Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Server Hosting Problem.

This is a discussion on Server Hosting Problem. within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So, I've been trying to host a server for minecraft. I've done so PLENTY of times in the past (Many


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2014, 04:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit



So, I've been trying to host a server for minecraft. I've done so PLENTY of times in the past (Many servers over the span of 2 years). The way I did it was open up the port in my router configuration, find my IP, add firewall exceptions, and then check to make sure the port's open via a port checker. If all was set, I'd give my IP to other players, and they would be able to connect. I don't know what happened, but no one can connect anymore. Here are the steps I take when setting up my server

1.) Download and create server.
2.) Run it and connect through localhost to make sure that the server works properly
3.) Open the port 25565 on my router
4.) Run a port checker website to make sure the port's open (It is)
5.) Find my IP through whatismyip
6.) Try to connect through my IP (This is where It's failing)
7.) Give my IP to other people

So yeah, I don't know what's wrong. I need some help please?

Router: Xfinity SMCD3GNV
Ipconfig:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Zack>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FellowShip
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Windows Adapter V9
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-E4-B1-33-88
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ec1f:46d3:3c43:60b%22(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.123.101(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 302055396
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-54-5A-9A-32-32-32-32-32-32

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Ethernet adapter Evolve Gaming Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Evolve Virtual Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-AA-2B-FD-D9
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : GoTrusted-x64 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-07-08-2F-97
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter OAS
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-E1-26-91-74
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::19df:b389(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1946:88c0:64df:2b7%15(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.123.210(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::1900:1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 369164257
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-54-5A-9A-32-32-32-32-32-32

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 32-32-32-32-32-32
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:8:9e00:803:9346:eaf3:e56:ad85(Prefer
red)
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, May 09, 2014 9:01:02 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, May 22, 2014 3:34:04 AM
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:8:9e00:803:a8c8:ac0c:485f:c525(Prefe
rred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2601:8:9e00:803:540d:8827:a406:1df8(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a8c8:ac0c:485f:c525%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, May 09, 2014 9:01:01 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, May 24, 2014 7:41:06 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::226:f3ff:fe51:6ef2%11
10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 240182601
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-54-5A-9A-32-32-32-32-32-32

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:558:feed::1
2001:558:feed::2
75.75.75.75
75.75.76.76
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{E4B13388-A3B8-431D-8670-A3EB8D5C97FF}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{07082F97-24F5-4928-A02E-24E447E9D9F5}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{3E480F08-0843-48C7-AC41-4A7A6218EFC3}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.wa.comcast.net.:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{E1269174-81BB-46DE-A569-D6E67A21B136}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Zack>
origination is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2014, 03:51 PM   #2
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


Have you checked to make sure your IPv4 address is still the same as what was entered for the port entry? Also, I would recommend using the PF Port checker when checking ports.
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 05-19-2014, 08:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit



The ip that I get from IP checkers is "76.28.187.11". No one can connect through this IP, not even myself, so I figured that was probably the problem.
I then went to check my IPv4 address to see if it was different now, and tried connecting to that one instead of the one that the IP checker gave. It worked for me, but my friend wasn't able to connect to it. My friend is able to connect to other servers, but not mine, so I figured that it was a problem with my server. On a side note, I've tried disabling all of my firewalls, no success.
origination is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2014, 08:53 AM   #4
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


Have you tried putting your computer in DMZ mode on the router? Also, what result does the PF port checker give? That particular port checker has an advantage over other checkers in that it is able to see your computer's IP address, not just the public IP address.
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 05-20-2014, 01:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason09 View Post
Have you tried putting your computer in DMZ mode on the router? Also, what result does the PF port checker give? That particular port checker has an advantage over other checkers in that it is able to see your computer's IP address, not just the public IP address.
I don't know how to do that. How would I do that?
And I downloaded that and checked it, the port's open on TCP and UDP.
origination is offline  
Old 05-20-2014, 01:44 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason09 View Post
Have you tried putting your computer in DMZ mode on the router? Also, what result does the PF port checker give? That particular port checker has an advantage over other checkers in that it is able to see your computer's IP address, not just the public IP address.
I have my router's config open. There's IPv4 and IPv6 DMZ options. One one do I enable and what do I input into the box?
origination is offline  
Old 05-20-2014, 03:43 PM   #7
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


For DMZ, you would use the IPv4 address of your computer (which was 10.0.0.2 from your IP config result).
Another thing I would suggest doing is making sure your Minecraft server properties file is still the same as the default.
Quote:
#Minecraft server properties
#(File modification datestamp)
generator-settings=
op-permission-level=4
level-name=world
enable-query=false
allow-flight=false
announce-player-achievements=true
server-port=25565
level-type=DEFAULT
enable-rcon=false
level-seed=
force-gamemode=false
server-ip=
max-build-height=256
spawn-npcs=true
white-list=false
spawn-animals=true
hardcore=false
snooper-enabled=true
online-mode=true
resource-pack=
pvp=true
difficulty=1
enable-command-block=false
gamemode=0
player-idle-timeout=0
max-players=20
spawn-monsters=true
generate-structures=true
view-distance=10
motd=A Minecraft Server
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 05-20-2014, 07:06 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason09 View Post
For DMZ, you would use the IPv4 address of your computer (which was 10.0.0.2 from your IP config result).
Another thing I would suggest doing is making sure your Minecraft server properties file is still the same as the default.
Okay. Done. My server file is fine. I enabled DMZ for 1.0.0.2. It's slightly different now. I cannot connect through localhost, I can only connect to my server through my IPv4 address. Friend still connect to my server using IPv4 address (169.254.123.210) but can now connect through this IP address that ip trackers show (76.28.187.11)

It seems that doing that worked. Thanks a ton! One more thing, care to explain why enabling DMZ allowed my friend to join? And why do IP trackers show the IP address 76.28.187.11 instead of 169.254.123.210? I'm confused lol.
origination is offline  
Old 05-20-2014, 07:44 PM   #9
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


Were you previously using the 169.254.x.x address for the port entry on the router? The 169.254.x.x address is an automatic address assigned to the computer if it cannot find an IP address from the router. However, your true IPv4 address obtained from the router is 10.0.0.2. If you were using the other address for port forwarding, then this was the issue, and DMZ may not even be needed.

DMZ opens all ports instead of having to specify individual ports with port forwarding. The fewer the number of ports open, the safer a computer is. So if you were using the 169.254.x.x address for port forwarding before, I would actually suggest replacing that with the 10.0.0.2 address and disabling DMZ.

The 169.254.x.x and 10.0.x.x addresses are local/private to your computer and the network. Meaning, in most cases these addresses cannot be seen to the outside world (the Internet). By contrast, the 76.x.x.x address is your public IP address that is obtained from your ISP.
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 05-21-2014, 11:54 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason09 View Post
Were you previously using the 169.254.x.x address for the port entry on the router? The 169.254.x.x address is an automatic address assigned to the computer if it cannot find an IP address from the router. However, your true IPv4 address obtained from the router is 10.0.0.2. If you were using the other address for port forwarding, then this was the issue, and DMZ may not even be needed.

DMZ opens all ports instead of having to specify individual ports with port forwarding. The fewer the number of ports open, the safer a computer is. So if you were using the 169.254.x.x address for port forwarding before, I would actually suggest replacing that with the 10.0.0.2 address and disabling DMZ.

The 169.254.x.x and 10.0.x.x addresses are local/private to your computer and the network. Meaning, in most cases these addresses cannot be seen to the outside world (the Internet). By contrast, the 76.x.x.x address is your public IP address that is obtained from your ISP.
No, it was 10.0.0.2 the whole time. 25565 was opened for 1.0.0.2. Hrm... strange. I'll try disabling DMZ and see if it works.
origination is offline  
Old 06-20-2014, 05:21 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason09 View Post
Were you previously using the 169.254.x.x address for the port entry on the router? The 169.254.x.x address is an automatic address assigned to the computer if it cannot find an IP address from the router. However, your true IPv4 address obtained from the router is 10.0.0.2. If you were using the other address for port forwarding, then this was the issue, and DMZ may not even be needed.

DMZ opens all ports instead of having to specify individual ports with port forwarding. The fewer the number of ports open, the safer a computer is. So if you were using the 169.254.x.x address for port forwarding before, I would actually suggest replacing that with the 10.0.0.2 address and disabling DMZ.

The 169.254.x.x and 10.0.x.x addresses are local/private to your computer and the network. Meaning, in most cases these addresses cannot be seen to the outside world (the Internet). By contrast, the 76.x.x.x address is your public IP address that is obtained from your ISP.
Alright. Problemos again. It was working from the iPv4 address. Now it's not working at all. I checked my ipconfig and the ipv4 address no longer exists. Don't know what's up. Here's the ipconfig...


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Zack>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FellowShip
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : GoTrusted-x64 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-07-08-2F-97
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 32-32-32-32-32-32
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:8:9e00:803:9346:eaf3:e56:ad85(Prefer
red)
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, June 20, 2014 2:22:35 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 23, 2014 2:41:28 AM
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:8:9e00:803:a8c8:ac0c:485f:c525(Prefe
rred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2601:8:9e00:803:60c2:e398:57b8:33c(Prefer
red)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a8c8:ac0c:485f:c525%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, June 20, 2014 2:22:33 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 17, 2024 2:22:33 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::226:f3ff:fe51:6ef2%11
10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 240182601
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-54-5A-9A-32-32-32-32-32-32

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:558:feed::1
2001:558:feed::2
75.75.75.75
75.75.76.76
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.wa.comcast.net.:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{07082F97-24F5-4928-A02E-24E447E9D9F5}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
origination is offline  
Old 06-20-2014, 06:48 PM   #12
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


I'm still seeing the 10.0.0.2 IPv4 address listed from the ipconfig. Have you checked to make sure the port and DMZ settings are still the same in the router?
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 06-20-2014, 07:06 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason09 View Post
I'm still seeing the 10.0.0.2 IPv4 address listed from the ipconfig. Have you checked to make sure the port and DMZ settings are still the same in the router?

It's all the same. Aren't I the only one who's able to connect to that one? Isn't 10.0.0.2 a local connection? I don't think other people can connect to me by using 10.0.0.2
origination is offline  
Old 06-21-2014, 09:47 AM   #14
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


You are correct. Are you saying then that people can no longer connect to your public IP address?
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 06-21-2014, 12:42 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason09 View Post
You are correct. Are you saying then that people can no longer connect to your public IP address?
Well, people were connecting through
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.123.101(Preferred)
before. Now that one doesn't exist for some reason. I didn't change any config settings or anything.

No one was ever able to connect through (76.28.187.11) which is the address that websites such as whatismyip tell me.
origination is offline  
Old 06-23-2014, 03:44 PM   #16
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


Ok, I did not realize that people were connecting through the automated IP address. I would check Windows Updates to see if an update happened to have been installed recently for your network adapter. Alternatively, you could also see if there is a new update available.

I tend to think that the root of the problem was never fixed, as people should be able to connect to the public IP address. But if the PF port checker still reads the ports as being open, it would seem as though the problem is not with port forwarding.
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
~*~Mixed Bag of Problems~*~
Hi, everyone! I have had a lot of problems with my computer lately and I'm hoping someone would be able to help me out. The most pressing issue right now is that my e-mail is sending out Spam links when I'm not even on my computer. The first time it happened, I changed my password, but tonight the...
TabbyCat725 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 156 07-09-2012 07:50 PM
Windows 2003 Server and Windows 2008 Server
Hello, I have a problem. I have a old Dell Windows 2003 Domain Controller server. We purchased a new server, the old is out of warranty, Insurance. The thought is to add the new Dell 2008 R2 server to the Domain and then prompt it to Domain controller and demote the 2003 to a member. PS...
sblair_5 Windows Servers 20 04-06-2012 02:12 PM
Virus: Network card, USB, Audio
Hello, It seems like I've run into quite the virus lately and was hoping that someone could help me out. While everything was working fine I tried to plug in a USB mouse and had no success. When I went to plug it in nothing popped up that it was recognized, so I decided to restart my laptop,...
Ajjr108 Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 11-04-2011 01:43 PM
Antivirus programs and Windows updates blocked
Hello to the Forum. I have got this problem: it is impossible to update antivirus programs and windows. Regarding the latter, I can't perform windows update neither from the start menu (error code 80072EFE) neither from internet (can't connect to windows update page). Other than this I can't...
beppe1968 Resolved HJT Threads 25 10-06-2011 02:24 AM
DNS problem I think
Hi all, This problem started on Monday. I am thinking it is a DNS issue or maybe file sharing issue but probably DNS. This first started with just new PC’s that I got “Dell optiplex 380 with Win 7 pro." I just recently installed around 15 new ones. I also have around 40 optiplex with Win XP...
joeny0706 Windows Servers 21 04-12-2011 07:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts