Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

SERIOUS problem- cant connect to game servers, and cant play multiplayer games!

This is a discussion on SERIOUS problem- cant connect to game servers, and cant play multiplayer games! within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. For the past year, this netvigator router has been killing me. For some reason, i cant connect to any game


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2013, 11:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
OS: windows 7



For the past year, this netvigator router has been killing me. For some reason, i cant connect to any game servers, or play any multiplayer games. You know, those errors such as, 'failed to log in, could not connect to servers'.

Now Im pretty sure its the routers problem, because no other device in the house can play with the internet from the router. Additionally, i usually visits my friends often,a s their internet works fine for me, allowing me to play games easily.

The mystery is, rarely, i am able to connect and play the games. maybe once a week. I have no idea what allows this, so thats what makes me really confused.

These are the games of their servers i cant connect/i can tplay:

-League of legends ( cant connect to anything )
-Steam ( cant connect to servers)
-xbox live

I havent tried others, but im pretty sure 3 is enough to prove that theres a serious problem here.

I disabled firewalls on windows 7, fowarded ports (however im not sure if i did them correctly), tried dmz hosts all sorts. But i still cant get this fixed. Maybe theres somethig blocking conenctions from other servers in the router? idk..

Id prefer that Id have an appropriate response to repair the problem, rather than having someone telling me to buy a new router. Thanks

SIDE NOTE: Internet browsing such as facebook, google, youtube works perfectly fine!

check the attachment, i screenshoted the ínterface status'. Idk what it is, but maybe it could help! (screenshoted from default gateway)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ddd3eewsd.JPG
Views:	158
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	123763  
jellybabe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2013, 10:47 AM   #2
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


Hi and welcome to TSF!
What is the exact brand and model number of the router? If you have a separate device for your modem, please list that as well.
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 04-02-2013, 05:52 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


You may need to contact the ISP and order a replacement router.

However you may need to change the channels on your router, making sure that other devices can connect to it. Make sure the router doesn't have any unwanted devices connected to it, ensure it's running in dual-band mode if it's a newer router and finally, make sure the router isn't near any microwaves, televisions, powerful speakers and other electronics.

Have you attempted connecting to the router with an Ethernet cable?
-WOLF- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-06-2013, 08:14 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
OS: windows 7



Modem is netvigator! (i live in hk)

Ive tried changing the channels all this time... Nothing worked. Ive fiddled with the default gateway , did research, but so far i have found no solution?!!
Probably the onlything which nudged me wad something about port fowarding or a dmz host. I followed the steps in the web/tutorials, but still had no sokutioi have tried ethernet.. Never works

I still assume theres some 3rd firewall in the modem... Idk how to find it or disable it...

Thx for the quick reply
jellybabe is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 06:18 PM   #5
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


Have you tried power cycling the device?
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 04:47 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
OS: windows 7



Whats that???
jellybabe is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 11:23 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Unplug the device from the wall, leave it unplugged for thirty seconds, then plug it back in. That is what power cycling is.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 05:05 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
OS: windows 7



Of course I did that... Probably over 100 times during the past year.

Im thinking that the router is blocking something? Like a third party firewall installed into the modem.

Another possibility could be that there is some interference or something which is blocking or interrupting the connection...

Im jsut sure its not my computers problem though...
jellybabe is offline  
Old 04-11-2013, 03:10 AM   #9
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


If you think the router is blocking something, go into the router's settings and check the firewall page.

Also, is there any parental control software installed?
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 04-11-2013, 05:11 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
OS: windows 7



tried that, but the thing is there snothin in the configuration page about a firewall..
jellybabe is offline  
Old 04-13-2013, 06:59 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
RyanJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu, W98, XP, Vista



It sounds like you have the exact same issue as me, if it is the same issue I have been having to for over 5 months and it aggravates me like crazy.

I suggest running this test out to test your connection: ICSI Netalyzr
Code:
Click  permalink at the top right and copy the URL.
I think this is more an internet issue than anything.

After doing that, I also suggest looking at the DMZ in your router, and make an exception for the games.
RyanJT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts