Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

No Audio output at all

This is a discussion on No Audio output at all within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Specs of the Computer: CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb Quad-Core 3.2GHz AMD Phenom II X4 955


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2014, 05:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Specs of the Computer:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb Quad-Core 3.2GHz AMD Phenom II X4 955 Deneb 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX - Newegg.com
GPU: Nvidia GTX 560TI
EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1563-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card - Newegg.com
Motherboard: ASRock 970
ASRock 970 EXTREME4 AM3+ AMD 970 + SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS - Newegg.com
Ram: 8BG
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium

Issue:

I get no sound. Period. For awhile I was using the integrated sound from the MB, using headphone plugged directly into the back port. That went out. I bought a dedicated Sound sound and plugged that into the PCI slot, nothing. When I open up my Volume Mixer, it does show sound coming from what ever application is running, I just don't get to hear it.

I have a lingering suspicion that it is not hardware, but merely something is muted somewhere somehow. I have tinkered with everything I know, I am lost now.
ssjvegeta003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2014, 05:37 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


Hi, welcome to TSF

first go into bios and disable the onboard sound. then check your default playback is set to the sound card.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 05:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Thank you for the responce.

I longer have the dedicated sound card. When that didn't fix the issue, I chucked it. Not sure that is an issue, since you reference it (maybe, in the second sentence?). Should I still do the above?
ssjvegeta003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2014, 06:04 PM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


ok if you no longer have the sound card and just using the onboard sound then check the default playback device is set to speakers. and do not disable it in bios.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 06:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



I have included a SS of my sound mixer with "speakers" selected (they were always set to that) with youtube clip playing. Computer recognizes that there is sound, just nothing comes out either end of it (head sets + speakers, tried both front and back)

imgur: the simple image sharer
ssjvegeta003 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 06:24 PM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


could you take a screen shot of the default playback window. example what it might look like. Change system default audio device with 1 click - Virtual Audio Streaming
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 06:28 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Here is the requested SS with youtube playing.

imgur: the simple image sharer
ssjvegeta003 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 06:40 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 128
OS: WinXP



Hey Oscer,

Could it be there driver for the mb ??
alpha0meqa is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 06:45 PM   #9
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


cant hurt to try updating it. i would go to programs and features and uninstall the audio from their and then go to device manager and uninstall the driver and got the motherboard manufacture and download and install the driver.
ASRock > 970 Extreme4
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 07:11 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Before I go around deleting, took a SS of both "programs and features" on the left side of the SS and my device manger on the right. I am to delete the "realtek high definition audio" on both of them?

I have already downloaded the updated audio drivers, just awaiting confirmation.

imgur: the simple image sharer
ssjvegeta003 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 07:15 PM   #11
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


yes delete them both and then install the audio driver you downloaded
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 07:34 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Ok, so after many computer restarts from the uninstall(s) and then running the .exe on the MB audio package, I am back to square one. I fired up youtube and still nothing.
ssjvegeta003 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 07:47 PM   #13
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


have you done the sound test in windows? try the trouble shooter in step 2 in this link. No sound in Windows - Windows Help
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 07:53 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Just ran the sound test, nothing on either end of the computer. When I run the test, it shows the green bar/volume go up and down.
ssjvegeta003 is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 07:56 PM   #15
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


i edited my last post post 13 try the link to touble shooter
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No audio output device is installed
Hello TSF, I was originally trying to help a friend fix his mic not recording problem. The probabilities were eliminated and the Realtek HD Audio driver was at fault. So I had him uninstall it and restart windows to let it auto reinstall, since that usually fixes the problem. Upon restart it...
lbrtdy Sound Cards 1 12-28-2011 05:27 PM
windows 7 freezes during startup
i have been having issues since friday my computer seems to freeze on startup. it gets to the welcome screen and freezes. someone recommended doing a boot log but i don't know how to know what it means. the whole thing is to long but here is the last part someone please help Loaded...
mucwen Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 1 12-11-2011 08:32 PM
Windows 7 freezes at startup (HiJack This Log)
Out of the blue my Windows 7 x64 laptop started having problems. Every time I boot it will get to the desktop and LOOK fine, but if I try to open anything it is completely unresponsive. Eventually it will notify me that Windows is not responding and offer to restart or wait. If I restart the...
slhaas Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 08-01-2011 12:29 PM
Computer randomly crashes
My laptop randomly crashes anywhere from 20-30minutes after it is switched on! My DxDiag is as follows: ------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 5/23/2011, 19:24:55 Machine name: LINUS-PC Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build...
MooseNoose BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 06-01-2011 07:59 AM
Roller coaster Tycoon 3 Platinum - No ingame sound/music
hay everyone, lately about every second game I buy has no ingame sound... i dont kno if im just having bad luck but it would mean so much if someone could help me out.. the games i struggle to get ingame sound + music are *star wars unleashed 2 *Bully and now rollercoaster tycoon 3 id like...
Rodrigo.Carter PC Gaming Support 4 04-22-2011 12:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts