Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

[SOLVED] New computer, weird sound issue

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] New computer, weird sound issue within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I bought a new custom-built computer last week. It's equipped with a Gigabyte Sniper Z97 motherboard, which uses a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2015, 09:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit


Question

Hi,

I bought a new custom-built computer last week. It's equipped with a Gigabyte Sniper Z97 motherboard, which uses a sound blaster recon 3di sound card.

I installed all drivers from the CD, and updated them from the Gigabyte website. I checked the device manager, and there are no hardware/driver conflicts anywhere.

The issue is that the sound changes in volume, and some sounds are like they're coming from a cave, or another room. While playing games, some sounds (like voices) appear muted, which the soundtrack playing at the same time sounds fine. Sometimes this effect depends on the direction the sound is coming from. Characters standing behind you will sound fine, while you can barely hear the ones standing right in front of you. But it's not just games. It happens in youtube too, for example.

I read about other people having issues with this hardware, (Sound Blaster Recon3Di on Gigabyte Z87 Sniper, volume problem), so I'm not the only one. Any advice? Is this issue software-side, or is my hardware defective?

I'll post the specs as soon as I get home from work. And attach dxdiag if you want.
MentalParadox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2015, 09:42 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


You mentioned updating MOBO drivers. What about the sound card's? Headphone plug-in (or out) changes set-up to 5.1, full range speakers, 24 bit, 48 kHz playback from your setting.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 06-09-2015, 02:04 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
You mentioned updating MOBO drivers. What about the sound card's? Headphone plug-in (or out) changes set-up to 5.1, full range speakers, 24 bit, 48 kHz playback from your setting.
I installed sound card drivers from the Gigabyte website, yes. The sound card is installed on the motherboard by default.

Funny you should mention the 5.1 thing. The sound problem depending on direction in games makes me think it has something to do with surround sound, and my speakers not supporting it. How do I check this?
MentalParadox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2015, 02:46 PM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Go here to get the complete Owners Manual in PDF: Creative Worldwide Support
All settings are listed. Also, there was a product update.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 06-10-2015, 08:21 AM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Sounds more like a config issue. Such as using a fake surround mode or some sort of surround enhancement.

You can test you speaker setup using the speaker test in the audio control panel. It will play audio to each speaker.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-10-2015, 09:19 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
Sounds more like a config issue. Such as using a fake surround mode or some sort of surround enhancement.

You can test you speaker setup using the speaker test in the audio control panel. It will play audio to each speaker.
I checked the settings. Looks like it was set up for a full surround system with subwoofer and all that other nonsense, but I only have a cheap left-right speaker. I set it up correctly now and will test it ASAP.
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 06-11-2015, 10:04 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



That seems to have worked. Thanks all!
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 06-12-2015, 07:32 AM   #8
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


You're welcome. Have a great weekend.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suspect virus that is undetected
It seems that IE 8 is not loading pages well. As I navigate through websites, I get stuttering and have to wait for the page to load. I am getting many instances where I have unresponsive pages. This is escalating to 10 or more times a day and on various websites. A couple of days ago, I...
Ladysmith94 Resolved HJT Threads 58 09-22-2013 07:56 AM
Incredibly Strange No Sound Issue
So...I think I've been working on a possessed laptop for a user at work. I'm experiencing the strangest problem with it. Originally HP had come out to replace the motherboard for this user. The sound worked fine prior to the replacement, but after the replacement the touchpad didn't work, and the...
tim19889 Sound Cards 3 07-12-2013 03:36 PM
Re: Hacker has targeted a folder-all EXE's
This post refers to my Vista System only. The problem I am experiencing with the EXE's is that when I try to run one in my Dropbox folder or subfolders, I either get the CMD line message "Access denied - c:\users\jxx\appdata\local\temp\ztmp 'C:users\jxx\appdata\local\temp\ztemp\tmpnnnn.bat (where n...
pbone_tsf Resolved HJT Threads 40 05-22-2013 05:35 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts