Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

User Tag List

Computer wont boot

This is a discussion on Computer wont boot within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When i boot up my computer comes up with this error.. what does it mean?


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2011, 11:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7



When i boot up my computer comes up with this error..

what does it mean?
Attached Images
File Type: bmp untitled.bmp (1.11 MB, 18 views)
atho89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2011, 01:37 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 720
OS: Windows 7

My System


The experts here might give you a more detailed answer, but your video card is refusing to boot. In the mean time, make sure the card is seated properly and all the power supply connetions are hooked up.

Is your PC prebuilt or custom built? If prebuilt, post the model number.
If custom, post the full specs including the power supply brand, model and wattage.
Markgg88 is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 05:31 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 18
OS: Windows XP



Change Ur Hdd Disk Power Cable And Data Cable
Then Also System Wont Boot Na Change Ur Smps
And Chack
abdulnazeern is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2011, 07:09 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,456
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by abdulnazeern View Post
Change Ur Hdd Disk Power Cable And Data Cable
It is most likely to be your hdd. The error you are getting is the computer attempting a network boot, and failing, since that's not available. It checks for a bootable device, in the boot order specified in the bios. The hard drive probably isn't being recognized, and with no bootable cd/dvd in that drive, the computer works it's way down the list to network boot. With no bootable devices, that's as far as it goes.
Which means that your hard drive may have failed, or unable to communicate.
The first thing to do is to reseat the power and data connections to the drive, as well as the data connection to the port on the motherboard.
Check in your bios to see if the drive is correctly listed, by make, model, and capacity.
Listen to, and feel the drive as you attempt to start your computer, does the hdd spin up?
grimx133 is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 07:18 AM   #5
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 4,026
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

Quote:
Originally Posted by grimx133 View Post
The error you are getting is the computer attempting a network boot, and failing, since that's not available. It checks for a bootable device, in the boot order specified in the bios. The hard drive probably isn't being recognized, and with no bootable cd/dvd in that drive, the computer works it's way down the list to network boot. With no bootable devices, that's as far as it goes.
Which means that your hard drive may have failed, or unable to communicate.
You hit the nail on the head. Your best bet is to test the hard drive and attempt basic repairs with SeaTools for DOS: SeaTools for DOS | Seagate

View the tutorial on the page for step-by-step instructions on using it.

Best of luck.

Devin
DT Roberts is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 07:26 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 720
OS: Windows 7

My System


Really? The error had nVidia in it, how does it relate to the HDD? (Not doubting anyone just curious)
Markgg88 is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 07:28 AM   #7
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 4,026
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markgg88 View Post
Really? I saw the error had nVidia in it so I assumed its a video card error. I need to learn when to keep my mouth shut lol.
NVIDIA doesn't only make graphics cards - they make motherboards as well.

By all means, don't "keep your mouth shut". We're all here to learn

Devin
DT Roberts is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 07:31 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 720
OS: Windows 7

My System


I know, I assumed the video card cause it said "media test failure", guess not.
Markgg88 is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 07:39 AM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 4,026
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

Ah. In this sense, media = bootable media= bootable device. It found nowhere that it could boot from, and therefore the boot process was halted. It's very rare (if possible at all) that POST will report a video problem.
DT Roberts is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 08:23 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 720
OS: Windows 7

My System


Oh, that sort of media, I see now. Thanks for clarifying that, one more thing to add to my knowledge base.
Markgg88 is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 06:41 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7



Thanks guys but no luck

as i initially thought it was the video card i removed it and reinstalled it.. the computer now seems to boot okay but, i have a processor widget on my desktop and it is randomly going crazy even with the computer sitting on idle after boot up, the 4 processors continually randomly take huge loads and the overall processor is supposedly using 50%.. Thus once i try and move my mouse to click on anything the computer locks up..
atho89 is offline  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:27 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,456
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


I'm still thinking hard drive, I'd try a bootable cd see how that goes. A good idea would be the cd from the hard drives manufacturer, links to which can be found here.
Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.
Just a thought, but does your graphics card overhang the sata ports? I've seen the odd cable hosed from the pressure of a large video card. And if the cable is almost gone, I could see spotty behaviours.
grimx133 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer crash, lights/fans work, no boot sequence
I'm wondering if the problem I'm having has to do with my motherboard or processor. I had just gotten it out of sleep mode and then everything went dark on me. The lights and fans were working fine, but my monitors went black, keyboard and mouse wasn't getting power either. I held the power...
Ashenis Motherboards, Bios & CPU 11 04-04-2011 01:33 PM
Computer won't boot, no post beeps or fans
Greetings! Yesterday I put together a computer for my friend, I've put together several successful computers before, without any issues. When everything was properly put together, we try to boot it up for the first time, but nothing happens at all. There's a LED on the motherboard constantly...
soltari Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 03-30-2011 07:29 PM
Browser redirect
Hi, I suspect I have a brower redirect/rootkit problem. Main symptom is occasional redirections of firefox to random sites but most commonly and incresingly to the "scour" site. I have AVG 9 installed. The attached archive contains two copies of the GMER log as I seems to have problems...
donkeyfan237 Resolved HJT Threads 12 02-21-2011 09:34 PM
Computer Won't Boot
Hey all, This is my first time on a forum, though I've read through plenty, so any help or tips would be great!! So I'm trying to fix a friend's computer (warranty is up FYI). It's a HP Mini 110 1034NR with only and internal hard drive and USB ports, no CD drives. When I boot it, it says to...
GrantTKEYI60 Laptop Support 3 02-07-2011 05:55 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in todayís modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts