Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Online Ping Issue

This is a discussion on Online Ping Issue within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey everyone. I built a new computer back in August and I started playing Battlefield: Bad Company 2 whenever I

Closed Thread

Old 05-19-2011, 07:15 PM   #1
Registered Member

My System

Hey everyone. I built a new computer back in August and I started playing Battlefield: Bad Company 2 whenever I had some free time. In the beginning, everything ran great. I also played several other online games and had very few complaints. However, over the past few months, I have been having horrible connection issues. Occasionally, I would find a night where I did not have the problem, but I cannot even do that recently.

My problem is that I can find and ping servers with decent results, but as soon as I join the server, my ping skyrockets and, in some cases, it almost seems like my bandwidth has been drained. To elaborate on this, I decided to get creative one day. I opened up my command window and started pinging a Counter-Strike: Source server that I play on at times. I should note that I use the -t command so I can continuously ping throughout the whole process. When I start pinging, I usually get times ranging from 80-110ms. I know this is not great, but for my internet connection, this is really good.

I then join the server and tab to the command window. Now, I should note that this next part usually happens immediately, but occasionally I can play for several minutes before it starts. What happens is that my ping in game continues to rise until it reaches the maximum displayable ping. When I look at the command window, I can see where the time rises into the thousands and then times out after that. My ping will stay like this and will not lower by as much as a millisecond.