Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

User Tag List

Page fault in non page area BSOD

This is a discussion on Page fault in non page area BSOD within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've been getting a BSOD for quite some time. (about 3 or 4 months) At first they would usually pop


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2011, 07:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 7



I've been getting a BSOD for quite some time. (about 3 or 4 months)
At first they would usually pop up when I've had the computer for most of the day, but recently they've just come as they please.
I've done a Memory Diagnostics and it showed no problems.
I've included from what I've read I believe to be a minidump of the BSOD.
I've decided to send multiple errors I found in my system event log just to be on the safe side since I don't know which errors I'm looking for.
If you could find anything that could explain what is causing this, please let me know.

Thank you.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MiniDump1.zip (5.8 KB, 24 views)
Sabrac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2011, 08:23 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 7



I've also read the sticky in the BSOD topic and completed steps 1-4.
I've included that as well.
Unfortunately, I do not know all the parts in my computer since I was not the one that bought them or put the computer together.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Report+Windows7_Vista_jcgriff2.zip (2.62 MB, 27 views)
Sabrac is offline  
Old 03-22-2011, 03:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 7



I'm throwing another .zip file of a BSOD I had less than an hour ago.
Hopefully it can help.
Attached Files
File Type: zip bsod3222011.zip (4.9 KB, 23 views)
Sabrac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2011, 09:47 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,210
OS: Windows 7 SP1



The first and third posts only provide a sampled event log and not a crashdump. You'll want to peruse your minidumps folder located in your Windows folder. The .dmp files are the crashes you're looking for. However they're already provided in the report you generated in the 2nd post. You'll still need to provide us the one in the latest post you've made.

The one thing that interested me is the report of errors coming from your motherboard chipset. You'll want to update your chipset drivers (probably want to update everything else too) as provided on the HP website. You may just also end up experiencing hardware failure. We'll start off with that for now. First, update all them drivers for your PC via your vendor's (HP) website, especially chipset. Then you will want to do a few hardware tests, preferably in the order provided:

CPU: Prime95
RAM: Memtest86+
Disk: Seatools

Prime95: set it to Torture Test with Small FFT. It'll run indefinitely, so let it go for around 12 hours or more. Note any errors.

Memtest86+: I understand you already did a memory test with Window's built-in memory tester, but I've heard it having issues discovering certain memory problems. Memtest86+ is far more thorough and accurate. Set it to extended testing mode and let it run through minimum of 7 passes.

Seatools: Pretty self-explanatory, yet you may review documentation here. As noted in it, various tests may produce 'Test Unavailable' as some tests are incompatible with certain drives.

Describe to us any unusual behavior (such as application/windows crashes during these processes).

If all that shows up nothing, then we'll have to then assume it's something related to the UAC (User Access Control), paging file, and/or Superfetch. I notice in two of the three crashes UAC pops up in one way or another. If you see no need to use it at all, I'd recommend turning it off via instructions given here. Prior to doing so, however, you'll want to do the following:

- Open Task Manager
- Go to Processes Tab
- Go to View > Select Columns and select UAC Virtualization.
- Sort the processes by the new virtualization column. Note any processes that are virtualized. Please mention them to us.
VirGnarus is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 06:44 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 7



I think these are the correct dumps.
Last night, I completely reinstalled Windows 7 and formatted my hard drive.
I noticed the BSOD went away for a little while, but now they're back.

I ran all of those test before the reinstall and my computer passed all of them with no errors.

I also forgot to mention that sometimes when I BS and it restarts, my computer will sit there on the Motherboard model screen and not boot up at all. I have to manually shut down and repeat this maybe 10-20 times before I can get it passed that point, so I'm wondering if it could be my Motherboard or maybe my Hard Drive.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 032711-16270-01.zip (56.5 KB, 19 views)
Sabrac is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 06:50 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 768
OS: Win 7 Home Premium x64



Please run a full report as there is useful information in it that is not included in the dump files.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ta-452654.html

Both these last two dumps reference memory corruption. You said you've ran both memtest for 7-8 passes and prime95 without any errors?

Code:
Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.12.0002.633 X86
Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


Loading Dump File [C:\Users\Mike\AppData\Local\Temp\Rar$DI00.987\032711-30139-01.dmp]
Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

Symbol search path is: SRV*c:\symbols*https://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols
Executable search path is: 
Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (4 procs) Free x86 compatible
Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
Built by: 7600.16695.x86fre.win7_gdr.101026-1503
Machine Name:
Kernel base = 0x82a42000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0x82b8a810
Debug session time: Sun Mar 27 19:45:53.016 2011 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:01:26.889
Loading Kernel Symbols
...............................................................
................................................................
.............................
Loading User Symbols
Loading unloaded module list
....
1: kd> !analyze -v
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Invalid system memory was referenced.  This cannot be protected by try-except,
it must be protected by a Probe.  Typically the address is just plain bad or it
is pointing at freed memory.
Arguments:
Arg1: e2a6fa26, memory referenced.
Arg2: 00000001, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
Arg3: 82c89d8c, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
	address.
Arg4: 00000002, (reserved)

Debugging Details:
------------------


WRITE_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from 82baa718
Unable to read MiSystemVaType memory at 82b8a160
 e2a6fa26 

FAULTING_IP: 
nt!IopRetrieveTransactionParameters+80
82c89d8c c744fcfeffffff8b mov     dword ptr [esp+edi*8-2],8BFFFFFFh

MM_INTERNAL_CODE:  2

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  CODE_CORRUPTION

BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50

PROCESS_NAME:  dxdiag.exe

CURRENT_IRQL:  0

TRAP_FRAME:  95e27974 -- (.trap 0xffffffff95e27974)
ErrCode = 00000002
eax=00000000 ebx=00000000 ecx=82c845da edx=89a4ac80 esi=89989008 edi=89989008
eip=82c89d8c esp=95e279e8 ebp=95e27a28 iopl=0         nv up ei pl zr na pe nc
cs=0008  ss=0010  ds=0023  es=0023  fs=0030  gs=0000             efl=00010246
nt!IopRetrieveTransactionParameters+0x80:
82c89d8c c744fcfeffffff8b mov     dword ptr [esp+edi*8-2],8BFFFFFFh ss:0010:e2a6fa26=????????
Resetting default scope

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from 82a88628 to 82ac79eb

STACK_TEXT:  
95e2795c 82a88628 00000001 e2a6fa26 00000000 nt!MmAccessFault+0x106
95e2795c 82c89d8c 00000001 e2a6fa26 00000000 nt!KiTrap0E+0xdc
95e27a28 82c873ed 85fcbab8 89989008 00120089 nt!IopRetrieveTransactionParameters+0x80
95e27a6c 82c826ea 95e27b3c 85fcbab8 85fcd588 nt!IopAllocRealFileObject+0x118
95e27b60 82c6357b 85fcd588 851a06e0 8980f420 nt!IopParseDevice+0xac4
95e27bdc 82c89729 00000000 95e27c30 00000040 nt!ObpLookupObjectName+0x4fa
95e27c38 82c81a7b 001ae418 851a06e0 a8fc1f01 nt!ObOpenObjectByName+0x165
95e27cb4 82c8d392 001ae45c 80100080 001ae418 nt!IopCreateFile+0x673
95e27d00 82a8543a 001ae45c 80100080 001ae418 nt!NtCreateFile+0x34
95e27d00 77226344 001ae45c 80100080 001ae418 nt!KiFastCallEntry+0x12a
WARNING: Frame IP not in any known module. Following frames may be wrong.
001ae3f8 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 0x77226344


STACK_COMMAND:  kb

CHKIMG_EXTENSION: !chkimg -lo 50 -d !nt
    82c89d8d - nt!IopRetrieveTransactionParameters+81
	[ 45:44 ]
1 error : !nt (82c89d8d)

MODULE_NAME: memory_corruption

IMAGE_NAME:  memory_corruption

FOLLOWUP_NAME:  memory_corruption

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  0

MEMORY_CORRUPTOR:  ONE_BIT

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  MEMORY_CORRUPTION_ONE_BIT

BUCKET_ID:  MEMORY_CORRUPTION_ONE_BIT

Followup: memory_corruption
---------
mgorman87 is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 09:00 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,210
OS: Windows 7 SP1



The memory corruption bsods mention specifically a bit flip error (memory_corruption_one_bit), which is typically the most common symptom of hardware issues.

Judging by what you stated with the restarts, that most likely could be caused by a motherboard problem or a power supply problem. I'm leaning most on motherboard (odd though that it doesn't manifest in the other tests).
VirGnarus is offline  
Old 04-01-2011, 12:53 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 7



Okay, when I first ran Memtest there were no problems in the 5 passes through, but now I ran it and on the first pass I'm getting thousands of errors. How do I find out which chip is causing the problem?
Sabrac is offline  
Old 04-01-2011, 01:13 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 768
OS: Win 7 Home Premium x64



You'll need to test each stick of RAM individually and in each slot on the motherboard. I know it is a very tedious task, but it is the only way to figure out which stick of RAM is bad or if you have a bad slot on the motherboard.
mgorman87 is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 08:56 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 7



I started removing some RAM sticks yesterday and found one that might be causing a problem, so I removed it and my computer went all yesterday with not a single problem. I thought I had rid myself of the problem.

This morning, I woke up and turned it on only to get a screen freeze. I saw no blue screen, but the screen was locked in place. I had been getting that the yesterday before I was testing the RAM. I got it to turn back on once after about 10 minutes of power on and off manually and did a memtest and I got like 8 errors before I stopped it and started taking out another stick.
When I had anymore than the 1 stick from yesterday out the computer wouldn't boot at all.

I currently have it booted up, but I have no clue how long it'll last.
I've had multiple occasions like this where I seem to have fixed the problem, but as soon as I turn it on the next morning, it starts acting up again.
Sabrac is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 08:59 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 7



By the way, my motherboard is not even a year old.
I bought it maybe in late 2010 and I've had no problems so far.
I'm thinking that the RAM would have nothing to do with the computer being unable to even boot up, so I'm thinking it might be my hard drive, but I'm not entirely sure.
Sabrac is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 09:04 AM   #12
Visiting BSOD Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 781
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Please note that off-by-one memory errors can be CPU errors as well - if the problem keeps occurring at a one-bit off memory error, we have to at least consider the CPU itself is causing it.
cluberti is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 07:00 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,210
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Unless all those sticks came from the same kit, I would find it hard to believe majority of them buggered out altogether. You may have a funky motherboard. Again, CPU can also be the cause as Cluberti says (one-bit corruptions commonly are caused by cpu).

What I'm most interested in is that inability to turn on the PC. That reduces it to power supply, motherboard, cpu or memory, since all those are crucial to startup. Since we're reporting issues with practically all the memory sticks, we can potentially reduce it to power, mobo or cpu. It'll eventually require you starting to swap parts to determine the cause, so it's going to start burning a whole in your wallet, but there's not much else that can be done here aside from that.
VirGnarus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP Pro - BSOD, page fault in non-paged area
Hi, hope someone can help me? I have a Dell Desktop that won't boot and displays the BSOD, 'page fault in non-paged area' error at startup. I cannot get into safe mode either (I get a SAM.DLL 'not valid windows image' error). The PC is a Dell Precision 490 (2Gb ram and appears to be RAID as...
Tiridhe Windows XP Support 8 02-14-2011 01:28 PM
BSOD using Verifier.exe... - New Build [moved from Vista/ Windows 7]
Attempted to track down a suspected faulty driver using verifier.exe resulted in multiple BSOD, although only one mini-dump file was successfully written, of the Nvidia system driver nvlddmkm.sys. I was able to deduce this as I had checked each file one by one until BSOD's occurred. However,...
CycloneJoe67 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 02-10-2011 12:01 PM
can connect dir 615 with adsl modem
hi guys, recently i got a dlink dir 615 router from a friend. i'm using adsl modem now. i want to connect the modem to the router so that i have a wireless at home for my laptop and iphone. i have follow the step in the router manual but it did not work. i just cannot conect to the router page...
agni115 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 15 02-08-2011 10:36 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts