Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

No sounds windows 10

This is a discussion on No sounds windows 10 within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I got this problem yesterday when I booted up laptop. There is no speakers available. I have built-in speakers in


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2017, 09:09 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 10


Post

I got this problem yesterday when I booted up laptop. There is no speakers available. I have built-in speakers in my laptop and when I put headphones in the jack there was no reaction. Still the same message "No speakers or headphones are plugged in." I tried to troubleshoot but there was only these options available. There was not any realtek drivers in device manager. but I had the realtek driver in programs and features. I unistalled it with CCleaner and downloaded newest realtek drivers and installed it, when it asked to restart I restarted. It worked and I had my speakers working. When I put my laptop to sleep mode, the problem reappeared.
Edit: This is what I see when I open playback devices https://gyazo.com/51b3620ee8a41ccb9f14a63aff635286
Ihaterealtek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2017, 10:48 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

Reinstall the speaker drivers, but this time check and make sure that you are running the installer as an administrator.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 01-14-2017, 02:22 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 10



Thanks for the reply. I tried that with the newest version of realtek drivers from their website and with the drivers I found from my manufacturers website specified for my laptop. Unfortunately nothing changed and the problem remains.
Ihaterealtek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2017, 10:52 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


It sounds like something is uninstalling it when booting up. Reinstall it and then perform a clean boot:

Perform Clean Boot in Windows 10/8/7
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 01-15-2017, 11:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 10



Whenever I try to do those things in msconfig, I hit apply and OK. Then it asks to restart and I do, after restart I go back to msconfig the settings are back to the way they were before. Also if I don't restart after hitting OK and I go back to msconfig, the settings are back. Also I tried to run msconfig with adminisator
Ihaterealtek is offline  
Old 01-15-2017, 11:43 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Up until you said no settings hold it sounded like there is a setting inside the realtek soundcard to allow power management to suspend soundcard and I would bet that is there, however this sounds more like a small cmos battery on the motherboard if there, needs to be replaced. Although is the time and date correct in the taskbar? If yes then maybe you failed to hit "apply" and "ok" when you went to change the settings.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 01-19-2017, 12:37 PM   #7
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


What is the status of the audio chipset in Device Manager?

Also, the only recommended place to get drivers for a laptop is directly from the laptop manufacturer.
__________________
Jim

JimE is online now  
Old 01-19-2017, 09:48 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 10


The problem was the Cmos. It's being replaced right now, I tried it myself but couldn't locate it. Thanks for the help everyone!
Ihaterealtek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Local Area Connection, doesn't have a valid IP configuration
A little preface before I get into my problem. Last night my friend and I were looking to play a game together. After some research and so forth, we determined that Hamachi was the way to play. So we installed and began to play. Fast forward to this morning, and suddenly my ethernet cable no longer...
TTunnell Networking Support 26 05-22-2014 12:04 AM
Help..xp bsod when i run virus scan.
Hi, this is Troy, i have windows xp with sp3 and i everytime i run a virus scan and have run multiple kinds from windows to maleware bytes...you name it. I get to a point in the scan where i get a blue screen and then computer shuts down. When i run it with out doing a scan the computer stays on....
sootherlol Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 02-18-2013 05:31 PM
Windows XP PC unable to access internet or copy files
Hi - I have a Dell slimline PC running Windows XP that is slowly losing all functionality. I cannot load IE, Chrome has a message ERR 138 (Access Denied). I am unable to copy files from a USB stick and cannot remove certain programs (er McAfee) using the Add / Remove program utility. :facepalm: ...
NDWales Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 54 07-15-2012 03:19 PM
Probably Phished; Avira scans incomplete; Winpatrol stalls while"verifying startup pr
Hi there, E here. Probably got Phished while signing into redbox.com located via google search vice saved link :( Multiple Avira scans incomplete; Winpatrol stalls while "verifying startup programs" forcing reboot; linking attach.zip to post also froze pc requiring reboot. 2nd attempt at...
ebernheisel Resolved HJT Threads 50 09-29-2011 11:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts