Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Ping from 100 and below to 500+

This is a discussion on Ping from 100 and below to 500+ within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. It just started yesterday and I have no clue as to why my router is fine and the is only


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2011, 06:47 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 94
OS: Window7



It just started yesterday and I have no clue as to why my router is fine and the is only a 2 week old laptop.
Mrpitman123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2011, 12:18 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,841
OS: Windows 10 education x64

My System


Are you playing games wirelessly?

Whats the laptops make and model?

Run Pingtest.net - The Global Broadband Quality Test and see what pings you get to the closest available place.
McNinja is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 03:14 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


There are several reasons.

1) is your network secure and passworded? People could be accessing it, using bandwidth. Are other people on the network in the house? same problem/

2) you're using other programs (Torrents, YouTube, internet radio, skype etc) that take up bandwidth

3) you're playing a far distance from the router, especially if you're behind thick walls

4) does your router have a 5GHz frequency band? If so try to use it (though it should use it automatically)

5) try using if possible an Ethernet cable to test and see if it's not the connection between you and the router or something else.
-WOLF- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2011, 11:10 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Carpetfizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 958
OS: Windows 7, Mac OSX Lion, Windows 8 Consumer Preview


Were you downloading anything in the background? Also, try to reset your modem and router.
Carpetfizz is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 04:30 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: England
Posts: 390
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium (SP1) and Ubuntu 12.10 [Dual-Boot]



The classic solution of turning the router on and off would be the easiest start. If not, try the steps -WOLF- has suggested.
GreenLightPC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts