Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Very Slow Game Client Downloads

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Very Slow Game Client Downloads within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there, I have been getting excruciatingly slow downloads to my PC, but only on game clients (Origin, Steam, SWTOR


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2013, 11:11 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Hi there,

I have been getting excruciatingly slow downloads to my PC, but only on game clients (Origin, Steam, SWTOR updater, etc.) and I'm having a hard time finding a solution. Torrent speeds seem okay, and the other computers on my router are downloading just fine. I have already tried implementing DMZ to this system, as well as disabling all firewalls/internet security (not permanently, of course), yet my download seems capped at 100 KB/s. For contrast, I had downloaded a 2 GB game to my Xbox the other day and it was done in about 20 min (I believe it ran close to 2 MB/s.

Other than the steps I've taken (bypassing the router being the most likely, or so I thought) is there anything on my system that could be causing this?
Pwalex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-12-2013, 11:34 AM   #2
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

Hi! How are ya? Welcome to TSF! :)

Have you checked in the client's settings to make sure it doesn't have a download rate limit?
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 06-12-2013, 01:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Yeah, I did look through the settings. The one I'm trying to improve the speed on right now (SWTOR) doesn't really have any options to tweak.

Thanks for the reply!
Pwalex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-12-2013, 04:18 PM   #4
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System


Try it on Steam. Go to Settings, then the Download tab and check the bandwidth option.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 10:43 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Set to maximum. And still doesn't explain the slow speeds in Origin and SWTOR.
Pwalex is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 03:06 PM   #6
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

Have you tried reinstalling the clients? And is it only on this PC, or are the clients on your others slow also?
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 06-14-2013, 11:29 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



This is absurd. I just tried a speedtest on the problem-PC and then another on my laptop. The PC got 1.9 Mbps down/0.69 Mbps up, whereas the laptop got 6.35 Mbps down/0.65 up. How can only one system get slower internet? And how is it only the downstream that is being affected, and not the up?
Pwalex is offline  
Old 06-14-2013, 12:12 PM   #8
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

Are you connected wirelessly? Try through a LAN cable. Or switch cables if already wired.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 06-14-2013, 03:02 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



So it seems to have resolved itself. This is definitely one of the weirdest issues I've ever had, but that PC seems to be back up to speed after I did... absolutely nothing.
Pwalex is offline  
Old 06-14-2013, 04:16 PM   #10
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

Haha! Well, that's been my experience with computers; sometimes they do stuff on their own. Glad it's resolved and I hope it stays that way, but come back if it doesn't. :)

Please mark this thread as Solved using the thread tools at the top of the page.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis Warhead works slow? PC game.
PC Game Crysis Warhead works slow either through slow graphic settings. Mouse pointer disappears, is not visible in game menu. I cannot play normally as on full graphic control. Starts in DirectX10. What have to adjust or install. Could not solve to work either in DirectX11. My PC specs: ...
AllanFAQfin PC Gaming Support 1 12-07-2011 11:29 PM
Custom software (VBA) mibehaves when sent to client
I develop a custom package for a client in VBA Excel. While the software is tested and trouble free on my computer in the office, beyond a certain development point, the client begins to have issues as updates are sent to him. The problem here is two-fold as the client is having an issue with the...
mdawson69 Microsoft Office support 0 09-26-2011 07:54 AM
game client configuration has stopped working
ok so this game AuraROSE worked on my old computer with windows xp and now on my new computer with windows 7 i downloaded it for the first time, then when i open it i have to pick options and when i click apply it crashes and says game client configuration has stopped working. please help i really...
justin0395 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 06-23-2011 12:39 PM
Sims 3 - Won't Let Me Play Game
Yesterday I downloaded a new update for my Sims 3 game. As soon as it finished downloading I went to play my game and it wouldn't let me. The message that popped up on my screen was something like, "This game is incompatable with the current Sims 3 Expansion Pack". The game I was using was Sims 3...
erin. PC Gaming Support 2 04-23-2011 07:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts