Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

Creative Alchemy fails to detect my SBZ!

This is a discussion on Creative Alchemy fails to detect my SBZ! within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'm running Windows 8.1 x64, I don't have ther latest sound blaster zx drivers because they require Windows 10.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2016, 05:17 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 8 64-bit



Hi, I'm running Windows 8.1 x64, I don't have ther latest sound blaster zx drivers because they require Windows 10.

Anyway, Alchemy fails to install because it says it can't find any supported hardware. Any ideas how to fix that?

Also, is Alchemy useful in windows 8.1?

Thanks
Astralogic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2016, 06:34 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


So you have the version that shipped with your card? If so, install the drivers and software from the driver disc.

Having said that, if you aren't sure what it's for, or if you need it, don't install it. No reason to bloat your system with unnecessary software. All you need for proper sound support are the actual drivers, not any of the additional software.
__________________
Jim

JimE is online now  
Old 01-14-2016, 07:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 8 64-bit



But what is alchemy for? Is it worth me getting it to work?
Astralogic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2016, 07:52 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,324
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Here's a screen shot of mine.....

This is what EAX is: EAX: (Environmental Audio Extensions) is an Application Programming Interface (API) developed by Creative Labs to create environmental audio in games and other audio applications.
Takes audio realism and performance to new heights to deliver total immersion music, movies and gaming.
EAX software and tools let you maximize your musical talent to bring out the best of your music creations.
Optimize and enhance music playback to suit your tastes and environment.
reference link: Creative Worldwide Support

For this to work you have to have the Creative hardware installed..ie sound card or in my case, it's built onto my mobo. Do you have this?

Click image for larger version

Name:	creative.PNG
Views:	817
Size:	151.2 KB
ID:	269153
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 01-15-2016, 04:26 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 8 64-bit



Yes I have a Soundblaster Zx, but when I try to install the program it says it can't find any supported hardware :(
Astralogic is offline  
Old 01-15-2016, 05:57 AM   #6
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


It's a software "solution" for the changes in how Windows processes audio. And it's for software (ie: games) that were released before Windows Vista (when the changes took affect) or with game engines designed before Windows Vista. Also, EAX only works for games with EAX support. This included many of the high end games of that era, but when Windows audio changed, most games dropped EAX and took advantage of the new Windows audio processing.

So unless you play a lot of old games, again, it's a wasted effort.

Link: Creative Worldwide Support
__________________
Jim

JimE is online now  
Old 07-29-2016, 11:43 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
OS: win10



I just installed Win10, and ALchemy refuses to run. It says no compatible hardware found. What the hell, it worked like charm on win7-64, with realtek hd audio.

Googling doesn't help for some reason. Seems that noone cares.
Valet2 is offline  
Old 07-30-2016, 05:54 AM   #8
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Has it been updated to support Win10?

Simply because something runs in one OS does not mean it will run in another.

You could try using compatibility mode.

And no, likely not. As noted above, it's for old game support. I don't know anyone that has it installed much less uses it.
__________________
Jim

JimE is online now  
Old 07-30-2016, 01:59 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
OS: win10



What is really weird - when I returned to Win7-64, it refused to work as well! I don't have a SB card, but before that I used Alchemy with my built-in Realtek with no problems. I even took the same version I've been using before my harddrive died.

Today I spent half a day trying to get it working. Appeared only a hacked version, which is pretty old as well, called Alchemy Universal, works. Okay, I can buy an SB, but it was fine... no - perfect, before.
Valet2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with desktop.ini virus and blue screens
No sure where these came from in the past week, but I have two shadow icons on my desktop, and every folder has a desktop.ini configuration settings item. Tried to remove with MalwareByte anti-Malware and McAfee Security to no avail. Now I am experiencing blue screen on a regular basis. Any help...
oldfool Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 12 11-11-2014 02:20 PM
Microsoft Security Essentials fails to detect more than one third of malware
Microsoft Security Essentials fails to detect more than one third of malware | WinBeta
JMH3143 Computer Security News 0 12-23-2013 01:00 AM
Motherboard occasionally fails to detect SSD
I have an OCZ Agility SATA 3 drive, and as Asus M5A88 motherboard, running on Windows 7. Most of the time, everything runs fine - however, occasionally (i.e. every 3 days to a week, on average), my computer crashes and, after it reboots, it fails to detect my solid state drive. After this...
thehman Hard Drive Support 1 09-14-2011 09:28 AM
Browser redirect
Hi, I suspect I have a brower redirect/rootkit problem. Main symptom is occasional redirections of firefox to random sites but most commonly and incresingly to the "scour" site. I have AVG 9 installed. The attached archive contains two copies of the GMER log as I seems to have problems...
donkeyfan237 Resolved HJT Threads 12 02-21-2011 09:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts