Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

Challenge! 'Selective' Sound Problem

This is a discussion on Challenge! 'Selective' Sound Problem within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok. Ok. Where to begin? First off, I am NOT tech-savy. I am a complete noob. My dad built my

Closed Thread

Old 04-10-2007, 05:00 AM   #1

Ok. Ok. Where to begin?

First off, I am NOT tech-savy. I am a complete noob. My dad built my computer and recently upgraded it. And that's where the problem began...

My computer has a 'selective' sound problem. To better explain the situation, I better map it out:

'Areas' where sound doesn't play:
-I don't hear any Window XP OS sounds.
-Youtube vids (the videos work, but the sounds don't play)
-any media that uses Adobe Flash Player doesn't play sound.
-the latest version of itunes won't run now, because it has detected a problem with my "audio configurations."

Areas where sound DOES play
-the previous version of iTunes.
-media files (ex: .avi, .mp3, .mkv, etc.)
-PC games

As far as I can gather, my computer's specs now are:
-Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
-2.79 GHz, 1.00GB RAM
-P4M800PRO-M Motherboard
-Realtek AC'97 Audio for VIA(R) Audio Controller (I'm assuming this is the audio card).

Now, all my volume controls are turned up to the max, and nothing is mute. I went to the Realtek website and downloaded/installed their latest audio codec. But the selective sound problem still remains.

So please help me. This is an itch I can't scratch. This is driving me crazy.

Please help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-10-2007, 06:11 AM   #2
Registered Member

Hi,i will help as best i can

start>control panel>system>hardware>device manager

can you look in there and see if you have any yellow exclamation marks

download the following 2 drivers from the following link and save them to a file for easy access:

1/...VIA service pack (4 in 1)
2/...RealTek Codec Sound on board driver