Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Building

User Tag List

New to building high-end gaming rig...

This is a discussion on New to building high-end gaming rig... within the Building forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I am really new to custom building gaming pcs and I am in need of desperate help. For

Closed Thread

Old 01-15-2011, 08:22 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello all,

I am really new to custom building gaming pcs and I am in need of desperate help. For most of my life I have been purchasing pre-built pcs and after a major disappointment of performance and cost with my current Alienware pc, I am looking to attempt building my own. The downside, I am not very well informed on the ins-and-outs of all the modern hardware and the compatability of everything. I was hoping those of you who have far more knowledge of this than I do could help me put together a nice high-end gaming rig. I am open to suggestions, changes, being pointed in the right direction to do my own research, and since I am saving up a significant portion of my paychecks for this price isn't too big of an issue. In short; all help is greatly appreciated.

This is about as far as I got before I realized I should really ask for help:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.584411 - Processor and GPU

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811112261 - Case

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-318-_-Product - RAM

After finding these I realized I didn't know nearly enough about motherboards, hadrdrives, power supplies, cooling systems (I have heard good things about water cooling systems though I have no idea what brands are good or what to look for in a good system)...and I'm sure there are a bunch of other things I'm overlooking.