Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Sound Blaster Audigy

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Sound Blaster Audigy within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to resolve a problem for a friend of mine who is less techy then I am. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2015, 04:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 17
OS: windows 10


Post

I am trying to resolve a problem for a friend of mine who is less techy then I am. I have built a few computers and I've ran into this same problem he has but I can't remember the solution nor can I google hard enough to find the solution.

The problem is he has a Sound Blaster Audigy that will not function correctly because it is missing a cable that plugs in to a patch of four pins on the end of the card. I don't know which cable to purchase or even what to search for. I have browsed TigerDirect.com with no avail and would very much appriciate some well needed help from the more advanced tech savy. Thanks.
Liachem II is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2015, 04:42 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


Hi

is this the cable you are looking for that goes to sound card to the cd/dvd rom drive? MPC to MPC (4-pin to 4-pin) Audio CD-ROM Cable w/ 4 Wires for Computers Audio Cable- Directron
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 06-10-2015, 08:22 AM   #3
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


What exactly isn't working? I've used several Audigy cards and no extra cables were necessary.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-10-2015, 02:34 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 17
OS: windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by oscer1 View Post
Hi

is this the cable you are looking for that goes to sound card to the cd/dvd rom drive? MPC to MPC (4-pin to 4-pin) Audio CD-ROM Cable w/ 4 Wires for Computers Audio Cable- Directron
That could possibly be it...

I think its supposed to be a power cable though that plugs into the motherboard. I know the card should utilize power naturally from the mother board since its in a PCI slot. However, there is no sound when you power up the computer. The card is brand new as well I took it out of the box myself.
Liachem II is offline  
Old 06-10-2015, 03:26 PM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


i have not seen or heard of a power cable to a sound card. you might need to disable the integrated sound in bios and make sure you are plugging the speakers in the sound card ports. did the driver install? any marks next to anything in device manager? can you post a screen shot of device manager with the sound tree expanded. also check you have the default play back device set to the card.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 06-11-2015, 08:30 AM   #6
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Just a note, while not common, some cards do need power, although again, not the Audigy line that I'm aware.

My Asus Xonar D2X has external power.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-11-2015, 08:35 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 17
OS: windows 10



Thanks for your suggestions. I'll try them out. The BIOS might be the problem.
Liachem II is offline  
Old 06-11-2015, 03:58 PM   #8
Troubled
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
OS: Windows 7



Those power cables were needed sometimes during the Windows 98/98SE era but moving onward from about 2001 they were not needed with soundcards, and like one poster above mentions there are a few exceptions with a few high end sound cards nowdays like the higher end Xonar series, though my own Xonar DGX does not use a cable other than front port case hookup.

Besides your bios you might simply try re-seating the card or another slot as well if you have one available.
BowHunter41 is offline  
Old 06-11-2015, 08:41 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 17
OS: windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by BowHunter41 View Post
Those power cables were needed sometimes during the Windows 98/98SE era but moving onward from about 2001 they were not needed with soundcards, and like one poster above mentions there are a few exceptions with a few high end sound cards nowdays like the higher end Xonar series, though my own Xonar DGX does not use a cable other than front port case hookup.

Besides your bios you might simply try re-seating the card or another slot as well if you have one available.
The MoBo is a Intel Desktop Board D875PBZ if that is any help to anyone. I have got a chance to trouble shoot anything yet, thanks for all the info though.
Liachem II is offline  
Old 06-12-2015, 07:34 AM   #10
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I doubt it's the BIOS. Windows will support multiple sound cards without issue. More likely a config or connection issue.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-12-2015, 08:15 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 17
OS: windows 10



He's running windows XP SP3 on this old timer, if thats any help.
Liachem II is offline  
Old 06-12-2015, 05:20 PM   #12
Troubled
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
OS: Windows 7



Actually it's really not about the bios (per say) but the motherboards native ability to handle a soundcard on an antiquated operating system with a particular bios layout and how IRQ allocation were handled back in those days. So in effect sometimes on these units disabling any type of onboard sound in the bios was needed. Depended on the board. Most didn't need that for any add in sound card to work correctly.

The above noted motherboard should be fine though, even running XP.

I would tend to think JimE with the connection or configuration issue is likely correct.
BowHunter41 is offline  
Old 06-14-2015, 02:29 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 17
OS: windows 10



I got it working without any extra cables or disabling the on-board sound. Thanks guys!
Liachem II is offline  
Old 06-14-2015, 02:32 PM   #14
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


Your welcome can you tell how you got it working so could help others looking will know what todo.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 06-15-2015, 06:57 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 17
OS: windows 10



Honestly, it wasnt anything to weird. The computer was loaded with Malware/Adware/Trojans which would clump the computer up when you tried to install the drivers for the Sound Card. I ran virus scan's with different programs, such as, malware bytes pro, AVG (Free), Webroot, Ad-Aware. Once I removed everything that was slowing the computers down, the drivers installed without a problem. :) Odd solution but it worked.

I did NOT have to disable my BIOS on board sound and the card DID NOT need an extra cable.
Liachem II is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very strange no sound problem
Hello, I'm gonna try to keep this as sketched as possible. So, this is the problem: -I bought this HP 625 Notebook a while ago. It was new. -I installed all the drivers needed from this site: HP 625 Notebook PC*-* Download drivers and software - HP Business Support Center (It is the site...
Nizuto Windows XP Support 3 01-07-2012 02:47 AM
Creative Sound Blaster World of Warcraft headset
Hi folks! I was wondering if anyone knew, can a set of Creative Sound Blaster World of Warcraft headphones (the non-wireless ones) be made wireless? I (foolishly) bought a pair of Amazon without reading properly and thinking they were the wireless version, but apparently not. Is there some sort...
Mr. AZ PC Gaming Support 1 06-23-2011 09:37 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts