Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

Challenge! 'Selective' Sound Problem

This is a discussion on Challenge! 'Selective' Sound Problem within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok. Ok. Where to begin? First off, I am NOT tech-savy. I am a complete noob. My dad built my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2007, 05:00 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



Ok. Ok. Where to begin?

First off, I am NOT tech-savy. I am a complete noob. My dad built my computer and recently upgraded it. And that's where the problem began...

My computer has a 'selective' sound problem. To better explain the situation, I better map it out:

'Areas' where sound doesn't play:
-I don't hear any Window XP OS sounds.
-Youtube vids (the videos work, but the sounds don't play)
-any media that uses Adobe Flash Player doesn't play sound.
-the latest version of itunes won't run now, because it has detected a problem with my "audio configurations."

Areas where sound DOES play
-the previous version of iTunes.
-media files (ex: .avi, .mp3, .mkv, etc.)
-PC games

As far as I can gather, my computer's specs now are:
-Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
-2.79 GHz, 1.00GB RAM
-P4M800PRO-M Motherboard
-Realtek AC'97 Audio for VIA(R) Audio Controller (I'm assuming this is the audio card).


Now, all my volume controls are turned up to the max, and nothing is mute. I went to the Realtek website and downloaded/installed their latest audio codec. But the selective sound problem still remains.

So please help me. This is an itch I can't scratch. This is driving me crazy.

Please help.
Northridge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2007, 06:11 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
DeathHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 382
OS: Windows XP Pro



Hi,i will help as best i can

start>control panel>system>hardware>device manager

can you look in there and see if you have any yellow exclamation marks

download the following 2 drivers from the following link and save them to a file for easy access:

1/...VIA service pack (4 in 1)
2/...RealTek Codec Sound on board driver


https://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Dow...nuID=6&LanID=9

let me know about the exclamation marks and we will go from there
DeathHawk is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 11:18 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



DeathHawk, thanks for helping me out on this.

I have checked the Device Manager, and I don't see any yellow exclamation marks.
Northridge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2007, 11:41 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Hi,
Do you get any error messages? Have you installed SP2?

Nicholas
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 11:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
DeathHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 382
OS: Windows XP Pro



download both the files i mentioned and save them to a chosen file

you will probably have to unzip them once downloaded Firstly, just the audio driver: place pointer over the file:

right click on where it says "extract here" and click and file will be downloaded to that location

In device manager, scroll down to the sound,video and game controllers section and click open

uninstall the realtek ac'97 driver

go back to the audio file you downloaded and run it to install

edit: did you go into control panel>sounds and audio devices>sounds and audio tabs? check in there that the sounds are actually turned on
DeathHawk is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 12:12 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



Nicholas, the only error message I get is trying to run the latest version of iTunes (the previous version worked just fine), and SP2 is installed.

DeathHawk, I tried your suggestion. But after uninstalling Realtek and installing it again, I get a warning about how the realtek program didn't pass Microsoft certification. But I took a chance anyways.

But I hear no changes at all. The volume functions are all up and unmute. It's a selective sound problem; I don't hear any Window OS prompt sounds; but my .mp3 files work just fine.

It's mind-boggling!
Northridge is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 12:25 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



There is an issue with Realtek and one of Microsoft's updates. I'm not sure this applies to your problem, but try reading this article.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 12:26 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
DeathHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 382
OS: Windows XP Pro



"did you go into control panel>sounds and audio devices>sounds and audio tabs? check in there that the sounds are actually turned on"

so in these locations-it does not say "no sounds" in the "sound scheme" bar?

sorry to repeat myself but just making sure as that is where the xp sounds are turned on and off
DeathHawk is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 12:38 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



Everything is on.
Northridge is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 01:16 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
DeathHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 382
OS: Windows XP Pro



just found this other version-install as in previous post

good luck-you want the top one

https://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...tDown=false#AC

this is your latest chipset-it has bugs reported which is why you are most likely having problems-have a look:

https://www.viaarena.com/default.aspx...=36&CatID=3170

if you read the info,there are reports of problems with audi and video which are being looked into-it recommends you using Hyperion Pro 5.10A version-here is the link below-download and run this and then reinstall the ac'97 again

https://www.viaarena.com/default.aspx...D=1&CatID=1070
DeathHawk is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 03:01 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



I've installed both the Hyperion Pro 5.10A and the Realtek Audio codec...and nothing has changed. Being the tech noob that I am, is it possible for me to ditch Realtek?
Northridge is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 03:17 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
DeathHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 382
OS: Windows XP Pro



hmmmmm...

try "add hardware" again to see what happens

as we have been to and fro-lets try it once more as i would suspect that this is your problem according to the chipset info about reported audio problems....

remove both the chipset and ac'97 again....reboot your pc and then install the chipset....reboot ....then install the ac'97 again...then try "add hardware", this may help find some system drivers etc

im saying reboot twice because it may help your pc sort out any install probs-just a try..

good luck
DeathHawk is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 03:36 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



I'm sorry, in the Add or Remove Programs list, which one is the "chipset?"

Oh, and I solved the iTunes problem (I just uninstalled Quicktime and reinstalled it as a standalone).
Northridge is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 03:42 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
DeathHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 382
OS: Windows XP Pro



you will find it here

start>control panel>system>hardware>device manager

should be under display adaptors

yellow exclamation marks?
DeathHawk is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 03:52 PM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



No yellow exclamation markss, sorry. The Display adapters only show a 'NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra.' If it's alright with you, I'm going to call it a day and get out of the house; I've been banging my head over this for hours. I'll post back later to tell you if the recommendations work. Later.
Northridge is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 03:58 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
DeathHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 382
OS: Windows XP Pro



lol-i dont blame you-i have had many hours of frustration with my pc-catch you soon
DeathHawk is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 02:03 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
DeathHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 382
OS: Windows XP Pro



Lets give this another shot...

Remove the AC'97 driver (again)

According to the VIA site-the best way to uninstall your via chip set is-i quote...

"You can remove the chipset drivers by running the installer again and choosing "uninstall" at the prompt. Reboot"

Reinstall the Hyperion Pro 5.10A version chipset.reboot

reinstall the AC'97

post back when you have finished banging your head against the wall..lol
DeathHawk is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 03:10 PM   #18
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



IT WORKED!!!!

I don't know how, but it worked.

Deathhawk, thank you.
Northridge is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 04:59 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
DeathHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 382
OS: Windows XP Pro



Fantastic-well done-an idea would be to keep those 2 downloads in a driver file in case of future need..
DeathHawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CS:S sound problem
Okay I just got CS:S today installed and everything when I go to play and test my speakers in options I get red error signs all over the area and then when I go to play its all laggy and same for the sound like im talk extremly laggy if you want I can give you the spec's of my computer ...
thanza PC Gaming Support 5 10-21-2006 01:14 PM
Sound Problem Stumps Me.
I have a sound problem that affects specific applications and not others. I can hear sound playing from DVD and CD discs in computer drawer. I can hear TV sound playing which originates from the ATI X1900 All In Wonder Card. I cannot hear FM sound playing which originates from the ATI...
shepsan Sound Cards 5 09-29-2006 02:10 PM
Recording Sound problem
Hey I was wondering if you guys could help me with a problem. My sound works fine, I can play music etc, but when I try to record sound using my mic, nothing works. My brother has the exact same comp, and his works fine. My soundcard is Soundmax. My microphone is properly plugged in, it doesnt...
boonghead Sound Cards 3 10-08-2005 11:22 PM
Sound Problem after Update
I just did a Windows update, and there was an update for my sound card. I downloaded it, and now my sound is very low. The only way to make my sound louder, is to go into the volume controls and put either master volume, or wave, or both, all the way to one side (left or right). and when I do that,...
Carter_00 Sound Cards 2 10-01-2005 11:02 AM
same sound card, new sound problem
I have had my computer for a few years, and it desperately needed to be formatted. Everything was working fine up until the format, but after the sound card will not work. I used Everest and it identifies my sound card as an SiS 7012 audio device. I have an SiS 735 chipset and an AMI BIOS. The...
K1LOS Sound Cards 0 01-07-2005 10:42 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts