Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

USB headset has no sound

This is a discussion on USB headset has no sound within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello there, I'm new so I hope this is the right category. Rough data first: I own an Asus X205TA


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2017, 01:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 10



Hello there,

I'm new so I hope this is the right category.
Rough data first:
I own an Asus X205TA netbook with Windows 10 and a Steelseries Siberia v2 (the USB one, with an integrated sound cart).
Problem: I can hear no sound.

It shows the headset in my sound devices, it is set to Default Device and it is enabled and not muted. The light on the headset is also working (I can change the light intensity and everything in the driver settings, no problem there). I installed all the latest drivers from Asus, Realtek and Steelseries, I tried enabling/disabling the different sound devices, uninstalled/reinstalled the drivers, even made a fresh Windows 10 install. Nothing seems to work.

When playing a video in my browser or using a media player the little bar on the right hand side in the sound tab does flash green, so apparently everything should be fine. My device manager does not show any errors and just states "The device is working properly".

I've tried both USB ports, all other USB devices work without any issues. Other headphones that I own (one Phillips headset and a pair of Panasonic in-ears) that use the 3,5 port also work as they should, so I guess it might be an issue with my netbook disliking the integrated Siberia v2 sound card. The headset works just fine on my desktop PC (which is also using Windows 10 and the Realtek drivers, though a different version).
I'm not particularly inexperienced when it comes to solving PC problems, but I just can't seem to find a solution to this one.

Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Please tell me if there is any more information you need and I shall try to provide it.

Thanks in advance,
raikiro
raikiro21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-15-2017, 02:11 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
JudgeDrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 16
OS: ALL Windows 7



From what I understand when it comes to headphones and sound output in general, USB ports don't output sound at all.

If it has a mic, it may work to input audio from your mic, but I don't think it works to output audio to your headset, in my experience.

Any headset I've ever tried never worked solely on USB. It always has to be plugged into the headphone output jack or through HDMI.

I might be wrong. That's just my knowledge of it.
JudgeDrey is offline  
Old 03-15-2017, 02:45 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 10



Thanks for the reply!
And I am 100% sure it does work with USB only. There is no other option and, like I said, it has been working that way with my desktop PC for quite some time
raikiro21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-15-2017, 04:17 PM   #4
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



Go to the device manager, with the headset connected, and RIGHT click on the entry for the headset. LEFT click "uninstall". Disconnect the headset from the PC and then restart the PC. After Windows starts, connect the headset and Windows should detect and install it.
steve32mids is offline  
Old 03-15-2017, 04:55 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 10



Thanks for the reply. As previously stated though, I've already tried installing the drivers again, and also exactly the way you're suggesting, by uninstalling with the headset being connected, restarting the PC, plugging back in. It does install the drivers again, recognizes the headset, but there still isn't any sound coming out of it.
raikiro21 is offline  
Old 03-16-2017, 09:45 AM   #6
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Is the headset set as the default playback device?
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 03-16-2017, 03:23 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 10



Thanks for the reply.
As it says in my first post, it is set as the default device. I tried setting the speakers to default and change it to the headset again, disabling/enabling both speakers and headset in all possible combinations. Still no sound.
raikiro21 is offline  
Old 03-18-2017, 07:20 AM   #8
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Sorry, just double checking.

USB devices don't use the onboard chipset drivers. They rely upon their own drivers/software. So the Realtek drivers should have no effect.

As you've reinstalled the drivers/software and performed a fresh install of the OS, I'm at a loss. Likely a Steelseries Siberia driver glitch. You may want to contact the manufacturer, either tech support of their forums (if they have any).
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 03-18-2017, 10:53 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 10



Not a problem!

I figured that it just might be an issue with the onboard sound card not liking the headsets' sound card, especially considering that it works just fine on my PC.
I guess I will try to contact Steelseries and/or Asus, they might provide further assistance.

If anyone else has any suggestions, please let me know. I will try to post an update if I find a solution.
raikiro21 is offline  
Old 03-22-2017, 10:03 AM   #10
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I've never had any issues with multiple audio chipsets. My last several motherboards have all had Realtek chipsets. In addition, for quite awhile I was using an Asus D2X Xonar card, and I've got a USB headset. Changing outputs was always just a matter of altering the Windows configuration.

If you want to test, you can go into Device Manager and disable the Realtek chipset and reboot. It should reboot with the chipset still disabled and you can check the audio configuration and test.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Installed USB Bluetooth Adapter; Now no sound anywhere
If I have posted this to the wrong topic, please let me know where it should be or just move it. I have an HP Pavillion laptop, model # 15-P214DX, with Windows 10. I just installed an Insignia USB Bluetooth Adapter, along with the recommended software. I want to use it with a Jabra Storm...
HDreier Laptop Support 3 08-23-2015 12:46 PM
[SOLVED] Can't access internet ..error 651
Because I was having problems getting past an onscreen message to boot up my granddaughter's laptop (Acer AS3810tz) I decided to install windows 7 ultimate over my old windows 7 home version. However, whilst the annoying popup message has now gone, I can't connect to my wifi broadband. I keep...
al shookup Networking Support 37 03-01-2015 04:31 AM
USB headset not working
Hello! I recently bought a Sades SA-903 USB headset and I can't get it to work. When I plug it in, the computer detects that a USB device has been attached, and the headset controls light up, but it doesn't actually work. I get the "USB Device not recognized" popup and in my Device Manager I see...
Solomaxwell6 Other Hardware Support 30 02-23-2015 10:25 PM
[SOLVED] My pc got slow !!!
Good day everybody. My pc is getting sometimes running slow, sometimes startup and running normal. I believe I have something wrong here and need help to get it back normal. Here is pc spec. :
sinan Windows 8, 8.1 Support 13 12-04-2014 05:31 PM
Removed xp security 2012 & sys32 -still having issues want to make sure it's all gone
Hi and thanks in advance for the help Dell dimension e520 Win XP media edition SP2 Have a Dell Win xp media edition reinstallation CD Malwarebytes and Avira antivir for security latest updates and scans show no infections Had an xp security 2012 infection and a sys32 virus after digging...
Zappafrank Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 214 01-09-2012 10:35 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts