Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

User Tag List

Acer Monitor Quit

This is a discussion on Acer Monitor Quit within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Minor power glitch that we have lots of, not a surge, just out then right back. Acer Monitor tries to


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2020, 10:55 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Minor power glitch that we have lots of, not a surge, just out then right back. Acer Monitor tries to come on, Blue LED on power button lights, screen backlight comes on, then off again. No Acer logo/splash. Repeats in loop. Used to be on a UPS, but not currently.

Scan of PSU is attached. Any way to test this? Chances of it being the PSU vs. the monitor itself? I think I have another 19V 2A PSU somewhere, but no sense digging for it until I get some feedback. Found one that has the same ratings, but I think the center pin is a bit larger and may not make contact.

I know I can use a simple VOM, but will that tell me if it works under load of the monitor. Not sure that makes sense. Kind of irritated over several things right now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AcerMonitorPS.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	325306  
Confounded Also is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2020, 01:42 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,016
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


The surge could have caused any number of things. If suggestions here don't help, all the computer components will need bench testing. I doubt it's a faulty monitor.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 08:17 AM   #3
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Monitor should power up even with the computer off or with no connection at all. You would typically then just see the "no input signal" message and it would go into power save mode.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2020, 10:38 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Turned out to be the pictured PSU brick. Found another with the same ratings and pin. Monitor is now working fine.
Confounded Also is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts