Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

No onboard sound-doesn't show device

This is a discussion on No onboard sound-doesn't show device within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi. My onboard sound device is not working and it no longer shows up in the list of SOUND devices


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2016, 10:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 257
OS: Windows 10 & Android for tablet.



Hi. My onboard sound device is not working and it no longer shows up in the list of SOUND devices from the speaker icon in the bottom right corner. I am running a Acer X3400G with Windows 10. I've tried restarting and Defender
without any luck. I tried to run a sfc in command prompt but it said that I had to be an administrator (My account IS an administrator) running a console session (whatever that is). I used the syntax "sfc /scan now". Can you teach me how to type a sfc line in command prompt that will work? I thought maybe the sound driver got knocked out somehow and that sfc could re-install it.
Onboard sound does not show up in device manager either. The only sound capability I have now is from my Nvidia video card and it only works with my Sony Wi-Fi headphones while using the TV or watching a dvd or movie from the hard drive. Last night Nvidia put out an upgrade to the driver and I installed it -Do you think this new driver caused the problem with my onboard sound? I like to use my corded Seinhausser headphones for music from the computer but the Nvidia card doesn't have an output for the 1/8 inch jack. Please tell me how to do an sfc properly and also keep in mind that
my computer upgraded to win 10 from win 7 online and I don't have a physical copy of Win 10, but there should be a complete 2nd incidence of it on my 900GB hard drive for the purposes of sfc. I cant recall the site that I used to download and install win 10- maybe Microsoft? I know this is kind of long-winded but I wanted to give you all the facts. Thanks for reading.
chap0367 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2016, 11:54 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


The command is sfc /scannnow

But that will not fix driver issues. That command only verifies Windows core files (OS related files).

The nVidia drivers shouldn't have affected the audio drivers. At least not in a way to cause the device to no longer be recognized.

Check Device Manager and ensure the audio chipset is still listed. If it's not, it's likely a hardware failure. If it is, ensure there aren't any error indicators.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More demanding games keep freezing.
Hey TSF, For awhile now I've been having trouble with some of my more high-end games freezing. Some I wouldn't even call all that "high-end", really. Games like: Counter-Strike: GO, Heroes of Storm, or Tomb Raider. However, other games like: Hearthstone, Civilization 5 work pretty well. My...
Marty M. D. PC Gaming Support 25 04-23-2015 10:08 PM
[SOLVED] GTX 680 blackscreen
Hi I've just built this comp and keep getting this every few minutes. Is it a faulty card or MB as I've tried a newer version of drivers. This card worked fine on my other MB and has only just started doing it since the new build. Comp is: W7 ultimate MB = Asrock X79 Extreme 9 CPU = I7...
reallyxxxxloud Video Card Support 7 07-29-2012 05:20 AM
Need help with RCT3 crashing
Hi there I've been playing Rollercoaster Tycoon 3 the last few months (I know, ridiculously old but SO fun, I'm addicted), building a massive park that's grown to be the size of the entire map. However about a week ago, I crashed in-game for the first time. Now I crash every 15-30 minutes. I...
ebonized PC Gaming Support 3 06-05-2012 02:59 PM
Need help determining cause of BSOD
Hi there Just want to say right off the bat that I'm not very good with computers. Love em, game all the time on em, but I don't really have very much technical knowledge (some) For the past week, I've been getting BSOD's. The most common is a 'memory management' error. There has also been an...
ebonized BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 49 05-14-2012 08:16 AM
BSOD Help
Computer is giving bsod, i have attached a bsod zip file of the 3 bsod mini dumps. thanks Summary Operating System MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1 CPU
dunz BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 03-12-2012 07:03 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts