Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

User Tag List

Monitor rocker switch got burned out?

This is a discussion on Monitor rocker switch got burned out? within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, I need your help. I have got a problem with my monitor as the power rocker switch got


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2020, 02:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Win 7 64bit



Hi all,

I need your help. I have got a problem with my monitor as the power rocker switch got burned out as it have happens in few months ago. When I switched on, it have only got very little screen lights come on and the led light didn't come on. I found it very strange as it was working at the other day.

However, yesterday I bought a second hand monitor on ebay that is exactly the same as mine, so I can use it for a spare. I have removed the rocker switch plug from the second hand monitor to plug them onto my old monitor to see if the problem is caused by my old rocker switch so guess what?

My old monitor are still working fine. The screen lights and the led lights have come on with no problem. I have tested my rocker switch onto the second hand monitor and the screen lights and the led light did came on for few seconds before it went off. I have checked the switch and usually when you switch it on and off, it should be hard but on mine it goes soft. I smelt the burned when I used the monitor before it got stop working.

I don't really understand how the rocker switch got burned out. I guess that it could be the lifetime that got over 10,000 hours or if there is a short circuit somewhere on the power board. I have looking on my monitor power board and I found that there is no capacitors are blown, everything is looking normal.

Do you know why the rocker switch got burned out?

Do you think if something to do with lifetime how long the rocker switch can last for or do you think there is a short circuit somewhere on the power board?

I would need to buy a new black rocker switch with 6A 250ACV (10 A - 125 VAC). Do you know where I can get one from?

Thanks in advance.
chris0147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2020, 04:36 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 12,924
OS: windows 10

My System


you can google it https://www.google.com/search?sxsrf=...=1579044886823


EDIT: when posting on another site you should link to it so people helping you don't have to waste their time searching what someone else has already posted.
https://www.sevenforums.com/hardware...urned-out.html
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts