Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Electronics

User Tag List

Substituting a charger with a universal power supply

This is a discussion on Substituting a charger with a universal power supply within the Electronics forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Good day. To make it short, our old wireless headphone station charger (A) cable has left this world. We managed


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2020, 07:13 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2
OS:


Question

Good day.


To make it short, our old wireless headphone station charger (A) cable has left this world.



We managed to get our hands on the "universal power supply" (B).

My understanding of electronics is quite limited and I since (B)'s instructions warn to 'not leave it function unattended', I am basically trying to figure out if it will burn down our building.

I am assuming what matters to the station is amperage, and since on (B) 1500mA is listed as the max, it should correspond to it's listed max voltage (12V). If that is correct, that should make it able to transmit 500mA @4V (note that the nearest available options are 3&4.5V).

So the questions are:
1. Are my assumptions about the functionality of these things correct, and if so:
2. Would leaving it on 4.5A exceed the station's accepted amperage (by 62.5mA?) and put it's battery at a risk to overheat/melt?
3. Would leaving it on 3A cause any other issues other than slower charging (e.g. smaller achievable charge %)?



And 4. - if I'm just looking at this in the wrong way and there's an easy (/no) way to substitute (A) for (B)


Thanks.
bearwastaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-30-2020, 03:31 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 10



You appear to be reading it incorrectly. The adjustment on the new universal power supply is for voltage not current. The original PS was rated 5v at 500ma. The new PS is rated at up to 1500ma. Set the new PS to 5v and it will work fine provided that the power connection is compatible.

Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
DaveMcKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 02:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2
OS:



Thanks - that is all I wanted to know :)

(can be locked)
bearwastaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts