Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Playing Counter Strike 1.6 using College wi-fi

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Playing Counter Strike 1.6 using College wi-fi within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My college has wi-fi and I was wondering if it's possible for me and my friends to play counter strike


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2014, 08:27 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


My college has wi-fi and I was wondering if it's possible for me and my friends to play counter strike using our laptops whilst connected to its wi-fi network.
Also, does it matter if I have the Steam version of the game and my friend has the non steam version? Do I need to install any other additional software to be able to play with them?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-12-2014, 06:24 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


As long as your College does not care on if you play games, then go for it.

It should not matter as long as you are both on the same server.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-12-2014, 06:38 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Oh no, not for online games, but for WLAN games...
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-12-2014, 07:04 PM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


Try these instructions:
How to play Lan Games on wifi or wireless lan(WLAN), Counter Strikenewtecharticles.com
Play counter strike on LAN and WLAN at same time, Wlan launchernewtecharticles.com

You might need to get the college IT dept to change some network settings to allow you to play or to improve network performance. Example: Reducing Choke, Optimize your network settings Counter-Strike Tweaks
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 06:08 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Hey I was able to play Age of Empires 3 using my phone as a router (internet sharing) but for some reason I'm unable to do the same with Counter Strike. Could this be because I have the Steam version of CS while he has the non-Steam version?

Also, if I use internet sharing on my phone to play LAN games, it won't consume my internet data right?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 10:31 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Yes, it may be that issue. They may not share the same game servers.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 10:37 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


And regarding internet data consumption when using the phone as a router to play LAN games?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 01:43 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


As long as you don't use your phone's network data, I don't see it as a problem.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 06:14 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


I tried following these steps: How to play Lan Games on wifi or wireless lan(WLAN), Counter Strikenewtecharticles.com Technology News, Best Apps, Gadgets, Internet and Security Tips today in college with Age of Empires III and even though I hosted the game, it didn't show up in my friend's game server list.

Here are the steps I followed:

1. Ran WLAN Launcher
2. Set up a network with SSID as "WLAN" and password as "launcher" and changed Firewall settings to allow WLAN Launcher to run and set up the network
3. Used my friend's laptop to connect to this "WLAN" network
4. Opened Age of Empires on my laptop and created a LAN game
5. Opened Age of Empires on my friend's laptop and searched for LAN games

But his server list did not show my game. Am I missing something? And he turned off his firewall too just in case but that didn't help either.

EDIT: Which network should the host laptop be connected to?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 08:30 AM   #10
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


As you said and what I have agreed too, was that the issue most likely lies in that you both are using different copies of the game.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 08:44 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


We have different versions of Counter Strike but post #9 talks about Age of Empires III.
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 08:48 AM   #12
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Are you both using Steam for that game?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 08:49 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


No, both are non-Steam versions.
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 06:40 PM   #14
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You're still using the school's network correct? It must be an issue there where they are blocking certain hosting ports.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-25-2014, 05:21 AM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Oh ok...

I had another question:

Me and my friend(s) have Counter Strike 1.6. Is it possible for one of us to host/create a server and the others to join this server and play from our respective homes? I have the HLDS application on my PC.

Also, is it possible to do the same with Age of Empires III?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 11-25-2014, 08:28 AM   #16
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You could as long as you have a machine that handle the server application.

Both games would need to be able to see the server as well.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-25-2014, 09:00 AM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Hamachi + Cs would work right? Just used it with AoE and it works fine...
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Counter Strike 1.6 freezing
Ever since I started playing the old Counter Strike again on my new computer, at random times mostly after a couple hours of gameplay, my computer completely locks up, I have no choice at that point but to manually restart my PC. The first couple times that it happened, I was talking to a friend...
Meister88 PC Gaming Support 0 09-26-2011 01:20 PM
BSOD when playing Counter Strike Source. HELP!
So ive been randomly getting BSOD when im playing Counter Strike Source. The messages have varied each time
LaxBro123 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 08-27-2011 02:57 AM
Counter Strike 1.6 Hang(Not Laag) just after connected with the server
Hello, I'm using windows 7 and I have been playing CS on my laptop(using windows 7) since few months ago, the game was working smooth and fine but since last week suddenly I got some problem that whenever I tries to connect with any online server(have tried thousands of IPs) though everytime I...
k092105 Online/Network Gaming Support 4 05-18-2011 02:28 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts