Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

No Sound even though computer says device is working

This is a discussion on No Sound even though computer says device is working within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I just finished installing Win 7 Pro on a laptop that used to be Win XP. It appears that


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2016, 12:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Hi, I just finished installing Win 7 Pro on a laptop that used to be Win XP.

It appears that all the drivers are installed, even the sound card driver says "this device is working properly", but I can't hear any sounds coming out of the laptop at all. When I plug in a head phone, there is still no sound.

If I was to go to Windows Media Player and play some music it would act as if it were playing but, I don't hear anything.

I have tried looking for, and updating the driver but every time I do, it says that it already has the best driver installed. Although the actual sound card is "SoundMAX integrated HD Audio" and the driver showing in Device Manager has a generic name, "High Definition Audio Device".

One other thing I have noticed just by looking at other computers in our house, is that if you go to "control panel", "sound", "playback tab" there is only one item in the list and it is not speakers, it is a pic of an audio device. It does have a green check mark, but there is not a speaker pic.

Does anyone have any ideas about what I can do to get some sound out of this laptop?

Thanks
computersrkool
computersrkool is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2016, 04:07 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


hi one thing I would check to see if audio is enabled in the bios.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 04-06-2016, 06:35 AM   #3
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


First and foremost, the only drivers recommended for a laptop are those provided by the laptop manufacturer. If they don't support the OS on that model, then it can be a huge matter of trial and error trying to find a driver that will work. Laptops generally don't use the standard drivers released for specific hardware/chipsets.

Having said all of that, check Device Manager for any devices with alerts (ie: yellow or red symbols). Those devices require drivers.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2016, 05:28 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Hi, I checked out the bios once, but wasn't able to see anything about sound there, I assume that there is more to my bios than I was able to see at that time, but haven't got a chance to get back into it yet. So I still need to explore that more.

As to checking in Device Manager, as far as I can see there are not any red or yellow symbols marked on any of my devices.

I did go to Lenovo's Support site and can not find my laptop there, meaning when they ask for your computers model number or serial number either way when I type these in it says your search did not turn up any results.
What I am getting from this is that they are not providing any support for my laptop anymore. They also have a program that you can install on your computer , that will help them identify your computer and it does not find any results either.

Thanks again for your suggestions I will try to check out the bios again, and get back to you with my results.

computersrkool
computersrkool is offline  
Old 04-07-2016, 02:52 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Hi just wondering if anyone has any opinions on "Driver Restore" somehow last night when I was searching support from Lenovo, I was directed to "Driver Restore" to update my drivers for my laptop. I downloaded it and this afternoon installed it. It said that I have 11 drivers that need updating. In order to get them, or even see which ones they are you have to register and pay. I was thinking of going ahead and doing it, but decided to wait until I got more information about what others thought of the program, and whether it was a good idea or not.

Let me know what you think?

Thanks
computersrkool
computersrkool is offline  
Old 04-07-2016, 02:54 PM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


Third party driver finder software not needed. You get the drivers from the device manufacturer
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 04-07-2016, 07:04 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Ok, thanks so much for getting back to me so quickly about that. I should probably uninstall "Driver Restore" then.

Thanks again
Shelley
computersrkool is offline  
Old 04-08-2016, 05:08 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


I recommend never using software like "driver restore".
They tend to cause more issues and can install malware.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 04-08-2016, 06:19 AM   #9
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10


What's your laptop's make and model? It's possible to install XP or Vista (if available) sound drivers on Windows Seven and get your audio device working. I've done this on many XP-era Compaq SFFs and a Dell 3100 when Soundmax was quite common and in some systems the sound cards were installed as generic HD audio, but wouldn't make a sound, exactly like in your case.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 04-08-2016, 06:27 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Oh my Laptop is a

Lenovo 3000 n100
Serial Number L3-K1569
Product ID 0768 7ZU

I wondered about that but didn't know if was ok to do.


Thanks any help would be appreciated.
computersrkool is offline  
Old 04-08-2016, 06:42 AM   #11
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10


Quote:
Originally Posted by computersrkool View Post
Oh my Laptop is a

Lenovo 3000 n100
Serial Number L3-K1569
Product ID 0768 7ZU

I wondered about that but didn't know if was ok to do.

Thanks any help would be appreciated.
Take a look here https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Windows...er/td-p/106778
Stancestans is offline  
Old 04-08-2016, 08:53 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
So I spent quite a long time looking over this Lenovo Forum (that you gave me in the link), and I tried a lot of the links to driver downloads that were there and finally (with the suggestion of one of the forum posters) on a different method of how to install the driver, I was able to get it installed.

So now I have the driver that I'm supposed to have (SoundMax Integrated Digital HD Audio) and I've noticed that now there is a speaker with a green checkmark, when I go to "Sound" and click the "Playback" tab. Before there was no pic of a speaker, just an audio box with a green checkmark.

Although all of this looks promising, I still don't hear any sound from the speakers or from the head phone jack.

Thanks for pointing me to this, I'm not quite sure what is happening but I will keep working at it and hopefully I will soon get it working.

computersrkool
computersrkool is offline  
Old 04-09-2016, 04:26 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


I'm not sure that Soundmax is the correct audio driver as listed for your model laptop is
Audio Codec
AD1986A
Have a look through this list of Lenovo audio drivers and note it shows Realtek and Soundmax, but your model shows Realtek, but no Windows 7 drivers.
https://download.lenovo.com/eol/index.html
You will have to install also the UAA driver for audio to function.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 04-09-2016, 07:12 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



I noticed in the Lenovo forum that I was looking through yesterday that they were saying that my laptop was supposed to have the Realtek driver, but before I reformated my laptop (when it was still an XP) I did a Belarc report of it, and it showed my driver as SoundMAX. So I was quite confused by the forum saying that my laptop model should have the Realtek driver.

Anyhow I am interested in your post, maybe for some reason in XP it worked with the Soundmax driver but in 7 it won't. I will definitely take a look into your link and see if this may be my problem.

Thanks so much
I hope this will be the solution to my "no sound" issue.
computersrkool
computersrkool is offline  
Old 04-09-2016, 07:17 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Wow, I'm not sure how you got to these web pages, but in the whole time I've been looking for support from Lenovo, I was not able to get to anything like this. Every time I tried to input my laptops model number it just said "there are no results for this".

Now should I use the Vista drivers for both the sound card and the UAA, since there is nothing for Windows 7?

Thanks again
computersrkool
computersrkool is offline  
Old 04-09-2016, 12:48 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther063 View Post
I'm not sure that Soundmax is the correct audio driver as listed for your model laptop is
Audio Codec
AD1986A
Have a look through this list of Lenovo audio drivers and note it shows Realtek and Soundmax, but your model shows Realtek, but no Windows 7 drivers.
https://download.lenovo.com/eol/index.html
You will have to install also the UAA driver for audio to function.
I went through the Lenovo EOL page and tried over and over again, even on different computers to download my drivers but when I clicked on the download links, it just took me to a new page but no download took place.

The UAA driver would not download either.

computersrkool
computersrkool is offline  
Old 04-09-2016, 11:57 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Sorry I hadn't tried downloading any drivers from there.
It seems they may have removed or discontinued drivers for that model laptop.
You may have more luck using Vista as the operating system as it was designed for that and not Windows 7.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 02:51 AM   #18
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



SoundMAX is the correct driver for your laptop (0768- 7ZU). Realtek is for models 0768- Exx, Fxx and Gxx and yours isn't any of those. The download links are working; I was able to download both Realtek and SoundMAX drivers using them. If your browser isn't automatically starting the downloads, right-click the link and select Save link as. Here's the link for the SoundMAX driver for Vista https://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub...s/61ae03ww.exe

I don't think you need UAA bus driver on Windows XP SP3 and higher. I've never had to install UAA since XP SP3 for HD audio devices to work. As you can see, there are no UAA downloads for XP SP3 and higher. Remove the driver you currently have installed. Go to Contol Panel > Programs and Features and use the entry for SoundMAX if present. If it's not there, go to Device Manager, right-click the audio device and select uninstall. When asked whether to delete the driver, select yes (mark/tick the checkbox) and finish the uninstallation. Reboot and the audio device should no longer be using the SoundMAX driver. Run the driver you downloaded using the link above. First try running it normally (just double-click it to start the installation). If the installation doesn't complete successfully, rerun it in compatibility mode for Windows Vista.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 10:29 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Hi, thanks again, I am about to go and give this a shot. Thanks for the very specific instructions, sometimes it's assumed that if one is on this site/forum that they should know all the simple details, and sometimes we seeking assistance, are too embarrassed/proud to ask for specific details.
So thanks again and never feel like any little detail is too simple to mention.

computersrkool
computersrkool is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 11:11 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
computersrkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern, Ontario
Posts: 243
OS: Win Vista Ultimate 32bit



Hi, I've tried all your instructions and everything went beautifully except once I rebooted my computer, before I got a chance to click on the exe file that I downloaded, the computer was already installing it's version of the driver, "High Definition Audio Device" and so when I did click on the exe file it did an installation but did not make a difference since the audio driver was already installed. How do I get it not to autamatically install the microsoft driver?

computersrkool
computersrkool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help!
Im unable to complete the gmer scan. It wont allow me to copy the results of the scan to submit to you guys. What do I do now?
REDLEG Resolved HJT Threads 49 12-15-2013 02:15 PM
UKASH Command prompt Virus help
Hi, I managed to get rid of the original Ukash (cheshire police) virus last year from my computer with help from spyhunter and spybot search and destroy, unfortunately I have encountered a similar virus, this time every safe mode that I log into it gives me a black screen with no toolbars or menus...
DrakeRx Resolved HJT Threads 45 06-08-2013 08:24 AM
no audio after installing XP Pro SP3 to IBM T60
Sound worked fine before installing XP Pro SP3......after instal, no audio. No audio after installing XP Pro SP3 (from disc) on an IBM/Lenovo T60 ThinkPad. IBM/Lenovo drivers from Lenovo Support site for "Audio Device on High Definition Audio Bus" are not recognized when trying to install...
Ray G Windows XP Support 19 11-20-2012 07:15 AM
Rootkit Zero Access Trojan / Virus
System Dell Duo inspiron 1090 Windows 7 Home Premium Machine has been infected by above mentioned virus this was deduced by running task manager and the top process read something 778686798.123456.exe then browsing google to see what I could find it couldn't be stopped and it has disabled all virus...
bigfoot57 Resolved HJT Threads 78 11-30-2011 02:31 PM
DirectX Features are not available
Hello. Whenever I want to play any games. This Error Pops up "Could not load direct3d" and "D3D_Create: CreateDevice() failed". I checked on my DxDiag and it came out with this: ------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 10/26/2011, 18:19:38 ...
tenekei Video Card Support 4 10-26-2011 06:31 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts