Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Rubberbanding/lag on multiple games.

This is a discussion on Rubberbanding/lag on multiple games. within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I've had this happen in Battlefield 4, TF2 and Nosgoth among others. I'll find a server that shows a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-08-2014, 11:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 8



So I've had this happen in Battlefield 4, TF2 and Nosgoth among others. I'll find a server that shows a ping of less than a hundred, join it. Immediately rubber banding I check my ping it shows <100 and after a minute or two it jumps up to around 300. I have no idea what causes this or what I can do to fix it.

I'm on a wireless connection on an alienware desktop. Speedtest gives me a ping of 42 and a downspeed of over 3mb which I believe should be good enough to play online without rubberbanding. I can't connect to the modem/router directly because for some reason this desktop doesn't have an ethernet port.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
blueblazerchick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2014, 11:14 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

Let's take a look at your system temperatures. Follow this guide here:

Untitled Document
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 08-09-2014, 07:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 8



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Hi and Welcome to TSF!

Let's take a look at your system temperatures. Follow this guide here:

Untitled Document
I'm pretty sure this is a network issue, it's rubberbanding not just lag. Also I don't experience it in any singleplayer game.
blueblazerchick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2014, 09:00 PM   #4
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

Have you tried resetting the router?
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts