Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Home Theater

User Tag List

How to upgrade existing system to Optical Wiring?

This is a discussion on How to upgrade existing system to Optical Wiring? within the Home Theater forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. We recently purchased a home that came with a Sony SAVO 500 unit pre-installed in the walls. I'll start by


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-03-2014, 07:00 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
OS: win2000



We recently purchased a home that came with a Sony SAVO 500 unit pre-installed in the walls.

I'll start by saying I'm completely naive in this space. We are looking to purchase a new TV and it seems like the vast majority of the TVs only have "Digital Audio Out (Optical)". When I look at the existing wires that are ready to be plugged into the TV, they're not Optical wires (they look like component wires). Thus, I'm operating under the assumption that any new TV won't be compatible with the existing surround sound system.

Couple of questions:
- Am I correct in assuming that if the TV specs say "Digital Audio Out (Optical)", that it won't accept the existing component wires?
- Is there a way to make the Sony SAVO work with Optical wiring without changing out all of the existing wires? (I could probably work out changing the wires from the main hub to the TV, but don't want to mess with all the satellite speakers too)
- If not, is there a way to buy a new surround sound unit, replace the wiring from the hub up to the TV, but keep the existing wiring out to the satellite speakers?
- If not, what other options would work? Do receivers exist that I could plug the component wiring into, and then use optical wiring from the receiver to the TV?
- As I said, I'm naive...is the Sony SAVO 500 so old that it's better to just buy a semi-decent $300 system and pay someone $100-150 to install it? We don't need awesome sound...just something that is better than the generic TV speakers, but is compatible with today's better visual quality TVs

Any advice is greatly appreciated...thanks!
UDcc123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2014, 07:10 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
OS: win2000



...or, can I just buy a $20 Optical to Digital converter on Amazon?

- Still curious though...how old is the SAVO 500? I see it on EBay for < $50.
UDcc123 is offline  
Old 06-04-2014, 07:25 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

The optical out you see is output ONLY and is designed to send audio that is likely coming from HDMI to an amplifier or HT system. More systems are moving to either HDMI only or HDMI and coaxial.
ebackhus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2014, 02:46 PM   #4
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,823
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


The Sony is a simple amp and surround speaker system that accepts analog RCA inputs for each individual channel (ie: front left/right, rear left/right, center, and sub).

Your problem will be that no current hardware (ie: TV's, DVD, Blu-Ray, etc.) output individual analog outputs. They either use optical or HDMI. Also, the digital outputs of these devices are typically not decoded (ie: Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, and all of the HD variants used by Blu-Ray). The decoding is done by the surround system. The Sony does not support any decoding.

Your best bet would be to simply get a new AVR (Audio Video Receiver) and have something current that will connect and function properly with any hardware that you want/need to use.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-04-2014, 04:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
OS: win2000



Thank you for responding. I'm not too worried about the decoding as long as the sound will flow through to the speakers.

In short:
- I've purchased an digital optical cable and a Digital to Analog Converter
- I'm hoping I can plug the Analog/Coax cables from the speaker system into the converter & plug the new optical cable from the converter to the TV
- After that, I'm not looking for awesome surround sound. If I can get decent sound out of just the front 3 speakers to augment the TV volume I'd be happy. It doesn't have to be "Left vs Right Speaker"...it can just be general as if it was a soundbar.
- Will this work with what I have?
- Also, just curious...if I have a Blu-ray plugged into the TV, will the sound come out of the speakers with the set-up above since the optical is coming from the TV Audio Out?

Thanks and sorry for the ignorant questions.
UDcc123 is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 03:26 PM   #6
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,823
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Depends on the TV and how the devices are connected. Many TV's only output audio from the optical port that is tuned by the internal tuner (ie: the tuner used with the antenna input). They typically don't process/convert an audio signal from a different source/port to output over optical. Also, depending on the TV, it likely isn't/won't accept the encoded surround sound tracks from a DVD/Blu-Ray, it will default to a standard PCM stereo track.

How the optical works should be noted in the TV User Manual. Or you can connect everything up and test. Just don't get your hopes up. You are essentially asking the TV to be an audio hub, and they aren't designed that way as it's the job of the AVR.

Good luck.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 07:50 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
OS: win2000



Thanks Dogg. So different question. We'll be testing it out on Sunday. But just curious. If it doesn't work. Can we take advantage of the wiring within the walls to upgrade the speakers? ie: Can we buy a new surround sound system that is optical based, but still use the wiring in the walls that is designed for a coax/analog system?
UDcc123 is offline  
Old 06-07-2014, 06:51 PM   #8
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,823
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Assuming it's not damaged, yes, wiring can easily be used for any speakers. You could even reuse the existing speakers and only replace them if/when needed. All you really need to update the sound system, at this point, is just the AVR (and possibly a sub if there isn't already one in the system).
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSoD in 10 minutes after startup
Have recently bought a new computer and built it from scratch. I've been having problems with blue screen in the first ten minutes after I cold start it but after that the computer usually works without problem until the next day. I have been running memtest a few times and it havn't found any...
Serpentario BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 28 11-14-2012 11:09 AM
Vista frequent/multiple BSOD
OS ·Windows Vista 64-bit Service pack 2 · What was original installed OS on system?- Windows Vista 64-bit Service pack 2 · Is the OS an OEM version- pre-installed · Age of system (hardware)- 2009 · Age of OS installation - n/a` · CPU- Intel Penitum Dual CPU E2220 @ 2.40 GHZ · Video...
sirjoe27 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 15 12-09-2011 07:54 PM
BSOD - Driver Power State Failure
Hello, I am new to this forum, which I found online while searching for a fix to a BSOD I'm repeatedly having. I am hoping someone could help me out because it is getting extremely frustrating. The PC is used as a dedicated media center. So having the system go down multiple times during a...
conecommander BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 08-17-2011 08:18 PM
BSOD, atikmpag.sys
Hi! Since I installed Win7 on my new computersystem, i get these BSOD every first time on a day i start my computer. first some specs · OS - Windows 7 Ultimate · x86 · Windows 7 Ultimate · OEM · 1/2 year
emddummi BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-06-2011 02:55 AM
Blue Screen [moved from Vista/7]
I don't know much about the pain in the bum Blue Screen but i have it. I was told to get the info from the Blue screen when it came up. Here it is - 0x00000077 (0xc000009d, 0xc000009d, 0x00000000, 0x289f4000) I just don't know where i got go from here lol. Can anyone help? Please :P
Death Keeper 34 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 02-02-2011 07:44 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts