Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

User Tag List

[SOLVED] BSOD when connecting to a wifi network

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] BSOD when connecting to a wifi network within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. - OS: Win7 Home Premium x64 - the original installed OS on the system? Yes - an OEM or full


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2011, 04:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



- OS: Win7 Home Premium x64
- the original installed OS on the system? Yes
- an OEM or full retail version? It was OEM, then I reinstalled with a version downloaded from the internet (I have the serial key)
- What is the age of system (hardware)? 2 months
- What is the age of OS installation (have you re-installed the OS?) I've reinstalled the OS 1 day ago
- CPU: Intel Core i5 M460 2.53 GHz
- Video Card: Intel HD Graphics
- MotherBoard: ID: 63-0100-000001-00101111-010910-Chipset$0AAAA000_BIOS DATE: 01/09/10 15:17:22 VER: 08.00.10
- Power Supply - brand & wattage: Dell (doesn't say how many watts is)

Problem: BSOD only when connecting to a specific, unprotected wireless network in a matter of minutes (may vary between 1 minute to 15 minutes).

What I have tried: Before formatting: tried some free registry correctors and restoring system. After formatting, I updated the BIOS, and reinstalled/updated the following drivers: chipset, video, sata, ethernet and wlan. Minidump files from 3 BSODs are attached.

Safe mode with network: no BSOD so far (it has been 1 hour since I connected to the wifi network).

What says the BSOD: "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer"
3rd BSOD STOP code: 0x0000007F (0X0000000000000008, 0x0000000080050031, 0X00000000000006F8, 0xFFFFF80002A8C798)
5th and last BSOD: 0x0000007F (0X0000000000000008, 0x0000000080050031, 0X00000000000006F8, 0xFFFFF80002A3A798)

Description: For 2 months since I got this laptop I had no problems using wired and wifi networks. But just when I brought my laptop to mom's place, where I will be living for 2 months, I'm getting
BSOD everytime I try to connect to the wifi network here. The last 2 BSODs occurred 1 minute after I connected to the wifi network, but the others time varied.
When my wifi adapter is on, but not connected to any network, everything works fine. I get no BSOD or any other errors.
Before formatting, and after the firsts BSODs I've got a file called mfewfpk.sys corrupted, that seems to be related to McAfee antivirus. No viruses were detected by it and Malware Bytes Antimalware.
As I couldn't find any solution, I formatted everything, but the problem still occurs.
Other laptops and computers connected to the wifi network, each with different OS (like the one I'm using, which is WinXP Home Edition SP2), work fine.
What should I do now?
Attached Files
File Type: zip dump-perfmon-autoruns-timepink.zip (540.4 KB, 261 views)
Time Pink is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2011, 05:44 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Jonathan_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rednecksville
Posts: 3,260
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

My System


Hello,

Install SP1, and I suspect the problems will stop: Learn how to install Windows 7 Service Pack 1 (SP1)

If that doesn't help, remove ZoneAlarm.

Good luck!

...Summary of the dumps:
Code:

Built by: 7600.16385.amd64fre.win7_rtm.090713-1255
Debug session time: Mon Mar  7 17:07:07.160 2011 (UTC - 5:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:04:15.550
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2 )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x7f_8
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
PROCESS_NAME:  System
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x7f_8_nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2
SystemProductName = Inspiron N5010
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
Built by: 7600.16385.amd64fre.win7_rtm.090713-1255
Debug session time: Sun Mar  6 17:54:52.775 2011 (UTC - 5:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:10:54.180
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2 )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x7f_8
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
PROCESS_NAME:  System
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x7f_8_nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2
SystemProductName = Inspiron N5010
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
Built by: 7600.16385.amd64fre.win7_rtm.090713-1255
Debug session time: Sun Mar  6 17:42:53.080 2011 (UTC - 5:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:34:43.859
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2 )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x7f_8
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
PROCESS_NAME:  System
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x7f_8_nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2
SystemProductName = Inspiron N5010
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
  
__________________

CompTIA A+ Certified Technician
Jonathan_King is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 11:27 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I tried some hotfixes, which seemed to work for a while, but when I updated ZoneAlarm, the BSODs started to flash again.
As I couldn't stay much on the net without getting a BSOD to install SP1, I uninstalled the firewall. Since then, I've got no BSODs (couple hours ago). Nevertheless, I installed SP1 and changed my firewall to Comodo. The antivirus is still Avira, but I intend to change back to McAfee, as I acquired an year license.
Thank you very much for your assistance!!!
Time Pink is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2011, 05:09 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Jonathan_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rednecksville
Posts: 3,260
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

My System


Glad to hear it Time Pink, let us know if you need anything else!
__________________

CompTIA A+ Certified Technician
Jonathan_King is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Windows was unable to connect"
Hi, I'am having problems when connecting to the internet. I'am running Win7 64-bit and i have Belkin USB wireless adapter( Belkin surf N150) When i first bought the adapter it didnt connect to internet, so i throught it is not working and i got it replaced. I got the same problem with the...
Cyprus_boy12 Networking Support 17 03-02-2011 03:56 PM
[SOLVED] Can't browse the web - Intel 5100 wifi issue
having trouble getting web pages to come up .when i,m 10 ft from my wireless modem can,t get web pages to come up.i,m connected to the internet.but after a few min,s the connection will fail.when i,m with in 5 ft of modem everthing is good.i have tried shutting of laptop starting up again.it will...
whsky Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 5 02-22-2011 04:21 PM
[SOLVED] Having trouble connecting a computer to my home network
Not sure if this is the right place to put this thread... I've spent the last 3 hours working on this and now I feel like committing suicide ugh. Here's the story: got a malicious virus and had to reinstall windows on one of my computers. By some miracle we got that done and now I have XP Pro on...
WeOwnOldBeaters Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 02-08-2011 10:46 AM
Network Problem: Some Progams Connecting, Others Not...
Hi! I've recently gotten an ASUS K72F-A1 Laptop, and I've found that I'm having problems with certain programs updating via the internet. Some will do it, while others won't. For example, PeerBlock will, but Adobe won't. P2P works, but other programs say that they can't find their servers. I've...
JusticeAndRule Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 9 01-28-2011 11:21 AM
Connecting WIFI printer to WIFI router
Is it posible to connect an HP1050 Wifi printer to a wifi router so that it becomes a network printer, or do you have to get a print server?
pacuk01 Networking Support 3 01-14-2011 01:08 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts