Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help > Inactive Malware Help Topics

User Tag List

Chrome searching Yahoo instead of Google (defaulted)

This is a discussion on Chrome searching Yahoo instead of Google (defaulted) within the Inactive Malware Help Topics forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This is so strange. I'm not computer illiterate, just throwing out there. I know my way around settings and whatnot.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2018, 07:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 64
OS: Win 7/hp



This is so strange. I'm not computer illiterate, just throwing out there. I know my way around settings and whatnot.

So I'm using Google Chrome. I want to have it set where when I type something in the top bar (URL bar) it will search using Google (if I didn't type in a web address). Well when I search something up there, the search result URL has "https://search.yahoo.com/......" instead of Google. Then when I go to Google.com and attempt to do a google search, once again the result will be "https://search.yahoo.com/....". As far as I know, Yahoo didn't buy out Google.

So when I go to my Chrome settings, "Search engine used in the address bar" is set to Google. Under "Manage search engines" the only result I left is Google and it is set to "default". Below that in my settings it says "Google Chrome is your default browser" (not that this is really irrelevant).

I'm thinking this has to be some sort of adware or something. I'm unsure what I need to do to fix this issue. I hate Yahoo so this is really a peeve. Thanks for your time.
-C.S.
insane225 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2018, 12:42 PM   #2
Security Team
Moderator, Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
chemist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,790
OS: XP/Win7/Win10



Hello and Welcome to TSF.

We want all our members to perform the steps outlined here:

https://www.techsupportforum.com/secu...oval-help.html

After running through all the steps, you shall have a proper set of logs. Please post them in a reply to this thread.

Please note that the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help Forum is extremely busy, and it may take a while to receive a reply.

------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Our services are free, but you may contribute to the author of ComboFix via PayPal

Proud member of UNITE

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2014, 2015
chemist is offline  
Old 08-02-2018, 07:37 PM   #3
Security Team
Moderator, Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
chemist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,790
OS: XP/Win7/Win10



Due to lack of response, this topic will now be closed. If you need continued support, please begin a new thread, and provide a link to this topic. This applies only to the original topic starter. Everyone else please begin a New Topic, after following the steps outlined here:

IMPORTANT - Read This Before Posting For Malware Removal Help

------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Our services are free, but you may contribute to the author of ComboFix via PayPal

Proud member of UNITE

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2014, 2015
chemist is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manual Proxy refuses to stay off
I have a problem where whenever I turn on my computer (Windows 10) the manual proxy is on to addresses "http=127.0.0.1:64550;https=127.0.0.1:64550". I don't know what they are, and I didn't put them there. When on, it prevents me from accessing the internet. When I turn it off, there is no problem,...
Taahirah Resolved HJT Threads 35 07-31-2017 07:32 PM
Published: A Brief Overview of Google I/O 2016
:stop: This page is under editor review! This is NOT the final copy! :stop: Before editing this post, please make sure that you are the only person viewing this thread, as anyone else viewing the thread may already be editing the post. A Brief Overview of Google I/O 2016 On October 4,...
Masterchiefxx17 Dead-Sea Scrolls 16 10-12-2016 01:45 AM
fra.loadresync.net adding lines of code to webpage
In my case I am using Firefox to create automated test cases. During this process is discovered fra.loadresync.net was running a delaying my page loads and actions on a page, anytime the page went to gather information this site would be called. I have researched online and I find very little about...
kfoxsr Resolved HJT Threads 17 09-22-2015 11:21 AM
Specialist Crime Directorate?
I have got the Specialist Crime Directorate Ransomware virus and I need help on removing it. My computer won't boot in safe mode with networking or cmd, help!:frown:
josh1929 Resolved HJT Threads 36 09-03-2013 06:05 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts