Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

routing sound to external speakers - not monitor speakers

This is a discussion on routing sound to external speakers - not monitor speakers within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, I just installed TuneBite, and then uninstalled it (long story!), and now suddenly, all sound from my computer


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2007, 01:14 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
OS:



Hi all,

I just installed TuneBite, and then uninstalled it (long story!), and now suddenly, all sound from my computer is coming out of the inbuilt monitors on the screen rather than through my soundcard to my hi-fi as it had been before.

I've been fiddling with every (I think) possible setting in the soundcard (M-Audio Delta), as well as looking at all the sound options under System, but can't figure out how to get the sound back as it was: through the hi-fi.

Is this a setting in my soundcard that I'm looking for, or am I on the wrong track? :-)

Any help most appreciated.
fructose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2007, 05:30 PM   #2
smz
Hardware Tech Specialist
 
smz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 705
OS: Mac OS X / W2K3 Server / XP Home/MCE/Pro / Vista Ultimate / Ubuntu Linux

My System

Send a message via ICQ to smz Send a message via AIM to smz Send a message via MSN to smz Send a message via Yahoo to smz Send a message via Skype™ to smz

Do you only have one sound card total?

One thing software apps can do is definite what jack does what on onboard sound card solutions especially.

Like my realtek onboard can map different outputs to different jacks. So a line in jack may transmit to a surround sound enabled configuration instead of accepting an input. Same goes for the center speaker. Heck, if 5.1 was enabled. Good chance only that center speaker is going to get any juice. Check to see if a 3rd party app and not the windows mixer was installed for your delta card and look for a diagram of you configuration or better yet look for a sound demo or tester. Creative makes one that identifies each speaker such as "left front, center, right front, etc)

without knowing anything about your exact sound card, I am giving you basic things to look out for. in rare circumstances, soundcards may have an output for internal line out and internet speaker amp out. meaning, the output may have an internal amp driving a little power for those really old speakers that used to run on batteries or nothing at all. This is generally only the case on a very old system.
smz is offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 05:57 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
OS:



Thanks for your help

I've only got one soundcard installed, yes. (Unless the default little thing that came with the computer counts)

I'm afraid I'm too ignorant to make much of your advice, however...

How do I go about checking if there's some 3rd party app...?

As for a configuration diagrams, as I haven't changed any cables around, is it necessary?
Wouldn't it simply be some setting somewhere?

Thanks.
fructose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2007, 06:44 PM   #4
smz
Hardware Tech Specialist
 
smz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 705
OS: Mac OS X / W2K3 Server / XP Home/MCE/Pro / Vista Ultimate / Ubuntu Linux

My System

Send a message via ICQ to smz Send a message via AIM to smz Send a message via MSN to smz Send a message via Yahoo to smz Send a message via Skype™ to smz

thing is, like with the realtek app, you can assign what mode you want your speaker config in. if it's just two channel stereo it's alot different then a 5.1 setup. It's not a matter of changing jacks, it's a matter of what the sound card driver/app is mapping the output to. Generally the third party apps will reside in the tray and emulate the look of a speaker. sometimes they will also turn off the integrated windows speaker that links to the mixer. I know in task manager you can see if you have such an app running the backround as it most likely will read something with RTL in it. My app used more than 20mb of ram if that's any help. Though it did reside in the system tray. Sorry if I'm not too good at explaining things in laymans terms.
smz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sound from laptop speakers
Hi, Yesterday I was playing a game on my laptop, using earphones as the other half was watching tv, the sound was absolutely fine. Now I turn on the laptop this morning and there is no sound from the on-board speakers, but there is still sound if you plug headphones in. I have used...
marchez Sound Cards 4 06-27-2008 06:06 AM
RESOLVED No sound emachines t3100
Hello. I recently formatted and restored (using the factory restore disks) an emachines t3100, running Windows ME, and now I'm getting no sound. I'm using a compaq monitor (fs740) from a Compaq Presario 5000us with speakers mounted on the side. So here's the situation. The drivers, I...
aggravated Sound Cards 3 02-09-2007 11:27 PM
XP Home Restarting
I have an emachines T1100 that keeps restarting. It doesn't restart at the same time though. I turned off the automatic restart and got the blue screen but I don't know what to do next. The blue screen said: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR EQUAL ...
algirard8 Windows XP Support 5 08-08-2006 11:22 AM
surrond sound right speakers not working
windows xp system with logitech dolby digital surrond sound speakers.... they moved and i hooked up the system and all was well until about 2 weeks later when the sound stopped working..... it reinstalled the sound card driver and got the sound back..... the problem is that there is no sound on the...
mm18223125 Other Hardware Support 5 07-08-2006 10:09 AM
Sound (?) Problem
I've been having this problem for a while now and I can't really take it anymore. I have little hope that anyone will be able to help me with it, but it's worth a shot. Okay so... Sometimes my sound randomly dies. This only happens, as far as I can see, when I am playing mp3s. Not only will the...
synonymous Windows XP Support 2 12-25-2005 08:49 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts