chipset Intel GL960/GM965/PM965......BIOS A17


Power Supply - brand & wattage......6-cell 56WHr Li-Ion battery


System Manufacturer........Dell


Exact model number (if laptop, check label on bottom).......Dell inspiron 1525.....

==========================================================

I have also attached the report files in zip format, as requested.

Thanks for any help, even looking at the reports might help.

Hard to understand BSOD's after fresh Install, and SP updates????

Thanks again,

Danny
Attached Files
File Type: zip Windows7_Vista_jcgriff2.zip (954.8 KB, 33 views)
dannymur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2011, 09:28 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Sorry, me again, can't find the edit post button, blind.....

Just to post the original message I got after the BS:

Quote:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 6153

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: c5
BCP1: 01BD6750
BCP2: 00000002
BCP3: 00000000
BCP4: 8193C770
OS Version: 6_0_6002
Service Pack: 2_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini071311-01.dmp
C:\Users\Gene\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-41449-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Gene\AppData\Local\Temp\WERDE4.tmp.version.txt

Read our privacy statement:
Microsoft Online Crash Analysis
So, I found the minidump file, and will upload, but I can't find the other two referenced files???

Thanks again...Dan
Attached Files
File Type: zip Mini071311-01.zip (19.1 KB, 31 views)
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-13-2011, 09:55 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


Hi danny,

Have you tried booting into safemode and seeing if it still bluescreens?
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2011, 12:00 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by cl0udedth0ught View Post
Hi danny,

Have you tried booting into safemode and seeing if it still bluescreens?
Sorry cl0udedth0ught......this is not a persistent or consistent BSOD situation..TG

I am just peed off as I spent the best part of 4....FOUR..... nights reinstalling this Vista OS, from the HD partition, and succeeded in getting SP1 and SP2, and all other Updates to install. This was done with the help of MS Support, who are still providing support for WU problems in Vista. All other repair options had failed, including disabling AV, running MS Fixit, running System Update Readiness tool, sending CheckSUR logs, trying an "In-Place Upgrade" (Vista Repair).....etc, etc.

They were, as a last resort resort, going to send me a Vista Install Disk, with SP2...until that discovered I am in Ireland... Europe...!!!.. so no cigar!!!

So, left with the Restore Install from Factory Image, and receiving about 20000000(sorry, maybe a little exaggerated) updates via WU....

And now, BSOD, suddenly, for no apparent reason, after all that....

I know now why ppl hate Vista!!!!!!

Think I will just put Ubuntu on or sumtin, except my Brother-in-Law will kill me......so no.

Persist with this to the bitter end......

My own thoughts are that Vista needs lots of Memory, and perhaps the ready boost USB/SD on as well........
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-13-2011, 12:08 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


What are the PC specs? Prebuilt make and model or custom build (PSU, CPU, Mobo, Video Card, Ram, etc..)


2GB's of memory should be fine for Vista to run ok. Have you tried updating all the drivers from the PC Manufacturer's website?
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 07-13-2011, 02:28 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by cl0udedth0ught View Post
What are the PC specs? Prebuilt make and model or custom build (PSU, CPU, Mobo, Video Card, Ram, etc..)


2GB's of memory should be fine for Vista to run ok. Have you tried updating all the drivers from the PC Manufacturer's website?
That info, and the BSOD file collection and System Health Reports etc, the are in my OP.....

Also my second post contains the minidump from the BS......

This should comply with the requirements as outlined here by jcgriff2.....


This is a Dell inspiron 1525, with 1GB of RAM, original spec...circa 2008!!!

I have ordered 2GB, which may be sufficient.....

I am currently running Driver Verifier, as suggested here by jcgriff2...so far no more BSOD's with DV running...

Thanks,

Danny
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 03:58 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Hi there, just back with another BSOD report.

BSOD today on starting this Laptop, Driver Verifier was running, so I have a Minidump file, but finding it was a problem.......finally located here:

C:\Users\Gene\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\Report019e53d9

not in the c:\windows\minidump folder????

This was the BSOD message:

Quote:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 6153

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 1
BCP1: 82052626
BCP2: 00000000
BCP3: 0000FFFE
BCP4: 00000000
OS Version: 6_0_6002
Service Pack: 2_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini071411-01.dmp
C:\Users\Gene\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-63773-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Gene\AppData\Local\Temp\WER99FD.tmp.version.txt

Read our privacy statement:
Microsoft Online Crash Analysis
The last one was still there, previously posted.

I have recovered the machine from Restore made during the Driver Verifier process, and stopped the Driver Verifier, which prob caused this BSOD??

Please find the Minidump zipped attached, perhaps someone can help, please??
Attached Files
File Type: zip Mini071411-01.zip (17.9 KB, 35 views)
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 09:56 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium SP1


Razz

I do not have an answer to your problem, but I felt that reporting my similar problem might provide clues to anyone that can help us. I have way too little knowledge of viruses or how such things work, but I will say that your problem looks almost identical.

The skinny: I started getting these bluescreens saying "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL" a couple of weeks ago. Since the thing doesn't stay on your screen for very long, I didn't get a chance to see what else it said and I didn't know how to find the error report in my computer. This has happened on and off, often when I am using Firefox or VLC. It has also had a recent habit of freezing completely, forcing me to do a hard shut down.

So I reinstalled Vista, which is much like your Dell, it's located on a recovery partition on the same hard drive. And while reinstalling, it froze while Vista was setting up my desktop settings, shortly after I've chosen the current time, my username, etc.. I restarted, got past that, and sure enough, I had blue screens again that seem to come after or because of updating. I also had problems trying to update at all. I should be SP2 right now, if not for the apparent failure of windows installing my updates while I was sleeping and bluescreening.

This morning, after waking, I see this message on my screen saying that my computer recovered from an unexpected shutdown. And these are the details it provides:


Product
Windows

Problem
Shut down unexpectedly

Date
7/13/2011 10:03 AM

Status
Not Reported

Problem signature
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Files that help describe the problem
Mini071311-01.dmp
sysdata.xml
Version.txt

Extra information about the problem
BCCode: 1a
BCP1: 00008884
BCP2: 83193820
BCP3: 8388FD9C
BCP4: 00000504
OS Version: 6_0_6001
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 768_1


I am hoping I don't just have a bad hard drive or something. It was my understanding that viruses can't hurt the recovery partition and that a full reinstall is supposed to get rid of all such things. And then people online are saying that it's likely a driver issue, but I've reinstalled from recovery several times in the past and have never had a blue screen or freezing issue before. I want to believe that it's because I have a different video card than I used to, but it was fine for a couple of months after installing it. I am currently using Avast, but I've had it before without problems, as well as AVG or Ad-Aware. Avast hasn't detected anything. I also used the PC Diagnostics Tool that my HP (Compaq) comes with and it doesn't detect any hardware problems.

So what I'm hoping to learn is, is it possible something could infect my recovery partition? Could it be so bad as to freeze my computer while reinstalling? Does anyone know what any of that stuff means that I pasted from my error report?
Ayabella is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 10:58 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Hi Ayabella, and thanks for contributing.

Your problem does seem similar, on the face of it, but I have got as far as Installing ALL updates, using WU, including SP2, and all the Security Updates.

My WU shows, "Windows is up to date.......there are no updates available for your computer".

Also, like you, I have installed Avast, replacing the Ms Security Essentials, for lower system impact, not so sure now!!!

I installed Blue Screen View.....which should do a review of the Minidump files I uploaded here.......implicated Avast Driver aswSnx.SYS, see below, Xp type output:

Quote:
A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

The problem seems to be caused by the following file: aswSnx.SYS

DRIVER_CORRUPTED_EXPOOL

If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen,
restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow
these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed.
If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer
for any Windows updates you might need.

If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware
or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.
If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart
your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then
select Safe Mode.

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0x000000c5 (0x01bd6750, 0x00000002, 0x00000000, 0x8193c770)

*** aswSnx.SYS - Address 0x8ab90023 base at 0x8ab89000 DateStamp 0x4e11a5ca
Hopefully some of the guys on here will reply, as I am just operating in the dark, not really knowing what I am doing.....

Please guys, help.....
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 11:21 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


Hi dannymur,

I've been busy at work but I will review your minidump more later tonight. In the meantime, I would make sure that your system drivers are up to date as your blue screens seem to point to a driver issue.

Here's a link right to the ones for your Dell Inspiron 1525. Install the ones for:
(Chipset,network,video,audio,touchpad,webcam etc..)


Drivers & Downloads



Good Luck

Ayabella,

Please start your own new thread per TSF rules and someone will be happy to help you with your problem. (Its just confusing for those trying to help and having multiple problems in one thread.) Thanks!
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 12:14 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by cl0udedth0ught View Post
Hi dannymur,

I've been busy at work but I will review your minidump more later tonight. In the meantime, I would make sure that your system drivers are up to date as your blue screens seem to point to a driver issue.

Here's a link right to the ones for your Dell Inspiron 1525. Install the ones for:
(Chipset,network,video,audio,touchpad,webcam etc..)


Drivers & Downloads



Good Luck

Ayabella,

Please start your own new thread per TSF rules and someone will be happy to help you with your problem. (Its just confusing for those trying to help and having multiple problems in one thread.) Thanks!
Hi again cl0udedth0ught.....and thanks for your reply....there is no hurry really!!

being retired has it's advantages, although it makes one think others have as much time on their hands.

I really appreciate you and your colleagues efforts here to help ppl like me.

Just to let you know, I have updated as many drivers as were suggested by Dell at their support site, which has details of the service tag on this machine.

I also updated to their latest Dell Support Center Software....

Just further to my own efforts so far, I downloaded the Blue Screen View s/w referenced in the previous post, and I can send results from it if you think it helps, but it does implicate an Avast driver.....aswSnx.SYS.

I gave details in my response to Ayabella above.


Here are the results from both minidumps, saved from BlueScreenView:

Quote:
==================================================
Dump File : Mini071411-01.dmp
Crash Time : 14/07/2011 11:17:17
Bug Check String : APC_INDEX_MISMATCH
Bug Check Code : 0x00000001
Parameter 1 : 0x82052626
Parameter 2 : 0x00000000
Parameter 3 : 0x0000fffe
Parameter 4 : 0x00000000
Caused By Driver : ntkrnlpa.exe
Caused By Address : ntkrnlpa.exe+4afe7
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : 32-bit
Crash Address : ntkrnlpa.exe+4afe7
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Users\Gene\Documents\Mini071411-01.dmp
Processors Count : 2
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 6002
Dump File Size : 139,232
==================================================

==================================================
Dump File : Mini071311-01.dmp
Crash Time : 13/07/2011 13:48:06
Bug Check String : DRIVER_CORRUPTED_EXPOOL
Bug Check Code : 0x000000c5
Parameter 1 : 0x01bd6750
Parameter 2 : 0x00000002
Parameter 3 : 0x00000000
Parameter 4 : 0x8193c770
Caused By Driver : aswSnx.SYS
Caused By Address : aswSnx.SYS+7023
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : 32-bit
Crash Address : ntkrnlpa.exe+4dfd9
Stack Address 1 : ntkrnlpa.exe+ee770
Stack Address 2 : ntkrnlpa.exe+ed858
Stack Address 3 : Npfs.SYS+6543
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Users\Gene\Documents\Mini071311-01.dmp
Processors Count : 2
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 6002
Dump File Size : 139,232
==================================================
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 02:12 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



I am just posting the log from a chkdsk /f I carried out, taken from event viewer.

Just noticed this entry:

Quote:
CHKDSK is verifying free space (stage 5 of 5)...
15918302 free clusters processed.

Free space verification is complete.
CHKDSK discovered free space marked as allocated in the
master file table (MFT) bitmap.
CHKDSK discovered free space marked as allocated in the volume bitmap.
Windows has made corrections to the file system.
Not sure if this means anything or nothing, hopeful it meant something, and is now fixed???
Attached Files
File Type: txt chkdsk_log.txt (5.5 KB, 25 views)
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 03:55 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium SP1



I don't wish for direct help with my particular issue, because most of the jargin goes right through my ears with so much as a confused look on my face lol. As I mentioned, I am just contributing my incident that seemed uniquely identical, in hopes that it might help with Danny's resolution to his problem. I felt that by offering my situation, it might provide clues to triggers or causes. I'm just wanting to learn by following this thread. I understand it's confusing to deal with more than one incident per thread, so no worries there!

Thanks!

Quote:
Ayabella,

Please start your own new thread per TSF rules and someone will be happy to help you with your problem. (Its just confusing for those trying to help and having multiple problems in one thread.) Thanks!
Ayabella is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 04:51 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Thanks Ayabella, help appreciated :)

Just more info, this is a link to my Speccy info, which may help:

https://speccy.piriform.com/results/e...UmANnOqi8rsWK7

Information overload????
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 05:29 AM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


The chkdsk is fine. I would only worry if it had came up with bad sectors. Since you already reinstalled the OS and ran check disk, I would run memtest next.

I would run memtest(linked in my signature). You will have to burn the ISO to cd and run at startup. You may need to go into the BIOS and change your primary boot device to the cd-rom. Let memtest make several passes and note it there are any errors.
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 05:52 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by cl0udedth0ught View Post
The chkdsk is fine. I would only worry if it had came up with bad sectors. Since you already reinstalled the OS and ran check disk, I would run memtest next.

I would run memtest(linked in my signature). You will have to burn the ISO to cd and run at startup. You may need to go into the BIOS and change your primary boot device to the cd-rom. Let memtest make several passes and note it there are any errors.
Thanks for that....memtest requires CD or DVD?? Imgburn OK to use?

I will be replacing the memory modules, both 512, with 2X1GB modules soon, but these are pre-used, like second-hand....

I will not spend my money on my brother-in-laws lappy...

but I will use memtest to ensure they are OK!!

Anything in the minidumps?

Would you recommend another thing I saw in your sig,

placing a static swap file on the HD = to the system RAM, which will be 2GB??

Would using the Auslogics Defrag utility, and selecting Derrag and Optimize, have any impact, prior to creating the swap file?

Thanks again for your help...
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 06:58 AM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


Defragging your hard drive is useful for speeding things up but will not help your blue screen problems. It basically just organizes everything on the drive for more efficient searches. Also the swap file simply uses hard drive space as "virtual memory". It's primary use is for when you are constantly running out of memory. Windows usually adjusts the size automatically. It will not fix your problem but may affect system speed slightly to adjust it manually.

Everything seems to point to a bad or incompatible driver with your problem. Try running driver verifier if you haven't already. I linked it below.

Driver Verifier in Windows Vista
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 06:59 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


Memetest will work on any writeable disk (CD or DVD is fine).
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 07:38 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit


Hi.... I have been running memtest for 1 hr on second pass 95% no errors.

I already ran driver verifier reported in previous posts in this thread, sorry can't refer, on Android mobile.

But I posted the minidump from BSOD with DV running. link below....

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ml#post3349217

I also posted results from BlueScreenView....link below...

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ml#post3349837

Hope u can find them as I am on mobile using Tech Help app, not familiar with all aspects.

Thanks,

Danny
dannymur is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 06:57 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Vista 32-bit



Hi there....

Just a gentle BUMP

....any further thoughts on this BSOD query???

TIA

Danny
dannymur is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) Posting Instructions - Windows 10, 8.1, 8, 7 & Vista
https://www.sysnative.com/jcgriff2/images/mvp_avatar_MS_08-2011.jpgjc v4.6.0 June 2017 BSOD Posting Instructions
jcgriff2 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 04-13-2020 09:15 AM
nwifi.sys Vista BSOD, TPLink WN350GD + Sagem XG-762N
Problems started a few weeks after installing a TP-Link wireless PCI card, TL-WN350GD. At first Internet worked fine, but then I noticed I get connection blackouts that last from a few minutes to some 15 minutes or more. I asked my roommates who run Vista on a laptop and also use wi-fi, they said...
DustieDustie BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 05-29-2011 03:39 PM
BSOD when installing Vista
I had a computer built for me by Ibuypower about 2 years ago. I have not made any changes to the hardware of the computer since I got it. I have had to use the recovery disk and reformat my computer about 3 times since I have had it. I don't know if its because of vista or if Ibuypower is not...
nickb91 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 05-23-2011 04:20 AM
Unsolvable BSOD continues! [moved from Vista/ Windows 7]
Still getting BSOD. Have tried so much!!! Just installed SP1 and was fine for a week but just got BSOD again. Heres the original thread: https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f299/bsod-x64-random-510152-2.html Also some more progress here: BSOD unsolvable??? - Tech Support Guy Forums ...
arm1e BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 51 05-12-2011 12:38 PM
BSOD [moved from Vista/ Windows 7]
OS - Vista Ultimate x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? x64 What was original installed OS on system? Vista Ultimate Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? OEM Age of system (hardware) 2 yrs approx Age of OS installation...
Mac10k BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 02-17-2011 08:34 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts