Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Gadget Support

User Tag List

cable box

This is a discussion on cable box within the Gadget Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF AN ETHERNET PORT ON MY STB (CABLE BOX)? THANKS netbee


Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Wrench97
  • 1 Post By Wrench97
  • 1 Post By steve32mids
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2020, 01:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: west indies
Posts: 95
OS: windows7 DHBQ4L1



WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF AN ETHERNET PORT ON MY STB (CABLE BOX)?

THANKS

netbee
netbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2020, 01:52 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,007
OS: Win7



Rarely used but when they are it's as a signal source, dependent upon your cable providers set up. All STB's are that I've seen are configured per the providers spec.
netbee likes this.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 02:00 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: west indies
Posts: 95
OS: windows7 DHBQ4L1



is it an output/input
netbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2020, 02:48 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,007
OS: Win7



I've only heard of it used as a input, but again the firmware would have to support it's use.
netbee likes this.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 02:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: west indies
Posts: 95
OS: windows7 DHBQ4L1



THANKS
netbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 04:05 PM   #6
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



depends like we have different tv cable sky tv etc some broadcast channels through the internet. some you it to watch youtube on the tv downloading films adding different apps.

Just depends what box you have and you cable provider is.

basic use is firmware updates and online content, as mentioned above.
netbee likes this.
__________________
steve32mids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 04:40 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: west indies
Posts: 95
OS: windows7 DHBQ4L1



thanks buddy
netbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 04:21 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Ultimate 32



????
You don't need an Ethernet port to update a cable or satellite box, they update themselves via the satellite signal or cable (coax or fiber-optic). You need the Ethernet cable mostly for Video On Demand and for streaming apps you can access through the cable/satellite box (many of them, for example, support Netflix and Amazon Prime Video now... those are internet services and Wi-Fi is too slow if you are streaming UHD/HDR so the only option for interruption-free streaming is an Ethernet connection combined with internet service that's around 100 Mbps minumum (faster if you want to be able to have multiple using the internet at the same time).
HavFun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 03:34 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Big Prairie Mi.
Posts: 1,555
OS: win7-64, BSD and no more 10

My System


If it has a built in network, it's often a way to connect an external drive.
Not all are connected though.
kendallt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts