Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

User Tag List

audio feedback when plugged into hi fi

This is a discussion on audio feedback when plugged into hi fi within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. when my G505 is plugged into the hi fi I can hear background noise. I have upgraded to driver from


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-17-2014, 10:35 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
OS: windoes 8


Thumbs Down

when my G505 is plugged into the hi fi I can hear background noise. I have upgraded to driver from Lenove and there is still background noise.

When I plug into the power socket all sound stops and I hear pure white noise. I purchased a new power cable but this did not solve the problem.

Sometimes, when I start up and plug it all together with the power cable the audio works perfectly so I am very confiused and annoyed.

Background noise is not something I expect and total white noise is totally unacceptable.

I think it is the smart audio socket failing to cope!
I wish I had never bought a lenovo G505
richardharbord is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2014, 10:26 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Test with a different set of headphones or computer speakers.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 10-20-2014, 07:31 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


Hi richardharbord and welcome to TSF

Also, check the audio mixer-panel's inputs and make sure all unused channels are muted. What channels that are used should be set to approx 75% of max volume, then increase the master volume to compensate (85% max).
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2014, 01:55 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
OS: windoes 8



Yes the laptop works without feedback noise with my headphones but I recieve feedback and white noise when I plug it into my expensive hi fi and hi fi cable, but only when it is plugged into the power cable. There is often an considerable drop in power outputtoo when the power cable is removed. The problme is all my other laptops work properly with this hi fi and this cable so it must be a problem with the laptop. I was not planning on purchasing a new hi fi or cable just because I unfortunately bought a Lenovo G505s.

What is even more annoying is that I thought the problem was that the cable could completely penentrate the socket so I cut the plastic away around the socket, but this did nothing to help, which was really annoying. So I have mutilated my laptop and still cannot use the laptop with my cable and hi fi like I used my old Lenovo G550!
richardharbord is offline  
Old 10-21-2014, 02:09 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
OS: windoes 8



I have also tried a different cheaper cable with my hi fi but the results were the same, white noise and feedback.
richardharbord is offline  
Old 10-21-2014, 08:20 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


I would seem that, as the noise only shows when the laptop is mains-powered, it's either the 'power-brick' or the mains-socket is noisy - As other laptops are OK, it would appear the power-brick itself is the source.
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Old 10-28-2014, 09:28 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
OS: windoes 8



what is a power brick
richardharbord is offline  
Old 10-28-2014, 11:51 AM   #8
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Laptops have a power cord (AC plug on one end and a barrel DC connector on the other end) which has a large AC to DC converter in the middle of the cable. The large converter in the middle of the cable is commonly referred to as the "power brick".
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 10-31-2014, 04:22 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
OS: windoes 8



I have purchased another power cable (30 pounds) and tried this one but the results where the same. So, the problem was not with the power cable. Any other suggestions?

As I said, twice the system worked, but I cannot find out how this happened or repeat the effect. I have tried updating the sound device driver (Dolby) but this has had no effect on playback. Without the charger plugged in the sound is either OK or has a quiet background hum, which is very annoying. With the power cable plugged in there is normally a loud feedback noise, which is totally unacceptable.

I think it is to do with the microphone/audio output combo socket, either the software or the hardware. What is to be gone?

Also, thank you for your continued help with this.

Kind regards

Richard Harbord
richardharbord is offline  
Old 10-31-2014, 08:23 AM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


The only other thing I can think of is the audio-out socket, either faulty soldering or just a 'bad' socket - Unfortunately, cutting the plastic-surround might have invalidated the warranty, but it might be worth contacting Lenovo explaining the problem and see if they can still repair it, if the warranty is still valid.

Alternatively, a local repair-shop might be able to replace the socket, but how much they'd charge is anyone's guess.
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Audio in videos going out of synch, Vista service pack 2
Hi everyone! This is my first post here so i do apologise if this is in the wrong place. I have a problem that's been driving me crazy for nearly 12 months now, the audio in any video i watch on any website or player in Firefox will begin to lag and go out of synch, this can be corrected by...
TheElfishGene Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 20 02-13-2012 09:21 AM
Computer periodically freezes on games
I'm new to this forum and I'm posting here because I have a very unusual problem with my computer at the moment, and haven't been able to find anything about it anywhere else on the web thus far. My computer's specs: AMD Phenom 8750B Triple-Core 2.39GHz 2 sticks of 2GB RAM (3.25GB available)...
wolfups PC Gaming Support 12 08-31-2011 12:37 PM
HDD to record on.
Hi I was looking around for a low size HDD that'll be fast for recording with Fraps. On a game such as MW2 I get stable 70-90 FPS But as soon as i hit that Fraps hotkey, its an instant drop to 30-45fps and it feels terribly laggy. I was thinking of buying a new HDD to record onto, but before...
bhstr99 Hard Drive Support 9 04-03-2011 03:06 PM
Slow/Not responsive
My pc has lately as expected gone very slow and not as responsive. At the start-up especially. I have to wait a good 2mins before touching anything or things start to 'Not respond' and such. I was wondering if you guys could recommend me ANYTHING that I could do to speed up my pc significantly....
bhstr99 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 18 03-26-2011 03:38 PM
Changing the Processor on a Laptop?
I have an HP Pavilion dv7-4273ds Entertainment PC. It has an AMD Phenom(tm) II p960 Quad-Core Processor. I'm hoping this isn't the reason that my games have been flopping lately. So, how difficult is it (if at all possible) to change the processor on a laptop?
drhea2 Laptop Support 5 03-24-2011 09:41 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts