Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

User Tag List

Kingston Data Traveller = no show

This is a discussion on Kingston Data Traveller = no show within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Greetings; This critter suddenly is not showing up when I plug it into my computer. My Sandisk, & Silicon Plus


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2011, 10:47 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
OS: WIN XP PRO SP3



Greetings;
This critter suddenly is not showing up when I plug it into my computer. My Sandisk, & Silicon Plus show up just fine, so do my SDHC cards, off board HD, & MP3's.
Just this beastie isn't even identified as being plugged in. It's if have not put anything there.

I have some important data on this thing (DTI 8GB). The shop I bought it at claimed that Kingston is more reliable than Sandisk (hmmmmmphf)


Any ideas?
Thank you
obeyone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2011, 12:11 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


Hi, welcome to TSF

If you're using a hub, try a direct port instead. Test it in all ports in case the one you're using is faulty. And finally, test it in another computer to see if the stick is faulty.
koala is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 04:58 PM   #3
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,823
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


They are cheap, disposable media meant for easily moving data from location to location, not for storage of important data.

I agree, test in another PC. But if it's not recognized, there isn't anything that you can do.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2011, 04:12 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
OS: WIN XP PRO SP3



Well here it wasn't so cheap only at bit less than Sandisk or Silicon Power & it is branded as having a 5 year warranty, so I thought it could be depended upon. I tried "USBDview" & it didn't show up with that either.
sigh....

Thanks to all or you for replies
obeyone is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 06:25 PM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,823
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


If they were always connected (ie: not moved), they would likely well exceed any warranty. But they are subject to numerous kinds of damage while being moved about, and damage can also occur simply plugging into and removing from the PC (ie: static).

If it's under warranty, have it replaced. My main point being usage (ie: MOVING data). So the files should still be intact on the source PC. And you should always have more than ONE copy of important data. BACKUP - this can't be stressed enough and no one seems to listen until they have had to deal with data loss.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infections / Malware / rundll32.exe error
My computer was last used by someone to download games and watch videos on the internet. The next thing I know, there were pop-ups. I am constantly getting these fake spyware removal pop ups. I tried going into control panel/add-remove programs and I get a 'rundll32.exe' error message. I used...
6one9 Resolved HJT Threads 54 05-16-2011 06:06 AM
I know something is wrong..part two...
I previously posted a thread titled "I know something is wrong" but I came back and the thread is closed. Not sure why...but this is what it said. I just have no idea what it could be. I've posted about issues with this computer before but I thought I had things taken care of. Now, it's...
CleverSleazoid Windows XP Support 13 05-01-2011 01:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts