Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

User Tag List

Is something wrong with my psu?

This is a discussion on Is something wrong with my psu? within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey people. My psu recently died. My old PSU (zalman 600-p) started whistling and only way I could turn on

Closed Thread

Old 03-23-2012, 10:43 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hey people.

My psu recently died. My old PSU (zalman 600-p) started whistling and only way I could turn on my computer was to switch the power off and on and wait five seconds, but now tha doesn't work as my computers LED blinks and its fans turn and wouldn't turn.

So I bought a new psu made by silverstone. (Sst-st50f-p) 500watts.
I'm pretty new to these whole psu thing so forgive me if I got any terms wrong. And I will probably need simple explanations without any terms that may be difficult for me to understand.

So my problem is after I installed the new psu, my computer LED would flash for half a second and turn off. Meanwhile LED Next to my power button blinks in a stable manner (stable pattern). My motherboard have solid green light, no blinking or anythibg.
So my computer in general receives power for half a second and turns off.
Even my rear case fan turns for half a second and stops. (Other fans wouldn't budge at all though. Not even the PSU fan)

This is how I installed my psu. Since I know not of any specific terms for them I will just name what it says on the psu.

EPS 8 pin is connected to motherboard cpu connector which is 4 pin. (4 pin head is labeled 'PCI-2" or "H/0" or something. This connector also has another 4 pin head, which doesn't fit into the motherboard at all.)
8 pin pcie is connected to two 6 pin to gtx 560 nvidia gpu. One pcie connector has two six pin heads, which are both connected to the GPU.
6 pin IDE/SATA is connected to 2 hard drives.

Am I doing something wrong?