Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Building

User Tag List

which slots do i put my ram in?

This is a discussion on which slots do i put my ram in? within the Building forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a total of 8 slots and I have four channels. The motherboard is a dx79si do i put


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2012, 02:39 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
OS: win7 x64



I have a total of 8 slots and I have four channels. The motherboard is a dx79si



do i put them in the far left(bottom) four or just the blue slots?
haboob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-01-2012, 02:51 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,311
OS: win 10 Home



This is from intel support pages for your board
System memory features
The board has eight DIMM sockets and supports the following memory features:

1.35 V DDR3 SDRAM DIMMs (JEDEC Specification)
Four independent memory channels with interleaved mode support
Unbuffered, single-sided, or double-sided DIMMs with the following restriction: Double-sided DIMMs with x16 organization are not supported.
64 GB maximum total system memory (using 4 Gb memory technology).
Minimum total system memory: 1 GB using 512 MB x16 module
Non-ECC and ECC DIMMs
Serial Presence Detect
DDR3 2400 MHz, 2133 MHz, 1866 MHz, 1600 MHz, 1333 MHz, and 1066 MHz SDRAM DIMMs
XMP performance profile support for memory speeds above 1600 MHz
Full support for over clocking memory
DIMM slots are numbered in installation order

For full compliance with all applicable DDR SDRAM memory specifications, the board must use DIMMs that support the Serial Presence Detect (SPD) data structure. This allows the BIOS to read the SPD data and program the chipset to accurately configure memory settings for optimum performance.

1.5 V is the recommended and default setting for DDR3 memory voltage. The other memory voltage settings in the BIOS Setup program are provided for performance tuning purposes only. Altering the memory voltage may (i) reduce system stability and the useful life of the system, memory, and processor; (ii) cause the processor and other system components to fail; (iii) cause reductions in system performance; (iv) cause additional heat or other damage; and (v) affect system data integrity.

Intel has not tested and does not warranty the operation of the processor beyond its specifications. For information on the processor warranty, see the Processor Warranty Information.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-02-2012, 05:57 AM   #3
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Refer to your motherboard manual pages 12-13 and 42-43

• If you are installing four or fewer DIMMs, use the blue sockets.
gcavan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2012, 06:02 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by gcavan View Post
Refer to your motherboard manual pages 12-13 and 42-43

• If you are installing four or fewer DIMMs, use the blue sockets.
As above. ^
The Mobo manual, that should be read before building, will have the correct info and probably includes diagrams/pictures.



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No display when adding new RAM
I have an Acer M1641 Desktop and I bought a brand new RAM (which is 2GB DDR2-800 Kingston) to upgrade my existing one (which is 1GB DDR2-667 Samsung). My plan was to buy a RAM with the same frequency (DDR2-667) but It's difficult to find one, so I bought the DDR2-800. I asked the sales clerk if...
duomax03 RAM and Power Supply Support 13 12-04-2011 06:33 PM
my computer displays wrong amount of ram
i have a hp pavillion a6110n with Asus M2N68-LA motherboard ive had this computer for 3 years now and always thought i had just 1gb ram as i always see it when i check the task manager. so i decided to buy a 2gb ram that was recommended by crucial.com opened up my cpu and found out that each ram...
chidera RAM and Power Supply Support 0 06-17-2011 06:01 AM
I put in new RAM modules, and now my computer freezes out of the blue
I don't know why it freezes, because I already checked so that the modules match the motherboard. When the computer freezes, there is nothing left to do than to reset it, because the screen stops moving completely. Is it possible that the problem is coming from elsewhere? What should I do?
mikeg1 Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 11 06-15-2011 04:48 PM
Weird hardware failure. (Computer randomly reboots/shuts down possible RAM issue)
System: Windows 7 RAM (2 sticks): Corsair DDR2 XMS2 800MHz 2038MB MB: Asus M4A785-M CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 620 HD: W.D. Caviar Black WD5002AALX 500GB PSU: Logisys 550w PS550A_BK About a week ago, my computer just randomly went black, it randomly restarted itself, it continued to do so...
SnowBum Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 11 04-06-2011 08:21 PM
Motherboard does not accept 8GB RAM
I recently purchased GA-G41M-ES2L motherboards and ADATA DDR2 800MHz (2 x 4GB) 8GB memory sticks from Newegg. Here are the links for the product details: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211486 https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128388 ...
drkabir Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 01-29-2011 05:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts