Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

High Pitch Whine

This is a discussion on High Pitch Whine within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This isn't an issue with drivers or a sound card, but sound related. I have here a headset that is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2015, 05:22 PM   #1
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


This isn't an issue with drivers or a sound card, but sound related.

I have here a headset that is plugged into a desktop headphone amplifier and these two items are made for each other.

The headset uses a headphone impedance of 250 ohms and the amplifier can support that output as well; these units work very well together, as I am told.

The amplifier is connected to the rear audio port of my computer and uses a patch cable (one plug to two left and right outputs). It also uses its own power source.

When using the headset I receive a high pitch whine while increasing the volume. Drivers on the system for sound is one level back as the newest requires a BIOS update which I do not with to do.

Any idea where the whine may be coming from? What appears to be causing the whine?

Edit: Could something be causing interference? Like a USB port or a desk lamp or another cable??? It should be noted that it does NOT happen with the sound system, only with the amp. All of the cables are shielded.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2015, 08:38 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


Have you tried reducing the mic. volume? Could be feedback 'tween mic and headphones
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Old 02-14-2015, 10:23 AM   #3
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


The headphones do not have a microphone.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2015, 08:30 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


Ahh sorry, I saw headset and assumed it had a mic too (US/UK cross-terminology ) - Will the headphones work on their own if plugged direct to the PC?
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Old 02-14-2015, 09:50 PM   #5
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You're right, I should have used the term headphones.

Yes, the headphones work fine when plugged directly into the Sound system of the unit.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 07:45 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


Well, that narrows it down to the amp-unit itself - There's a few possibilities that could cause it:-

1} - Earth (Ground)-loop ~ Try different power-socket and/or disconnect the Earth from 1 end of the audio-cable.
2} - Faulty earthing in the amp somewhere.
3} - Dying component(s) in the amp.
4} - Faulty PSU (dirty power).

Usually a ground-loop produces a hum more than a whine, but it has been known to whine instead.

#2 will need a continuity-meter and lots of patience to locate.
#3 will need a multi-meter and a circuit-diagram to measure the component voltages etc.
#4 ideally needs an oscilloscope, to check for 'dirt' on the voltage.
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 09:55 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Okay, I followed what you said here's what I've come up with.

The amplifier is brand new, straight from the factory only one day old.

I plugged the amplifier into my laptop and there was virtually no whine. However, when I connect it back to my desktop the whine appears again. Any thoughts on that?

The amp is also plugged into a surge protector with a bunch of other components, would that have any affect?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 10:42 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Okay, so I did some more things, here's what I did.

Here is what the sound is like in the headphones, I found a video that displays the sound perfectly:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKdHx4nwTdI

That's what I am hearing at high volume.

Anyways...

1. I put a magnet on the power cable to eliminate any voltage interference.

2. The amplifier does NOT give off the sound if I connect it to my laptop or if the PC is set to off.

3. I plugged the amplifier directly into the rear green port, didn't make a difference. Right now it connects to a splitter so I can have the amplifier and sound system run at the same time (the splitter is brand new).

4. I adjusted the location of the plug of the amplifier to location number two on the surge protector. I also connected the amplifier directly to a wall outlet, no difference.

5. The whine is only present as volume is turned up.

Any more ideas on this? Anything would be appreciated.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-16-2015, 05:27 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


I assume the noise is NOT present from the PC, when using another speaker system?

If so, this has baffled me now - The 'diagnosis' seems to indicate the PC as the source, but if other speakers are fine, that's knocked out too.

Tried different cables? (Desperate last hope )
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Old 02-16-2015, 10:32 AM   #10
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Yes, the sound is NOT present when plugged into the sound system.

The cables are brand new though.

No idea what might cause this interference? Maybe a USB device? Maybe the drivers?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-16-2015, 01:55 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


It's very possible, problems like this often give me splinters in my fingertips, too much head-scratching....

Does the PC have onboard sound or 3rd-party audio-card? If 3rd-party card, it might be worth trying the onboard chip.
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Old 02-16-2015, 02:21 PM   #12
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


No sound card, its using the onboard sound.

Should I maybe try a USB to Audio converter?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-16-2015, 02:41 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


It might be worth a try if you have one handy, I've never used one so I can't really comment on 'em
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Corsair 500 CX (High pitch noise)
Hi there. I have a question about this power supply, but probably power supplies in general. I've had the 500 CX for almost a year now, probably been using it for around 6 months. In all of that time, it's been making little chirping noises, and a high pitch noise, none of which have bothered me. ...
andrewparker RAM and Power Supply Support 7 02-19-2013 08:57 AM
High Ping and Packet Loss During Online Games
Hello, about 4 weeks ago we started experiencing Packet Loss and High Pings while playing games. This affects our 2 PC's and our PlayStation 3 (Since we use them for gaming). We have contacted our ISP several times regarding the issue but each representative we have talked to has had different...
eyesofdeath983 Networking Support 3 01-24-2013 09:43 AM
No Sound on PC (Realtek High Definition Audio Driver)
I'll give you guys the full story with as much information as possible to make this as easy as possible. Yesterday i installed a game however, when i went to play i got a message saying my 'Sound-Driver was occupied by another application and i needed to close that application in order to play...
Conwork Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 2 01-01-2013 05:27 PM
High PF Usage
My page file usage has been EXTREMELY high recently, ranging from 800mb - 1.5GB. i have a Toshiba Portege M200 running Windows XP 2005 Tablet Edition with 1.99GHz processor speed and 1 GB ram. My PC is correspondingly VERY slow and dysfunctional. I have AVG free antivirus and service pack 3. I...
seattletechkey Windows XP Support 1 04-23-2011 08:33 PM
[SOLVED] Everex
Hello, I'm glad to have found this website! I need a driver for an EVEREX STEP NOTE 250E Audio Device on High Definition Audio Bus driver freeware download. I have been looking for 2 days and all I have seen are downloads for driver scanners that you have to buy or register for a fee. I have...
aluminumview Driver Support 2 04-20-2011 01:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts