Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

Lose sound; have to reboot - HP ENVY x360 m6 Convertible

This is a discussion on Lose sound; have to reboot - HP ENVY x360 m6 Convertible within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've had my HP ENVY x360 m6 Convertible for about six months. I've had this problem pretty much from the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2017, 11:18 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
OS: Windows 7 Home



I've had my HP ENVY x360 m6 Convertible for about six months. I've had this problem pretty much from the beginning. If the computer sits idle for a significant period of time (overnight, or perhaps 1 or 2 days), the sound goes out. I have no sound from the internet, any program, etc. When I reboot, everything works fine ... for a while.

I've spoken with HP tech support multiple times. They've walked me through several steps, including updating drivers for the sound card, and various other things. Each time, it seems to works but then a few days or a week later, the problem reoccurs.

I'm running Windows 10, with the latest updates.

Any suggestions or ideas to help this non-techie?

Thanks.

Harry
HDreier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2017, 06:02 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


I would believe that if the HP tech could not figure out the problem over the phone, you should send the laptop in for repairs. You may be facing a hardware-based problem that needs physical repair.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 09-12-2017, 08:06 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
OS: Windows 7 Home



Thank you! I was afraid of that. I really can't afford to lose my computer while I send it in.

Harry
HDreier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2017, 04:31 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You could see if HP has any repair services in your area that you can send it to. In fact, UPS does a lot of repair business for companies. Meaning, your laptop doesn't go all too far.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 09-13-2017, 10:35 AM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Keep track of your warranty information. If you wait too long, you could end up paying out of pocket.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 09-15-2017, 08:39 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
OS: Windows 7 Home



Good point. Thanks.
HDreier is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] When I plug my Laptop to my Dell Monitor I lose sound
Hi TSF, Well I don't know where to start reallly as this seems like such a unique and strange issue... I have a Dell XPS 15 Laptop and when I connect it via HDMI to my Dell Monitor (which has no speakers but I play sound through my Laptop anyway) the sound icon changes to "No speakers or...
Wulflore Sound Cards 6 11-08-2013 05:43 AM
No sound at random intervals
Hi, I have a gigabyte G41MT-S2P motherboard (I know, I know. I don't have any money to get a new cpu and this chipset was all that I could find). I have a Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Extreme audio PCI-e sound card. and I am running Windows XP SP3. Recently (and by recently, I mean it has been...
Jailak Sound Cards 17 03-06-2013 04:09 PM
Sound repeats, game freezes, lose internet on resume
I'm not really sure what section to post this under, but I put it here because this only seems to happen when playing Stepmania(the only somewhat intensive game I play often). Basically I'll be in the middle of the game, and the game freezes and the instant of sound it was playing rapidly repeats....
DLH112 PC Gaming Support 4 03-23-2011 11:46 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts