Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

User Tag List

Capture a Blue Screen As Is?

This is a discussion on Capture a Blue Screen As Is? within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Reference: https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ml#post6997857 Short of having a camera handy and taking a picture, is there any way to capture a Blue


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2016, 12:42 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Reference: https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ml#post6997857


Short of having a camera handy and taking a picture, is there any way to capture a Blue Screen in the entirety as it appears?

If there is nothing in C:\Windows\Minidump is there any other place a crash dump might be? Anything in any of the Admin Tools or reports areas?

I have been to sysdm.cpl and verified that the Small Dump Directory is listed as %systemroot%\Minidump
Confounded Also is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2016, 11:44 AM   #2
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Camera is your best bet.

If running Windows 7, run through these steps to help try and figure out why you're not producing dumps -

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...od-816378.html

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 04-15-2016, 01:45 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



This is the WMI output:

Quote:

AutoReboot=TRUE
Caption=
DebugFilePath=%SystemRoot%\MEMORY.DMP
DebugInfoType=3
Description=
ExpandedDebugFilePath=C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP
ExpandedMiniDumpDirectory=C:\Windows\Minidump
KernelDumpOnly=FALSE
MiniDumpDirectory=%SystemRoot%\Minidump
Name=Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium |C:\Windows|\Device\Harddisk0\Partition3
OverwriteExistingDebugFile=TRUE
SendAdminAlert=FALSE
SettingID=
WriteDebugInfo=TRUE
WriteToSystemLog=TRUE




AllocatedBaseSize=7862
Caption=C:\pagefile.sys
CurrentUsage=305
Description=C:\pagefile.sys
InstallDate=20160228075731.364845-360
Name=C:\pagefile.sys
PeakUsage=311
Status=
TempPageFile=FALSE
I don't know how to check or set the things on the Checklist.
Confounded Also is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2016, 10:15 AM   #4
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



How much physical RAM is installed in your system? Page file initial allocation = 7862 MB; Page file allocation must be > than installed physical RAM in Windows 7 systems in order to create dump files.

Also, check system crash settings - set for "kernel memory dump"

Control Panel; "system"; "advanced system settings"; "advanced" tab; "startup and recovery"

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 04-17-2016, 04:01 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



^^ 8 GB, 7.68 GB usable.

The last MEMORY.DMP file in C:\Windows is dated 4/19/2015, a year ago. Unless the date isn't always updated?
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 12:03 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgriff2 View Post
How much physical RAM is installed in your system? Page file initial allocation = 7862 MB; Page file allocation must be > than installed physical RAM in Windows 7 systems in order to create dump files.

Also, check system crash settings - set for "kernel memory dump"

Control Panel; "system"; "advanced system settings"; "advanced" tab; "startup and recovery"

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`


Should I be making some kind of changes?
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 04:11 AM   #7
Hardware Team
Games Team
 
Aus_Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Western Australia, Perth
Posts: 4,651
OS: Windows 10 64-bit Pro

My System


Hi Confounded.
Is your pagefile set to "System Managed Size"? Its located under System Properties > Advanced Tab > Performance Options > Advanced > Virtual Memory (Change).
Aus_Karlos is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 08:38 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Aus_Karlos View Post
Hi Confounded.
Is your pagefile set to "System Managed Size"? Its located under System Properties > Advanced Tab > Performance Options > Advanced > Virtual Memory (Change).
This is what I see. Should it be changed?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SysPropMem.JPG
Views:	35
Size:	76.9 KB
ID:	279825  
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 05-01-2016, 01:52 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Anybody?
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 05-01-2016, 03:19 PM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 53,920
OS: Win7



Automatically manage is what it is currently set to.

However if it is a hard drive issue as your other thread suggests then windows won't be able to write the data to the drive when it crashed.

Where you able to read any of the codes off the blue screen?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 05-01-2016, 04:11 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post

Where you able to read any of the codes off the blue screen?

No, nothing.

And this is the NEW HD, partitioned to C and E
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskSnip.JPG
Views:	36
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	280313  
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 05-02-2016, 07:59 AM   #12
Hardware Team
Games Team
 
Aus_Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Western Australia, Perth
Posts: 4,651
OS: Windows 10 64-bit Pro

My System


How much free space is on the C: partition?
I recommend running chkdsk /f in an elevated command prompt window to check the errors.
If it finds nothing go back into the Virtual Memory page and uncheck the box at the top and then select "No Pagefile" and press Set. The system will ask for a reboot.
Once the system has rebooted go to your C: to delete the pagefile.sys file. To see the file you'll need to be able to view Hidden System Files. Which is located in Folder Options > View > "Hidden protected operating system files"
Once its deleted go back into Virtual Memory and select "System Managed Size" and check the box "Automatically manage pagefiles" and reboot again. Dont forget to Re-hide the protected system files.

Its possible the pagefile you have is corrupt, doing this makes your system write a new pagefile.
Aus_Karlos is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 03:39 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Aus_Karlos View Post
How much free space is on the C: partition?

Used 221 GB

Free 64.8 GB
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 05-09-2016, 02:16 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



No crash dump again this time and I wasn't in front of the screen to try and catch a picture.

21 days since the last one.
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 05-09-2016, 03:37 PM   #15
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 53,920
OS: Win7



Turn off auto reboot.

To turn off Auto Reboot Vista/Win7
Start> type/paste Advanced System Settings, from the list Select Advanced System Settings> On the Advanced Tab click on Startup and Recovery> in the Startup and Recovery window un check Automatically Restart, hit Ok to exit the dialogs, reboot the PC for the settings to take effect.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 05-09-2016, 04:34 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



And what will that do? Leave the Blue Screen?
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 05-10-2016, 12:57 AM   #17
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 53,920
OS: Win7



Yes it leaves it on the bsod screen.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 05:10 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



OK, turned that off and this time I got the following if it tells anybody anything.


Note, this is a new WD HDD and the OS and file were restored from an Acronis backup.

There are a couple of other threads with various details as they happened.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BSOD1.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	284681   Click image for larger version

Name:	BSOD2.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	284689  
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 07:54 PM   #19
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi. . .

The bugcheck from your BSOD image attachment -

0x7a (,0xce,,) = KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE_ERROR -- the info requested from the page file (located on the HDD) could not be read into RAM.

The exception code in P2 (0xce) is an exception error code that tells us the reason for the 0x7a bugcheck -- the required device cannot be found.

In short, Windows cannot find the HDD. For some reason, at the time of the BSOD, Windows lost touch with the partition that contains your Windows installation.

I usually see a 0x7a bugcheck BSOD when the HDD fails. I know you mentioned that your HDD is new, but run HDD diagnostics anyway.

Run SeaTools for DOS, LONG test - https://www.sysnative.com/forums/har...agnostics.html

When you installed the new HDD did you reinstall Windows onto it or did you use an image?

EDIT: I just saw in your post that you used an image. If the HDD checks out OK, think about reinstalling Windows -- there may be a problem with the image. Also check HDD cables.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2



NOTE: I am recovering from major surgery (double hip replacement) and may not be able to promptly reply to your thread. Thank you for your patience and understanding.



`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 06-12-2016, 11:22 AM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 904
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgriff2 View Post

Run SeaTools for DOS, LONG test -

Also check HDD cables.

I've run the test in the WD supplied Diagnostics utilities and it passes.

This is a notebook, so no cables.
Confounded Also is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue screen errors/Another Freeze with repeating sound/manually restart over and over
I have Been haveing some sort of trouble getting to understand my computer, newly build, and its pretty good actually apart from the newest releases up to date. But i'm getting some blue screens, and when ever Theres no blue screen it just freezes and it repeats as a broken glass sound in the...
sfc1992 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 0 04-30-2014 09:31 AM
[SOLVED] I need a screen capture tool for capture the whole webpage in one click
I need a screen capture tool for capture the whole webpage in one click. I tried some screen capture tools but they don't allow me to capture the whole page. for do this action I needed to scroll the page and capture. But I want capture the whole page in one click. I tried a online tool for...
Diproy50 File and Application Sharing 3 07-12-2013 02:22 PM
Dual AMD HD 7770 on a HP xw6600 Workstation - one GPU fails & get blue screen
Hi, so I've recently purchased two AMD HD 7770's, they're the same model, just different brands. One is a XFX (one fan) and the other is a Sapphire (two fans). Just last night as I'm casually browsing the internet and I hear the Sapphire fans rapidly speed up and I immediately smell a sort of...
DrPerry Video Card Support 9 06-01-2013 03:19 PM
My computer will not start up? (Blue Screen)
Please watch my video here so you can see my problem in depth: HP Pavillion PC Stuck on Blue Screen: HELP - YouTube Over view: My HP Pavillion A6400f PC has been having problems for the past 5 months. It runs on Windows Vista Home Premium. (64 Bit ) Lately, when it starts up, it stays on the...
sdelvalle BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 04-02-2013 07:02 AM
Black screen after Blue Screen, no BIOS, no display
I read the posting instructions but it's a little difficult for me to run that program because my computer won't actually display anything. But here's what I can answer: OS - Win 7 64bit Original OS - Vista Home Premium October 2010 OS is retail upgrade Hard Drive has been in use since...
Fatal Accident BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 08-22-2011 12:05 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts