Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Crash on "Shutting Down," LAN Crashes Sporadically

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Crash on "Shutting Down," LAN Crashes Sporadically within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi folks, I'm new here but came across a problem I couldn't troubleshoot myself. I'm running Windows XP SP3 on


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-01-2012, 12:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



Hi folks,

I'm new here but came across a problem I couldn't troubleshoot myself. I'm running Windows XP SP3 on my desktop and yesterday the hardwired internet spontaneously stops responding. I figured my ISP just had a hiccup or what have you and watched the Olympics for an hour, came back and the internet was working but crashed again after 10-15 minutes.

"Weird," I think, and decide a restart was in order. I tell my desktop to restart while I go upstairs to check if my laptop is connected to the WiFi. It is, and works perfectly for the hour or so I had left before work. When I get home 8 hours later, I notice that my desktop is STILL on the "Windows is Shutting Down..." screen. I had to hard-shutdown my desktop.

STEPS I'VE TAKEN SO FAR
  • Power cycled router, cable modem, and desktop
  • ipconfig /release + /renew my LAN connection
  • Power cycle the LAN connection via the Network Connections control panel
    • This fixed the problem with the internet for the longest time so far, and I browsed unabated for nearly an hour
  • System Restored to roughly two weeks ago, before I did my last software installation (Uplay, which I heard recently had some security issues)
STEPS I'M DESPERATELY TRYING TO AVOID
  • HDD Reformat
  • Hardware replacements
It seems that the internet itself is working fine, since I'm able to access the same connection via WiFi on my laptop (thus this post), so I don't think this is a network issue. As I mentioned my last software installation was nearly two weeks ago and I had no issues up to this point. It seemed to come on spontaneously. I have an nagging suspicion that my network card is going belly up or perhaps the drivers are corrupted, but I don't really know how to test for that. Any suggestions?

Thanks for your time,
Adam
rowenlemmings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Hi Welcome to TSF

When was the last time you have updated your LAN Drivers ?
I would suggest you update your drivers

Go into Event logs by following the instructions
Start > Run > type in "Evenvwr" without the "" Press enter
Export the event logs for Application and System
How to Export the Event log from Windows XP workstations and View it on another Computer Random Repository
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 01:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by loda117 View Post
Hi Welcome to TSF

When was the last time you have updated your LAN Drivers ?
I would suggest you update your drivers

Go into Event logs by following the instructions
Start > Run > type in "Evenvwr" without the "" Press enter
Export the event logs for Application and System
How to Export the Event log from Windows XP workstations and View it on another Computer Random Repository
Hi and thank you loda117!
Please find attached the event logs you requested (I grabbed Security in there too as recommended by the article). I'm working on the driver update now as you suggested, but it all goes a bit slower doing the legwork on a separate computer and using a flash drive to transfer. Hopefully you'll be able to glean some useful info from those event logs.

Here we go,
Adam
Attached Files
File Type: rar eventlogs.rar (63.5 KB, 20 views)
rowenlemmings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2012, 01:46 PM   #4
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Open up command Prompts and type
Lodctr /r Hit enter

.Net Needs to uninstalled and Reinstalled and Updated

I would recommend you download the latest "NIC Drivers plus chipset Drivers" from computer manufacturer's website or Motherboard manufacturer's website
Uninstall the Current NIC Drivers
Reboot
Install latest drivers
Reboot

Make and model of PC ?
IF custom build then post all parts' make and model
Is this onboard NIC or PCI?

If the problem persists at the time when you do not have internet connection .. Try the ipconfig /all to see what IP it is showing and post it here
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 02:02 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by loda117 View Post
Open up command Prompts and type
Lodctr /r Hit enter

.Net Needs to uninstalled and Reinstalled and Updated

I would recommend you download the latest "NIC Drivers plus chipset Drivers" from computer manufacturer's website or Motherboard manufacturer's website
Uninstall the Current NIC Drivers
Reboot
Install latest drivers
Reboot
Doing this now. It looks like the LAN drivers I had previously hadn't been updated since 2010 so unless corrupt, they should be fine. Regardless, the network adapter is on-board iirc, so reinstalling the full driver set from Nvidia should fix that. Luckily I still have the installer saved on this flash drive backup.

Quote:
Make and model of PC ?
IF custom build then post all parts' make and model
Is this onboard NIC or PCI?

If the problem persists at the time when you do not have internet connection .. Try the ipconfig /all to see what IP it is showing and post it here
Let me check to see if reinstalling the drivers fix the issue first, as it's a custom-built computer and unfortunately I wasn't the one to put it together so I'd have to pull the whole thing apart to find model numbers and etc. I'll edit with the "ipconfig /all" in a couple minutes (again I'm only able to post here from a different computer)

Code:
Windows IP Configuration

        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kemosabe
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Hamachi:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Hamachi Network Interface
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7A-79-05-1E-66-67
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 5.30.102.103
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
        DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 5.0.0.1
        Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 11:09:23 AM
        Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 01, 2013 11:09:23 AM

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Mbps Ethernet
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-21-34-CA-D9
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
                                            8.8.4.4
rowenlemmings is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 02:08 PM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


You can download "Speccy" it will give you info about your hardware
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 02:13 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by loda117 View Post
You can download "Speccy" it will give you info about your hardware
Doing so now. ipconfig /all info is edited above now. Thanks again for your help (uninstalling .NET now)
rowenlemmings is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 02:47 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



The driver reinstall seemed to fix the issues I was having, but I'm giving it a little stress test before I tag this solved.

While I have your ear, what did that lodctr /r do? When I run it in command prompt, it throws me the help menu and informs me that I should provide /r with a file name?
rowenlemmings is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 02:56 PM   #9
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Lodctr /r basically resets the fields for windows native database which holds the log that you see in event logs
by doing so it makes sure that all errors and other stuff is being reported with right event IDs and is explanation text so you can resolve your issues
Your eventlogs had lots of stuff in there that was just not making sense
Lodctr


I am glad the system is working for you.
We keep solved threads around for 2 weeks so in case you have same issue just post it here and one of us will help you out
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 03:00 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



Ugh no sooner did I read your last message than the internet crashed again. Resetting the LAN connection fixes it but only temporarily.

EDIT: here's that info from Speccy

Code:
Operating System
	MS Windows XP Home 32-bit SP3
CPU
	AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+	72 C
	Brisbane 65nm Technology
RAM
	3.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 238MHz (4-4-4-12)
Motherboard
	40 C
Graphics
	HP 2009 ([email protected])
	512MB ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (Dell)	68 C
Hard Drives
	149GB Hitachi Hitachi HDS721616PLA SCSI Disk Device (ATA)	42 C
Optical Drives
	DIZSR 9IFGT6ZOT SCSI CdRom Device
Audio
	NVIDIA(R) nForce(TM) Audio
rowenlemmings is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 03:05 PM   #11
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


One thing that I forgot to mention to you in first place
Did you replace the network cable?

How is your setup right now as for your network to this computer ? are you going from modem/router to this computer? or Modem/router to wall panel then your computer?

Start with replacing cable maybe its the cable going bad

open up command prompts
type "ping -t WELCOME TO RED DIGITAL CINEMA manufacturer of 4K and 5K Digital Cinema Cameras, RED ONE, EPIC and SCARLET
and let that run for a while to since you keep loosing connection after a little time
to stop press CTRL + C

Also take a look here and try the steps
Advanced network adapter troubleshooting for Windows workstations
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 03:15 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



I've not replaced the network cable. I don't have a spare at the moment so that may have to wait for another time if we're not able to come to a different solution.

Currently the connection runs from the wall -> cable box -> modem -> router -> computer. The router is literally a foot away from the computer.

ping -t is running now but I'm not sure what I'm diagnosing with that.

EDIT it's worth noting that it's not just the internet failing, it's the entire network being unaccessible to the desktop when it fails. Until I restart the LAN connection I can't even access the router config page.
rowenlemmings is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 03:20 PM   #13
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Basically with Ping -t we are trying to see if your network card drops all packets after a while or some

As for what you explain right now.. it is looking more and more that your network card is going bad
I understand you are tight on budget but if you are in US you get them for less then $10 bucks now a days

Newegg.com - ENCORE ENLGA-1320 Ethernet Card 10/ 100/ 1000Mbps PCI 1 x RJ45
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 03:35 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



ping -t has been running this whole time with just one dropped packet. Thanks for the link to Newegg, if the cable swap doesn't fix it I'll probably end up using that. Unless there's some diagnostic you haven't had me try, I think we've pinpointed the problem to being either a faulty cable or a failing network card, neither of which I can swap out at this time.

I'll try and get some parts tomorrow and swap things around to try and figure out which it is that's causing the problem and will update this thread then.

Thanks again for your time,
Adam
rowenlemmings is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 04:05 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



ping -t finally came back as failed. The last two pings before the connection shut down took twice as long as normal, then I had 60-some timeouts before I stopped it.
rowenlemmings is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 11:15 PM   #16
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Also it might be worth a try to change the Port you connect to on the router if problem still exists after cable replacement

Other then that I do not know anything else we can do but I will go get bigger guns from networking support to take a look at this thread and suggest anything


Also one more thing since these things come one at a time to me lol
Can you try to assign this machine a static IP Address
How to Setup a Static IP Address (Win XP) | eHow.com
You can assign the same IP address you have alreasy

Quote:
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Leave DNS blank
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 11:02 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



Haven't been able to swap out my network card yet (schedules haven't meshed well) but changing the ethernet cord did not fix the issue. Neither did plugging it into a different port on my router, and my desktop is already set statically at 192.168.2.2.

I've been duct taping the issue by disabling and re-enabling my LAN connection from the Network Connections control panel, which works 90% of the time. Occasionally I'll get a "Connection Failed!" message and will have to reboot my system. Please note that the restart still hangs when it reaches "Shutting Down" and I have to manually reboot.

I also just got a BSOD from trying to re-enable the LAN connection, reading "BAD_POOL_HEADER." I haven't tried to repro yet, but seems like it may have been a one-off thing.
rowenlemmings is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 11:32 AM   #18
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Can you pos that mini file here

They are located in C:\Windows\Mini dump Folder
just zip them together and post them here
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 11:46 AM   #19
2xg
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,454
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

If I may chime in....

Can you please switch your DHCP to YES?
Quote:
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
Do a test...log on to Safe Mode with Networking (restart your computer, continue tapping F8 and select this option) and see if you're able to duplicate the issue.
Also, what type of Security of AV Software are you using?

Are you using an integrated network adapter or a network card?

Please keep us posted.
2xg is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 01:33 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP SP3



Loda117: Please find attached that mini dump

2xg: Welcome, and thanks for your help . If I enable DHCP, my connection tries fruitlessly to Acquire a Network Address and finally fails with "Limited or No Connectivity" (I cannot even bring up the router's config page) so I'm not sure what's going on there.

Currently have no AV software installed (was using Malware Bytes until my last wipe, haven't gotten it back on the machine for some reason. Frankly I thought it was running overnight once a week like before I rebuilt it). Security is just Windows Firewall.

Symptoms continue in Safe Mode, both the internet disconnect and the crash on shut down.

Thanks for the help folks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Mini080312-01.zip (26.0 KB, 19 views)
rowenlemmings is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] my internet keep getting disconnecting connecting
Hi.I'm new on this forum.I got problem with my internet connection.It keeps dropping then connecting by itself.I cant download anything because in the middle it just drops.My connection is wireless and is cable.My other housemates who have laptops like me have no problem with connection.I took my...
jumrose123 Networking Support 52 03-21-2014 05:18 PM
[SOLVED] help!!!! guy gone crazy with bluscreans!!!:@:@
i have an intel dh55hc motherboard in my pc i built my pc during summertime and at that time i got the patriot ram ... the whole stock had problems .. (they work with onestick bt the pc wont boot with 2 sticks) so i had a stick of 2gigs of that ram .. then i upgraded it with a kingston ram ..and...
avok95 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 21 11-17-2013 06:14 AM
Blue screen and slowdowns.
My laptop just crashes randomly when I'm using it. It's frustrating, and it costs me a lot of time. When it's booting my keyboard becomes unresponsive so I have to wait for the countdown to run out (can't just hit enter into boot normally). Sorry for requesting help as this is my first post, but...
zRebellion BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 0 06-05-2012 10:15 PM
BSOD issues -_- (maybe ram related)
Ok so i've been getting BSOD errors for the past year, some due to unstable CPU which i fixed pretty much right away. But i've had issues with my ram and it's timings as I'm using a lanparty t3eh9 i5 mobo. Specs are as follows: CPU- i5 760 @ 4ghz 1.27v RAM - Ripjaws 2x4gb @ 1600mhz 1.66v...
Mauler1987 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 31 12-29-2011 12:29 AM
Whenever I crash in GTA IV my pc crashes and I have to turn it off
Hey guys, this is my first time doing this so please be patient, I bought GTA complete pack from steam from steam the other day and patiently waited for the 40gb of files to download and they all ran fine except when I play GTA IV and crash in a car or punch someone. The game runs fine if I...
JoeC_123 PC Gaming Support 0 11-28-2011 07:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts