Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

Creative Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 Surround

This is a discussion on Creative Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 Surround within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Does anyone know any specific model I should get for Creative Sound Blaster Live! 5.1?


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2007, 04:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Build 7600

My System


Does anyone know any specific model I should get for Creative Sound Blaster Live! 5.1?
Stealth3si is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2007, 04:47 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Hi,
Could you please explain a little more. Do you mean the soundcard model? If it's still possible to get Live! cards I think there are 2 models: "Just the card" and Platinum (card + front panel).

Nicholas
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 04:53 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Build 7600

My System


Just the card. There's the SB0220 model and CT4780. I want to make sure I'm getting the most of my money on ebay.
Stealth3si is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2007, 05:02 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



As far as I know you should get the CT4780 - it's hard to find drivers for the SB0220. Is there any specific reason you want a Live! card (if I may ask). The card is rather old and you will have problems if you choose to upgrade the operative system.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 05:12 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Build 7600

My System


ok the CT4780 as long as it it has front, rear, and center outputs.. I want it for 5.1 surround playback for watching movies.
Stealth3si is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 05:17 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



What about Audigy2 and up? They should be cheap too.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 05:48 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Build 7600

My System


thanks -- i'll look into it.
Stealth3si is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 03:27 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Build 7600

My System


is the audigy 2 compatible w/ my 32-bit PCI slot? I don't know if it is PCI 2.1 or 2.2 compliant?
Stealth3si is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 04:51 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

It'll work just fine unless your board is VERY old, we're talking mid 90's old.
ebackhus is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 10:45 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Build 7600

My System


Thanks. I bought a used one ( but in perfect working condition. Includes Install CD. SB0240 w/ firewire) for $20. Is that usual price?
Stealth3si is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 07:07 AM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Sounds like a good price. Have you installed it?
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 10:52 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Build 7600

My System


Not yet; but after I install it and have everything up and runnin', I'll keep you posted though if you like.
Stealth3si is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 11:00 AM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth3si View Post
Not yet; but after I install it and have everything up and runnin', I'll keep you posted though if you like.
Yes, please let us know what you think of the "new" sound.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 05:16 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Build 7600

My System


I finally got it, which was past over due. I think the "new" sound is great. A difference experience altogether. I've updated it to the latest drivers from Creative's site, "Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (SB0240 model)". It installed the Audio Console, which provided control settings for EAX, Speaker Settings, CMSS 3D, and Device Information via tabs. But I wonder if the "Speaker Setting" and "Surround Mixer" softwares included in the CD are referring to the Console's Speaker Settings and CMSS 3D tabs. It didn't come with any CDs.
Stealth3si is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 05:50 AM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



From Creative's Surround mixer you have access to speaker settings, CMSS, EAX etc. Also - in the surround mixer you can control the different input sources.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What ram to get
Hello I am aiming to upgrade my computer. I have a windows xp SP2. My CPU is a Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.66GHz, My current ram or so it says is 224. I am wanting to go to 1 gig. I would like to know if i can do this and if i can. How do i know what to get. Do I want DDR or what I am really...
Frozencrow RAM and Power Supply Support 23 03-25-2007 05:00 AM
Sound Problem (Sound Blaster Audigy, Vista)
Hey, having some real odd problems lately since installation of Vista (Home Premium) :rolleyes: I just cant figure it out, ok heres whats up. I have sound on my computer perfectly fine I guess except for one game. PSU (Phantasy Star Universe), when I run it my sound cuts completely, I cant hear...
dark_leon3000 PC Gaming Support 16 03-11-2007 06:55 PM
sound blaster live! platinum
when i install my sound blaster card from device manger, (PCI Multimedia Device), what file is it looking for exactly. cos my installation cd doesnt work, even though i point it to the correct pathway e:\audio\english\win9xdrv, it says the windows cannot find the correct setup files, so im...
chungyfied Sound Cards 7 10-08-2004 07:49 AM
Huge problem with ati radeon 9200 catalyst drivers
I changed windows ME to XP.My card used to work perfectly.But with xp its not.After catalyst installation is completed, they prompt a msg to reboot.After rebooting everything goes fine.BUT,if i reboot once again,the display are at 800X600 and 4 bit color.Ati control panel tells me wether they...
Tecno150 Video Card Support 0 08-18-2004 06:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts