Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

use multiple speakers on same sound card

This is a discussion on use multiple speakers on same sound card within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I want to enable multiple speakers/device on same sound. I use a sound bar as main sound output for PC.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2015, 03:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
OS: vista



I want to enable multiple speakers/device on same sound. I use a sound bar as main sound output for PC. I originally had a set of analog speakers and now I want to used speakers and sound bar at same time, and enable headphone. is that possible?
citrix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2015, 04:18 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Canceled 01/11/16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 184
OS:



There is software for this kind of thing. Look for realtek hd audio manager.



======================================



Infinity contains more than you think.
Everything, for a start. (T.P.)

Katja
Canceled 01/11/16 is offline  
Old 11-27-2015, 05:06 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
OS: vista



yes. I have realtek audio manager installed and use that to control sounds, but it can only enable one output at a time.
citrix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2015, 05:13 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Canceled 01/11/16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 184
OS:



oh sorry, I didn't read the question right...TWO speakers....ohhhhh
I don't know the answer then, my guess is not, unless it is a sound card with two separate sound outputs? has it two output connections? In fact, I don't think I understand the question...

Well, I will be interested what the experts have to say. Good luck...


======================================



Infinity contains more than you think.
Everything, for a start. (T.P.)

Katja
Canceled 01/11/16 is offline  
Old 11-28-2015, 01:17 PM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Windows will only output audio to a single source at a time. Assuming they both use a 3.5mm plug, you could simply use a splitter cable. Connect the splitter to the PC output, one end to the sound bar and the other end to the speakers.

Or, the more obvious solution, assuming the sound card is surround capable, connect the sound bar to the front (green) port and the speakers to the rear (black) port and then configure the sound card accordingly.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 11-28-2015, 02:58 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
Windows will only output audio to a single source at a time. Assuming they both use a 3.5mm plug, you could simply use a splitter cable. Connect the splitter to the PC output, one end to the sound bar and the other end to the speakers.

Or, the more obvious solution, assuming the sound card is surround capable, connect the sound bar to the front (green) port and the speakers to the rear (black) port and then configure the sound card accordingly.

Sound bar is plugged on optical out, speaker is plugged on 3.5mm plug on green port, both are on motherboard output, no separate sound card, so they are on same sound card, different channel.
citrix is offline  
Old 11-28-2015, 03:36 PM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I think the splitter is the only way you can accomplish that. I use a head set with microphone that way with the speakers with a splitter off the green sound port on the back of the tower.
NeweggBusiness - Belkin F8V234 6" 6IN Y SPLITTER MINI STEREO 1 x Mini-phone Male, 2 x Mini-phone Female
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-29-2015, 01:31 PM   #8
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Then unless the sound bar has some sort of output for additional speakers, there isn't anything that you can do. Windows will only output to a single device (ie: port) and you can't split optical (even if the speakers had an optical input).
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 11-29-2015, 02:37 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
OS: vista



I followed a guide like this.



but I found out there is huge feedback treble sound in the background. The voice from sound bar come first then the same voice from speaker but 0.01 seconds slower. Like you shout out in a empty cave, your voice repeat to you.
citrix is offline  
Old 11-29-2015, 04:24 PM   #10
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


That's because the optical output is digital, so the audio is passed to the soundbar untouched. The analog speaker output is processed by the audio chipset, creating a delay. Unless the soundbar has a setting to adjust delay (which I doubt), I don't see that you can fix it.

Nice find by the way, I didn't realize stereo mix also worked with outputs in that way.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infected Laptop
My laptop has been taken over by a virus/trojan/malware. I visited a site that I thought would download a program to update my android version on my smart phone. I thought I removed the file but my wife went online to a site to order some products and answered a survey she thought the site was...
EPMailman Resolved HJT Threads 49 06-02-2015 10:47 AM
Pc won't boot with Creative sound card
Hi aLL..Firstly, i am so sorry for my English. One of my friends has a problem with a new bought Creative Sound card. VATAN COMPUTER - CREATIVE - SOUND BLASTER 5.1 PCI SES KARTI - OEM Muhtelif Kart If we don't use sound card, pc boots and we can reach to windows. If we plug sound card to...
mesuthaksoy Sound Cards 7 12-07-2011 04:47 PM
Connecting an external sound card to an Xbox 360
Hello guys, im new to this forum and I find it really helpfull I have the following dilema.. I have an Xbox 360 and a set of Logitech z506 speakers.. the speakers are made for computer audio cards, and the xbox only has hdmi and spdif audio out connections. i want to get true 5.1...
dajaal Console Gaming Support 0 11-22-2011 02:24 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts