Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Building

User Tag List

GPU and motherboard not getting along.

This is a discussion on GPU and motherboard not getting along. within the Building forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently purchased the parts to assemble a new rig, but I ran into a snag. After I put all


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2011, 01:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win7



I recently purchased the parts to assemble a new rig, but I ran into a snag. After I put all the components in and turned the computer on, it would quickly turn on then right back off, and I wouldn't be able to turn it back on until I cut the power completely and then plugged in back in again.

So, I went through some basic troubleshooting, checking the CPU, RAM, etc. But I found that the GPU was causing the problem. I removed the GPU and the computer turns on just fine and goes through POST. Naturally, I assume the GPU is to blame then, and I plugged my old, fully functional GPU back in. Except the power went back to on and off immediately. I tried switching to the other PCI-E slot, as well. Nothing seems to work, and it appears that all PCI-E slots are preventing me from booting.

How do I go about making my computer turn on?

Mobo: Asus P7P55D-E Pro
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 6950
CPU: Intel Core i7-875K 2.93GHz Quad-core
RAM: G.SKILL 8GB (2x 4GB) 240-pin DDR3 1600
PSU: Seasonic SS-850HT 850W
Mogano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2011, 01:21 PM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,823
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Install the known good card, clear the CMOS, and then try to boot. If it still doesn't work, RMA the motherboard. It would appear to be faulty.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 02:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win7



Unfortunately the good card won't help for this because it still just turns back off before going through POST. I'm not sure if the PCI-E slots are just causing a short, because that's what it seems like. What's confusing me is how it goes through POST without a hitch as long as there's nothing in the PCI-E slots.

I'll ask a buddy of mine when he gets out of work, if not I'll just do an RMA and try again.
Mogano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2011, 03:03 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,063
OS: Win7



Using the integrated check the voltages in the Bios 12v, 5v, 3.3v. Excellent Power supply your using but it's best to check them.

What is the brand and model of the second card?

check in the Bios for the ability to set the integrated video to Disabled.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 03:06 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

try running the system on a bench build

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...em-171424.html

also; did you check to be sure your cpu is supported by your motherboard bios revision?
linderman is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 03:11 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,063
OS: Win7



Linderman's correct, you don't have integrated video so the board is not booting, just hanging on post because of no video when the card is removed.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 03:35 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win7



I will do a full bench test with the system to see if that will help. But since the mobo has no integrated video, if the system hangs on post during a bench test, would it be best ot assume that it's a faulty mobo and to do an RMA?
Mogano is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 03:59 PM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,063
OS: Win7



Do the bench test, with the video card installed, use 1 stick of ram only, if you have access to a 1 or 2 gig stick use that to test with.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 04:00 PM   #9
GZ
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,552
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Also, if you have access to a PCI video card, you can use that in place of the PCIe, in case there is a socket issue.
GZ is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 04:41 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mogano View Post
I will do a full bench test with the system to see if that will help. But since the mobo has no integrated video, if the system hangs on post during a bench test, would it be best ot assume that it's a faulty mobo and to do an RMA?

I am using the same mobo and have sold numerous of them; see many more "other" errors and memory problems more so than DOA boards

dont get things out of step / follow the bench guide ECACTLY dont skip or abbreviate any steps
linderman is offline  
Old 01-21-2011, 12:52 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win7



Did a bench test, exactly as the guide told me to and the same things happened. Even with a PCI GPU in, the same deal. It seems that all the PCI and PCI-E slots are responding the same way. I'm gonna do an RMA and if the next one does the same thing, I'll ask again.

I'll pupdate you all regardless of what happens. Thanks a bunch for all your help. Sometimes not everything works as well as it's supposed to.
Mogano is offline  
Old 01-21-2011, 06:15 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

yup ............rma that motherboatrd
linderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Sound Problem !!!
I have problem with no sound on my PC. It began after restarting. When I go to Device manager > Sound , video and game controllers I see yellow warning sign and when click on it ___Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)___...
damjanes Driver Support 8 01-21-2011 04:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts