Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

PC crashes during online games. Help?

This is a discussion on PC crashes during online games. Help? within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a 3 year old HP Pavilion Elite HPE with an AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1035T Processor 2.60 GHz


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2014, 01:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



I have a 3 year old HP Pavilion Elite HPE with an AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1035T Processor 2.60 GHz with 6 GB of RAM and a 750W power supply. About 5 months ago it worked perfectly fine, then all of a sudden it stopped playing online games (Rift, GW2, LOTRO), at first the graphics were all bugged and glitchy and then any media started to be touch and go, so I replaced my video card, that didn't fix the problem. Then my games stopped playing all together, I could log in and things would load then freeze and my computer would restart or I would get the blue screen of death. So I took it into a certified shop and the guy cleaned my computer, installed new RAM and a new video card (Geforce GTX 660) and updated everything. Didn't work, so I took it back in and he uninstalled everything and reinstalled it all from scratch, still didn't work. What could be the problem? Could it be my motherboard?
poeticguardian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2014, 02:06 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



I have Windows 7 64 bit home edition btw.
poeticguardian is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 02:22 PM   #3
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System


Hey! Welcome to TSF!

Sounds like it could be either a virus or a bad PSU. What brand and model is your PSU?
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2014, 02:27 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



No way it's a virus, had it clean out twice, once had everything completely wiped and reinstalled from base and the technician could find no viruses.

Sorry it's not 750W, it's an OCZ 700W StealthXstream 2
poeticguardian is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 02:41 PM   #5
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System


Oh, okay. Yeah, it could definitely be your PSU. Faulty PSUs can cause havoc in all area of your PC and if I remember correctly OCZ isn't a very high quality brand. But let me get some of the techs who know more about hardware over here. :)

EDIT
Haha! Chief read my mind. Thanks.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 02:42 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


What is the 12V, 5.5V, 3V and VCORE voltages in the BIOS?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 02:47 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



How do I check that?
poeticguardian is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 03:03 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Download HWMonitor from here:

https://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html




Make sure to download the .zip file to your desktop.




Once downloaded to your desktop unzip the hwmonitor.zip folder to your desktop.

Open up the unzipped folder and run either the 32bit Software or 64bit Software.
How to tell the difference: https://support.microsoft.com/kb/827218
Allow HWMonitor to run while the PC is at an idle state. After about five minutes of running at idle take a screenshot and save the image to your desktop.

Now allow HWMonitor to run while gaming or doing heavy processing for about five minutes. Take another screenshot and save the image to your desktop.

In your next reply please include both screenshots.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f195/how-to-post-a-screenshot-184291.html
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 03:27 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



I was unable to screenshot during gameplay because my computer restarted so I could only take a screenshot during the character select screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bios1.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	108.4 KB
ID:	161298   Click image for larger version

Name:	bios2.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	110.9 KB
ID:	161306  
poeticguardian is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 04:00 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



I finally managed to get a screenshot from 5 minutes of gameplay after 3 crashes.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bios3.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	110.8 KB
ID:	161314  
poeticguardian is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:18 PM   #11
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



have you thought about a new cpu cooler for your system well you say it's three years old and most cpu's come with 3 years warranty so after 3 years if the cpu is burnt out.

either get a faster cpu for the system, for me I would get a new cpu cooler.

and if you have no luck either replace the hard drive and then the cpu then the motherboard.
steve32mids is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 07:48 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



Thanks, I have thought about it, but I know it's not a cooling problem, I have plenty of cooling. And as for my CPU, everything else works just fine, I only crash when I try to play games, and I may as well get a new computer if I'm going to change my CPU, so I would prefer to determine the problem before I spend more money. Do you know of any good places to purchase a CPU for a decent price in Canada?
poeticguardian is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 08:06 PM   #13
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

I would bet it's your PSU over your CPU/MoBo, but let's wait for the other techs to get back to us on it before making any decisions.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 08:35 PM   #14
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


HWMonitor is showing very poor voltages but can get false readings. The best way is to check in the BIOS.

Considering what your explaining and the poor PSU, it would look to be a PSU issue.

Seasonic, XFX or Antec HGC PSUs are all top quality.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-28-2014, 01:48 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



I just bought an XFX PSU, installed it, everything was running fine, then 5 minutes into playing my online game everything froze then crashed. Crash report says the same thing as always.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 4105

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 124
BCP1: 0000000000000000
BCP2: FFFFFA80068246C8
BCP3: 0000000000000000
BCP4: 0000000000000000
OS Version: 6_1_7601
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 768_1
poeticguardian is offline  
Old 02-28-2014, 02:15 PM   #16
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


What wattage PSU did you buy?

Can you please post the STOP error code? It will be like 0x000xxxx
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 03-02-2014, 07:31 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



It is a 550W.
Where do I find the STOP error code? If it's on the blue screen it never actually shows up. Everything just freezes then restarts.
poeticguardian is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 06:17 AM   #18
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You can find it in the Event Log:

How To Use Event Viewer - Microsoft Windows Mini-Guides
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 02:50 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 11
OS: Win 7 64 bit



I'm unable to find the code, I did all of the steps and tried to find it but that post seems to not help for anything other than
"Windows NT
Windows 2000
Windows XP
Windows 2003
Windows Vista"

Is there a way for Windows 7? I have the "Windows has recovered from an unexpected shutdown" message still up, is there a way to find it from that?
poeticguardian is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 03:14 PM   #20
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Use this here to gather the BSOD error information:

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ta-452654.html
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird lag spikes in online games on laptop
Hello there, I'm experiencing some weird lag spikes on my laptop. First , my system specs Acer Aspire 5920G Intel Core 2 Duo @1.7GHz Memory: 2GB NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS Direct X 11
collapsed PC Gaming Support 0 06-13-2011 11:04 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts