Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Electronics

User Tag List

How to add a remote control device to old television

This is a discussion on How to add a remote control device to old television within the Electronics forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have old television set about of '80s which doesn't have remote control support. I want to add a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2012, 07:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
OS: winxp


Confused

Hi,

I have old television set about of '80s which doesn't have remote control support. I want to add a remote control to the television now. So, is there any external device like i can connect it to cable which supports remote control and connect the output of that external device to the television set?
karanraj123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2012, 08:54 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,823
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


IF the TV supports a remote (ie: it shipped with a remote), then all you need is a replacement or universal remote. Aside from that, you can't add the ability.

If you have cable/SAT TV service, or even a VCR, you can use those devices to tune the channels and thus have a remote control.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 04-07-2012, 10:30 AM   #3
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 12,283
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


I wouldn't say that it's not possible .. just that the amount of work required is prohibiting .. assuming that there are kits available to modify the set along with good instructions ..
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES


HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner



How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External HD Taking Longtime To Load On My PC??
Guys, I have an external 160GB Freecom HD which is roughly 2-3 years old and have 20GB left. I have pc with an USB cable attached attached to the back of it so that i can connect to it for ease of use. My PC is custome built and has a Intel Pentium E2200 Dual CPU chip which was originally WinXP...
Brink123 Removable Media Drives 3 04-08-2012 08:20 AM
Downloading to hdd that needs defragging
hi, when ive been downloading stuff from the net to an external hdd that has become really slow to respond to commands that imfairly sure needs defragging bad. im just trying to understand something about it. when acttually downloading the speeds just spike and trickle in. i have changed external...
porkkrop Hard Drive Support 7 04-08-2012 06:09 AM
FPS Lag with good Rig...PLEASE HELP!Going to rip my hair out!
First of, thankyou for taking the time to view my thread https://img.tomshardware.com/forum/uk/icones/biggrin.gif Now to the stuff On so many games, such as fallout 3, tribes ascend, teamfortress 2,Batman arkham asylum, even a blocky game like brick force ive been getting quit bad fps...
Kirbies PC Gaming Support 15 04-07-2012 02:15 PM
how do i undo changes i made to win7 os
Help, ive just replaced my mobo & hard drives and one is a ssd, then i did a fresh instal of win7 64. i (stupidly) followed a guide to set up a ssd for windows os and blindly changed things in regedit and various other things. ive now found that most of this stuff was important and want to...
catthing Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 04-07-2012 02:41 AM
Laptop Goes to Sleep/Turns Off when Moved
I have an hp probook 4530s. A while ago it started going to sleep or turning off when moved. I have seen other threads displaying the later problem, but not mentioning going to sleep. It seems random whether the laptop goes to sleep or turns off, but oftentimes the turning off will occur...
maj0rzggy Laptop Support 1 04-06-2012 09:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts