Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

User Tag List

BSOD, ntoskrnl.exe

This is a discussion on BSOD, ntoskrnl.exe within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ultimate SP 1, x64 It should be noted that I've had multiple blue screens, some of which had different error


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2011, 06:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



Ultimate SP 1, x64 It should be noted that I've had multiple blue screens, some of which had different error messages. It came to the point where I had to format quite often, but that clearly does not fix the problem. It also seemed that, for awhile at least, disabling Windows Update caused me to get less blue screens.

Bug check string: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL


ท OS - Windows 7
What was original installed OS on system?
Windows 7 Professional (I get the same BSOD when using this OS)
Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)?
OEM

Age of system (hardware)
Roughly 2 years
Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS?
Less than a month

CPU
Intel i7 940 2.93 GHz 3.06 GHz
Video Card
Nvidia GeForce GTX 295
MotherBoard
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R


Power Supply - brand & wattage
Cooler Master 900W
System Manufacturer
N/A
Exact model number (if laptop, check label on bottom)
N/A

Attached Files
File Type: rar Documents.rar (616.3 KB, 19 views)
Shahzaad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2011, 07:41 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



Got two new blue screens within 3 minutes of one another.

Bug Check Strings so far:

DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Added updated attachments.
Attached Files
File Type: rar Documents.rar (657.0 KB, 19 views)
Shahzaad is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 08:29 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



Another new BSOD

I should mention that this mainly happens when playing World of Warcraft.
Attached Files
File Type: rar Documents.rar (684.4 KB, 15 views)
Shahzaad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2011, 11:07 PM   #4
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


IRQL is usually related to memory issues
What is the make and model of your RAM ?


take out all but one RAM stick and run memtest
Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool
run it for at least 8 passes
if it passes all 8 tests then remove this out and put the 2nd test then 3rd
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 10-29-2011, 09:35 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



I did a system restore and ran 16 and 23 passes on my RAM, one at a time as you suggested with 0 errors.

Just got another IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL error, even though I had zero errors when memtest was running. It happened when a 3d video game was playing.

What do you suggest?
Shahzaad is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 02:56 PM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


How many sticks of RAM you have in there.
Take all of them out leave one in there
get into the 3d Game and see if that happens if you don't get an error shut down the PC
Take that one out mark it
put the next one in there all by itself just like the first one and test it with Game again
Test them all and let see what we find out
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 03:02 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



Got another BSOD just now: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA.

I'm running 2 2gig RAM sticks, I'll do as you suggested and report back.
Shahzaad is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 03:08 PM   #8
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


ok
read this
Error Message:

sometimes bad RAM passes the memtest so we just trying to pinpoint
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 04:05 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



I started blue screening a couple of weeks ago, it has been getting progressively worse, system restore tends to cease the frequency of it, but it only lasts so long.

I used to think it was the nvidia driver, because nvlddmkm.sys was part of the BSOD, I stopped having that particular BSOD though so I figured that can't be it.
Shahzaad is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 08:26 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by loda117 View Post
How many sticks of RAM you have in there.
Take all of them out leave one in there
get into the 3d Game and see if that happens if you don't get an error shut down the PC
Take that one out mark it
put the next one in there all by itself just like the first one and test it with Game again
Test them all and let see what we find out
I ran the game for over 6 hours using 1 stick of RAM (horribly laggy, but oh well) and I did not get a BSOD.

It could be a coincidence, who knows. Do you want me to keep testing them longer?
Shahzaad is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 08:35 AM   #11
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System

No
Now put in the 2nd stick by itself and test for couple of hours
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 09:17 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



Sorry I forgot to mention I tested them both separately for half a day each.
Shahzaad is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 04:33 PM   #13
TSF - Enthusiast
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,172
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


There were no crashes then??
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 04:54 PM   #14
TSF Team Emeritus
 
reventon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,147
OS: Windows 7 x64, XP, Fedora



Hi,

The BSOD minidumps that you have uploaded so far are a mixed bag - nothing definitive and no obvious cause.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shahzaad View Post
I used to think it was the nvidia driver, because nvlddmkm.sys was part of the BSOD, I stopped having that particular BSOD though so I figured that can't be it.
Given you were reportedly receiving a lot of NVIDIA driver BSODs, with the driver up to date, I would suggest stress testing your graphics card - Video Card - Stress Test with Furmark - Windows 7 Forums

Also run HDD diagnostics - HD Diagnostic

BUGCHECK SUMMARY
Code:

Built by: 7601.17640.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506
Debug session time: Tue Oct 25 16:21:09.777 2011 (GMT+13)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:54:17.777
Probably caused by : dxgmms1.sys ( dxgmms1!VIDMM_GLOBAL::ReferenceDmaBuffer+636 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
PROCESS_NAME:  Wow.exe
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_dxgmms1!VIDMM_GLOBAL::ReferenceDmaBuffer+636
Bugcheck code 00000050
Arguments fffff8a0`13de4730 00000000`00000000 fffff880`06fca586 00000000`00000002
SystemProductName = EX58-UD3R
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
Built by: 7601.17640.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506
Debug session time: Tue Oct 25 15:25:55.474 2011 (GMT+13)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:03:21.474
BugCheck D1, {fffff80012ad8f32, 2, 8, fffff80012ad8f32}
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KiPageFault+260 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0xD1
PROCESS_NAME:  AvastSvc.exe
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xD1_CODE_AV_BAD_IP_nt!KiPageFault+260
Bugcheck code 000000D1
Arguments fffff800`12ad8f32 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000008 fffff800`12ad8f32
SystemProductName = EX58-UD3R
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
Built by: 7601.17640.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506
Debug session time: Tue Oct 25 15:21:33.449 2011 (GMT+13)
System Uptime: 0 days 1:37:16.449
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+447c6 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
PROCESS_NAME:  plugin-contain
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_nt!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+447c6
Bugcheck code 00000050
Arguments fffff960`1018bd39 00000000`00000008 fffff960`1018bd39 00000000`00000002
SystemProductName = EX58-UD3R
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
Built by: 7601.17640.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506
Debug session time: Tue Oct 25 13:43:08.393 2011 (GMT+13)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:24:30.408
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KiTimerWaitTest+189 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
PROCESS_NAME:  Wow.exe
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xA_nt!KiTimerWaitTest+189
Bugcheck code 0000000A
Arguments fffffa80`144a48d0 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000001 fffff800`02aea629
SystemProductName = EX58-UD3R
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
reventon is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 06:22 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by loda117 View Post
There were no crashes then??
Correct
Shahzaad is offline  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:38 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, SP1



GPU and HD tests didn't indicate anything.

Got another Driver IRQL error, they seem to be less frequent, but it still occurs. Could the motherboard be at fault?
Shahzaad is offline  
Old 11-06-2011, 12:38 PM   #17
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,437
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


If both sticks of ram run by themselves ok, but not together, then that is classic ram incompatibility and you need to match the board to ram somewhere like RAM Memory Upgrade: Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq. USB drives, SSD at Crucial.com and then replace all of it. Crucial is excellent ram and guarantees it to work besides.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] help!!!! guy gone crazy with bluscreans!!!:@:@
i have an intel dh55hc motherboard in my pc i built my pc during summertime and at that time i got the patriot ram ... the whole stock had problems .. (they work with onestick bt the pc wont boot with 2 sticks) so i had a stick of 2gigs of that ram .. then i upgraded it with a kingston ram ..and...
avok95 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 21 11-17-2013 06:14 AM
BSOD - Ntfs.sys & ntoskrnl.exe
So a few weeks back I started getting very frequent BSOD's (every 10 mins or so). I eventually narrowed it down to mcdbus.sys. A driver to do with MagicISO, after removing it it seemed to fix my BSOD issue and I haven't had a problem since... until this morning. I had left my computer on over night...
whoelseisbored BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 08-01-2011 02:47 AM
BSOD 6 month Hiatus [moved from Vista/ Windows 7]
System Details - GigaByte GA-EP43-UD3L - 8GB Patriot Viper Series PC2-8500 - CPU - Windows 7 Professional 64 bit - System age 1.5-2 years - Video card ATI Radeon X1600/X1650 Series - OS install 1.5 years 6+ months ago my system was blue screening and I went thru all the suggested...
kungfusion BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 8 03-04-2011 03:31 PM
BSODs please help
OS - Vista Home Premium 64 bit Original installed OS - Vista Home Premium 64 bit Came pre-installed Age of system - About 2 years old CPU - Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67 GHz NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 Gigabyte EX58-UD3R SLI I got my first BSOD after going to myspace. And now my computer cant...
PenKK BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 16 02-25-2011 01:21 PM
BSOD ntoskrnl.exe [moved from Vista/ Windows 7]
================================================== Dump File : 021011-40092-01.dmp Crash Time : 10-2-2011 18:50:11 Bug Check String : SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION Bug Check Code : 0x0000003b Parameter 1 : 00000000`c0000005 Parameter 2 : 00000000`fffff880 Parameter...
mmmcool BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 31 02-12-2011 08:45 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts