Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

Trying to get speaker to play audio in Windows 7

This is a discussion on Trying to get speaker to play audio in Windows 7 within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This is the speaker I have Jam Alloy™ Wireless Stereo Speaker | Jam Audio Normally, I use a head set


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2016, 06:39 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


This is the speaker I have

Jam Alloy™ Wireless Stereo Speaker | Jam Audio

Normally, I use a head set with a microphone and headphones, but I have this (actually was a christmas present) in case I needed to play sound for someone else to hear for some reason.

It is primarily a bluetooth device and I'm not even sure if my computer is bluetooth compatible (where would the bluetooth hardware be located if it is? On the motherboard?) but I'm trying to set it up in windows 7.

When I plug it in via USB, it doesn't react at all, as if I never plugged it in. I have a device listed as "OTG 102" under Control Panel/Hardware and Sound/Devices and Printers, I'm not sure that it.

However when I plug it in via the audio jack, I do get a response. Real Tech HD audio manager appears, but I don't know what kind of speaker it is (it asks me what kind, a few different kinds of speaker- front speaker out,rear speaker out, center subwoofer speaker out, etc. I don't know what these mean)

The company says they don't make drivers for the device and their technician I talked to one the phone was not well trained and didn't know how to make it work in windows 7.
PC person is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2016, 08:00 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You can call that speaker a center front speaker. There should be an option in Realtek HD to not ask you each time, you can disable that if you want.

Chances are very slim that your motherboard came with a Bluetooth card. You can pick a USB one up here:

ASUS USB-BT400 USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter - Newegg.com
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 06-15-2016, 11:51 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
You can call that speaker a center front speaker. There should be an option in Realtek HD to not ask you each time, you can disable that if you want.

Chances are very slim that your motherboard came with a Bluetooth card. You can pick a USB one up here:

ASUS USB-BT400 USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter - Newegg.com
Ok, it's set as the front speaker, now I have to figure out how to get sound out of it. I went to hardware and sound/manage audio devices, it shows up there as Speakers- Realtec High Defintiion Audio (but there is also something called Realtek digital output, right clicked and and ran test- didn't hear anything out of the speaker.
PC person is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2016, 02:34 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Go to the speaker icon found in the bottom right. Right click it to select the Playback options. Try setting the speaker to the default option.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 06-16-2016, 07:36 AM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


User Manual can be found here: https://www.jamaudio.com/media/docume...P560_EN_IB.pdf

It appears the USB is for power only.

In Windows you would select "front speaker out" as that unit appears to handle stereo audio input.

Front = standard stereo audio output
rear = surround audio output
center = the front center speaker for a surround sound system
sub = the sub woofer output for a surround sound system

As noted above, simply set the speaker as the default audio output device.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Local Area Connection, doesn't have a valid IP configuration
A little preface before I get into my problem. Last night my friend and I were looking to play a game together. After some research and so forth, we determined that Hamachi was the way to play. So we installed and began to play. Fast forward to this morning, and suddenly my ethernet cable no longer...
TTunnell Networking Support 26 05-22-2014 12:04 AM
ESET threats
In earlier message, and in continuation of another thread on another conmuter I started a thread stating that having tried ESET it had found a number of threats which i will mention at the end. meanwhile I ran DDS abnd will add the the logs. Gmer found rootkit activity but when I ran the scan on...
qimqim Inactive Malware Help Topics 13 12-13-2013 07:22 PM
Happili Virus Redirect
Hello: I've been hit with the Happili virus where it redirects me when I conduct a google search. Attached is the GMER and TDSS files. Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you. -ttvr4
ttvr4 Resolved HJT Threads 14 05-15-2012 11:47 AM
Suspected Malware In Neighbors Computer
I originally went to fix his printer but I think that is being affected by malware. The things I think are fishy is whitesmoke toolbar and something called yontoo. I ran his antivirus and cleaned up what it found. Windows install CD is a no for now, I have asked him if he has it and but he is...
kmssd Resolved HJT Threads 20 01-03-2012 07:44 PM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts