Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

User Tag List

BSOD when running games

This is a discussion on BSOD when running games within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys , i'm having this problem when I run games most of the time , it runs smoothly for


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2012, 09:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



Hi guys , i'm having this problem when I run games most of the time , it runs smoothly for sometime then it BSOD all of sudden , I used to have Daemon tools instaled on my pc , read it somewhere that it influences in bsod ocurrences and i've uninstaled it , but I still get random crashes

i'm using a

windows version: Windows 7 Service Pack 1, 6.1, build: 7601
windows dir: C:\Windows
CPU: GenuineIntel Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz Intel586, level: 6
4 logical processors, active mask: 15
RAM: 4294172672 total
VM: 2147352576, free: 1912336384

the whocrashed program gave me like 4 corrupted files:

hidclass.sys
ntoskrnl.exe
dxgmms1.sys
sptd.sys (the one related to daemon tools , or at least it's what i've read)

So if you guys can help me i'd be really thankful
Fern198 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2012, 09:42 AM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Hello,

Follow the steps in the article below and attach the requested reports.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ta-452654.html
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 06-27-2012, 10:33 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



here are the reports you asked and the follow information

ท OS -Windows 7 home premiu
ท 64bits ?
ท What was original installed OS on system?same OS since bought
ท Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)?came pre installed on the pc
ท Age of system (hardware) roughly 3 years
ท Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? roughly 3 years

ท CPU Core2Quad Q8300 2.5ghz
ท Video Card- GeForce GTX550ti
ท MotherBoard -VS G31T-M
ท Power Supply - not sure about the brand , but it's 500W real

ท System Manufacturer: i had it made personalized
Attached Files
File Type: zip Windows7_Vista_jcgriff2.zip (3.83 MB, 24 views)
Fern198 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2012, 03:05 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Support Visiting Expert
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
zigzag3143's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GMT -5
Posts: 553
OS: Win 8

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to zigzag3143

Four of the most recent were related to directX. Each had a different BCC code So I suspect something else but lets start with DirectX

Diagnosing basic problems with DirectX
__________________

Team ZigZag3143
MS-MVP Consumer Expert 2010-2016
MCC 2013-2016
Wanikiya & Dyami

zigzag3143 is offline  
Old 06-27-2012, 04:35 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



I just went trough the tutorial of the link you sent me , and i'm not having any bluescreens up till now (the DirectDraw ,DirectD3 and AGP were already enabled though)

i'll give feedback if the bsod happens again , and thanks for the support
Fern198 is offline  
Old 07-03-2012, 04:19 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



so it has been almost a week , got bsod once or twice (when running lot's of stuff) so i wasn't that worried , but now it's getting quite frequent again

here are the scan files
Attached Files
File Type: zip Windows7_Vista_jcgriff2 (2).zip (3.57 MB, 22 views)
Fern198 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 10:04 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



Bump!
Fern198 is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 07:25 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



Bump!
Fern198 is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 10:57 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 513
OS: Windows 7 32bit SP1



Stop bumping because now you got me!

Do you use virtual drives?
What is your actual ram in gb (not bytes) and speed?
It should be as follows -
Dual-channel DDR2 memory architecture
2 x 240-pin DDR2 DIMM socket support up to 4 GB
Support DDR2 800/667 DDR SDRAM

How much free space is on your hdd?
Is your hdd an ssd?
ECS Web Site

If you are using addon GPU (video card) then you should specify it in the BIOS to be your Primary video
Jupiter2 is offline  
Old 07-08-2012, 03:42 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



I used to have Daemon tools installed but removed it after seeing it was causing massive BSODs in other systems , still haven't installed any virtual drivers

I'm running on 2 2gb sticks of memory DDR2 if i'm not mistaken

I'm using a GeForce GTX 550Ti as vga card , already made it the card my primary and uninstalled the onboard drivers of the previous card

i've got like 500gb of free space (i'm using a 1TB HD)

i've been getting most of my bsods while gaming , and i'm guessing that i'll have to reaply the termal paste in my heat sink , i'm getting 60Cบ while running games when i used to run them at 30/40บC max , but dunno if this is the main source of the problem
Fern198 is offline  
Old 07-08-2012, 03:54 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 513
OS: Windows 7 32bit SP1



Some games need certain requirements, what games are you playing that might be the culprits?

Have you tried running in compatibility mode?

There is a fix for older games to run in Windows 7 x64, it creates a virtual drive for them.
Jupiter2 is offline  
Old 07-08-2012, 04:14 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 513
OS: Windows 7 32bit SP1



dxgmms1.sys refers to the onboard gpu so if you got the BIOS set to primary of the Video card then you would not have got that issue with that system file.
Jupiter2 is offline  
Old 07-08-2012, 04:34 PM   #13
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,005
OS: Win7



I ran the last 3 all blame a different driver, could mean a couple different things, it's either hardware related, heat, power or a failing piece of hardware.
Or there is 1 driver acting up overwriting assigned space and the driver assigned that space is calling for the BSOD.

Start by running memtest+ for at least 6 passes.
D/L Memtest+ burn it to a CD using a free program like Imgburn if you need one then boot from the CD to test the ram, let it run for at least 6 passes or until you see an error.

Use Hardware Monitor lets get a look at the voltages and temps.

Also there is a driver on your system I can't identify so it may or may not be the issue > aj4mqfv0.SYS search for it and rename it to aj4mqfv0.old lets see if any programs stop working.

BSOD BUGCHECK SUMMARY

Code:

Loading Dump File [C:\Users\Owner\_jcgriff2_\dbug\__Kernel__\070312-24663-01.dmp]
Built by: 7601.17835.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030
Debug session time: Tue Jul  3 14:08:29.197 2012 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 1:34:25.395
BugCheck A, {fffffa8024660b90, 2, 1, fffff800032e846f}
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KiSignalSynchronizationObject+6f )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
PROCESS_NAME:  msnmsgr.exe
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xA_nt!KiSignalSynchronizationObject+6f
Bugcheck code 0000000A
Arguments fffffa80`24660b90 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000001 fffff800`032e846f
BiosVersion = 080014 
BiosReleaseDate = 10/09/2009
SystemManufacturer = MEGAWARE
SystemProductName = VS-G31T-M
MaxSpeed:     2500
CurrentSpeed: 2493
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
Loading Dump File [C:\Users\Owner\_jcgriff2_\dbug\__Kernel__\070312-25833-01.dmp]
Built by: 7601.17835.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030
Debug session time: Tue Jul  3 18:55:27.888 2012 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 3:21:43.573
BugCheck 50, {fffffa80275e7740, 0, fffff800032a2fb6, 2}
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for win32k.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for win32k.sys
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+43d86 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
PROCESS_NAME:  System
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_nt!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+43d86
Bugcheck code 00000050
Arguments fffffa80`275e7740 00000000`00000000 fffff800`032a2fb6 00000000`00000002
BiosVersion = 080014 
BiosReleaseDate = 10/09/2009
SystemManufacturer = MEGAWARE
SystemProductName = VS-G31T-M
MaxSpeed:     2500
CurrentSpeed: 2493
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
Loading Dump File [C:\Users\Owner\_jcgriff2_\dbug\__Kernel__\070312-30201-01.dmp]
Built by: 7601.17835.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030
Debug session time: Tue Jul  3 15:33:03.347 2012 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 1:23:53.204
BugCheck 50, {fffffa80273bc8d8, 1, fffff88004269ff3, 2}
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for win32k.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for win32k.sys
Probably caused by : dxgmms1.sys ( dxgmms1!VIDMM_GLOBAL::ReferenceAllocationForSubmission+a3 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
PROCESS_NAME:  System
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_dxgmms1!VIDMM_GLOBAL::ReferenceAllocationForSubmission+a3
Bugcheck code 00000050
Arguments fffffa80`273bc8d8 00000000`00000001 fffff880`04269ff3 00000000`00000002
BiosVersion = 080014 
BiosReleaseDate = 10/09/2009
SystemManufacturer = MEGAWARE
SystemProductName = VS-G31T-M
MaxSpeed:     2500
CurrentSpeed: 2493
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``

Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-08-2012, 05:17 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



@Wrench97 so , i'm running memtest right now , still no signs of errors till now , i've searched for the aj4mqfv0.SYS file on the drivers folder and couldn't find it anywhere... i'm puting the specs that CPUID gave me back now , guess the cpu is a bit too hot

@Jupiter2 , i'm trying to run mostly "recent" games like one or two years max , about the dxgmms file , if i'm not current using it cuz i'm using an offboard vga , can I delete it altogether? or it's needed even if not in use?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CPU specs.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	110.9 KB
ID:	112263  
Fern198 is offline  
Old 07-08-2012, 05:23 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 513
OS: Windows 7 32bit SP1



Don't delete it, it is part of the VGA safe mode if you need to use it. (I think?) but don't delete it anyhow unless advised by Wrench97
Jupiter2 is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 12:19 AM   #16
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,005
OS: Win7



dxgmms is part of Microsoft direct X you do not want to delete that.

Yes the CPU is running too warm, check the heatsink is tight to the CPU stock Intel style units are held on by 4 push pin type mounting mounting legs they are known to popup loose especially when moving, cleaning or by installing add in cards.

Have blown off the CPU heatsink with a can of compressed air recently?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 01:05 AM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 513
OS: Windows 7 32bit SP1



Quote:
RAM: 4294172672 total
That is an odd amount for ram (as you havbe stated), if it was 2 x 2gb it would be 4096 mb. Could you take a stick out and give details as to what is actually written on the label of the ram? Turn off PC as well as powerpoint so that the motherboard light is not on before removing ram stick.) While you are there, check to see that they are matching (identical).
Jupiter2 is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 09:41 AM   #18
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,005
OS: Win7



That's in bytes it's normal to see odd numbers in bytes.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 10:00 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
dxgmms is part of Microsoft direct X you do not want to delete that.

Yes the CPU is running too warm, check the heatsink is tight to the CPU stock Intel style units are held on by 4 push pin type mounting mounting legs they are known to popup loose especially when moving, cleaning or by installing add in cards.

Have blown off the CPU heatsink with a can of compressed air recently?
so I've checked the heatsink it was ok , cleaned up some dust , but the thermal paste was almost all dried up , i'm getting some tomorrow and i'll apply it , could the heat be the solely problem causing the bsods? cuz I didn't get any major errors with memtest and other than being hot the pc is all fine (no malwares/viruses)
Fern198 is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 10:14 AM   #20
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,005
OS: Win7



Yes it could be the sole reason, anytime the heat sink is disturbed the thermal paste should be redone.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD Help
Computer is giving bsod, i have attached a bsod zip file of the 3 bsod mini dumps. thanks Summary Operating System MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1 CPU
dunz BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 03-12-2012 07:03 PM
bsod help
HI there, can you please help me figure out what is causing a bsod, i have ran speccy to get as much info about the system as possible (i hope this is ok?) i have attached a rar of the minidump. I could only find a sticky for bsod instructions for vista/7, if there is one for xp can you...
dunz BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 02-02-2012 10:17 AM
Random BSOD when playing installed games in Windows 7 64-Bit
Very recently I have built two brand new computers, one for myself, and one for my boyfriend, and all of the hardware seems to function, at least from the outside. Our computers are completely identical in build and in specs. They were built less than a month ago, and the only differences between...
MelancholyRose BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 04-24-2011 06:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts