Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] ATI Radeon 9000 INF Error

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] ATI Radeon 9000 INF Error within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have a Radeon 9000 PCI graphics card. I installed the driver using the CD that came with it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2010, 10:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Hello,
I have a Radeon 9000 PCI graphics card. I installed the driver using the CD that came with it and now want to update the driver and install Catalyst Control Centre.
I downloaded the latest driver from:
https://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx
and ran the .exe file.
After clicking custom installation etc. and error popped up saying

Severe
INF error
Video Driver not found.

After pressing OK another error came saying

Severe
Setup was unable to complete the installation.
Try to setup your display adapter with a standard VGA driver before running setup.

Then I press OK and the installation closes.
Both error screenshots are attached.

My PC specs are as follows:

Microsoft Windows XP
Professional
Version 2002
Service Pack 3

Intel(R)
Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
2.79GHz, 504 MB of RAM

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks Rob
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Standard VGA.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	162.1 KB
ID:	69473   Click image for larger version

Name:	INF Error.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	158.6 KB
ID:	69474  
rob.tomas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2010, 07:58 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,666
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


Update the drivers first before installing catalyst. Also make sure your installing catalyst 6.11.
emosun is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 07:37 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System

I don't understand how to update driver but not install catalyst at the same time.
When I download driver from https://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...rer300-xp.aspx it comes with both display driver and Catalyst Control Centre 6.11.
Which means I cannot update or install Catalyst Control Centre.
Thanks Rob

UPDATE
I now do not have any display driver installed and have to use my standard inbuilt graphics. Same error occurs when trying to install drivers from CD and AMD website.
rob.tomas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2010, 10:06 PM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,666
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


You can search for the latest drivers by simply updating it with windows and it search for and use the latest w/o installing catalyst. Catalyst is just an add on program for ati cards and doesn't have to be installed for the card to run.
emosun is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 04:31 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System

When I update using device manager an error occurs.
I have an image attached showing the error.
Thanks Rob

Is anyone gonna reply
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cannot Install this Hardware.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	69552  
rob.tomas is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:38 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



in the device manager uninstall the video card
reboot tapping f8 and choose vga mode
when windows finishes rebooting
disable a/virus
install your drivers
reboot the computer



dai is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 09:39 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System

Hello,
When rebooting I press F8 and nothing happens.
Any more help would be great.
PS. I managed to install catalyst control centre but not luck with display driver.

UPDATE
I got the driver to somehow work and was able to use my graphics card for display.
Then I restarted my PC and the screen stayed blank so I moved the VGA Plug back to default motherboard graphics and then I could see that it was back to normal with no driver.
rob.tomas is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 12:38 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



you need to keep tapping f8 as soon as you start

changing from onboard to a card

boot from the onboard
in the device manager disable the onboard
if the card is listed uninstall it
turn the computer off
install the card
change the video cable from the onboard to the card
reboot into the bios
check to see if you can disable the onboard in there and set it to detect agp or pcie first
save and exit the bios tapping f8 and choose vga mode
when windows finishes booting
disable a/virus
install your drivers for the card
reboot the computer



dai is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 01:37 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


We have a few problems.
1. I do not understand how to install the card while the computer is turned off.
2. When I reboot with the cable in the graphics card I cannot see anything as the card is not installed.
3. To access BIOS you have to press DEL and my keyboard does not work until the computer is fully booted.

It seems I run into more problems as we go on.
Help would be appreciated
Thanks
rob.tomas is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:40 AM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



that's why you go into vga mode so you get a screen to see what you are doing

in the bios enable usb on boot,save and exit and your keyboard should work on boot instead of waiting for windows to come up



dai is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 03:49 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


I put the PC's boot priority thing to PCI Slot instead of Onboard and was able to access BIOS with the cable in PCI Card. I disabled Onboard and all the rest and then exit and saved.
When starting to reboot after exit and save I continuously tapped F8 but it still didn't do anything.
After trying to press F8 with no success the PC booted as normal except when I get to the Microsoft Windows XP loading page before you can see your desktop it finished loading and stays on a black screen.
I then swap the cable to Onboard which somehow works and the after swapping cable to Onboard I swap back to PCI card and it works except there are no drivers installed and I have to continuously swap to get it to work which is not an option everytime I boot.
rob.tomas is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 03:52 AM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



are you using a usb keyboard



dai is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 04:17 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


yes and i was able to enter bios pressing delete key so the keyboard does work
rob.tomas is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 06:09 AM   #14
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



can you access safe mode



dai is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 05:24 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System

well i have to tap f8 to get to safe mode so i will keep trying and post back with results

ok tapping or holding F8 i managed to get to the screen where it tells you to select safe mode or normal mode etc, but my arrow keys do not work to make a selection and the timer runs out and it boots normally
i also such off the power while running windows and then when i boot it automatically takes me to the same screen but i still can use arrow keys.
rob.tomas is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 12:26 AM   #16
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



in windows in the run box type
msconfig

and press enter

tick the box to boot into safe mode

install the drivers

reboot

then go back and untick the safe mode box

then see where you are at and we can proceed from there



dai is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 01:58 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


i managed to get into safe mode using ms config but when trying to install drivers using device manager and driver downloaded from website the same errors occurred from the first few posts
rob.tomas is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 11:32 AM   #18
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



power supply
brand
model
wattage

run sfc /scannow

d/load and run the h/drive makers diagnostic utility on the h/drive

https://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287

if it comes up clear run

chkdsk /r



dai is offline  
Old 04-26-2010, 01:23 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


about the power supply here are some details about it
tt
atx-400
400W
Pentium 4

still running test at the moment will post back when finished
rob.tomas is offline  
Old 04-26-2010, 02:47 AM   #20
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



is the card pci or pcie



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts