Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

On-line only works if i'm downloading in the background

This is a discussion on On-line only works if i'm downloading in the background within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys, hope I'm posting this in the right section. New to this forum and hoped someone would have some


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2014, 10:13 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
OS: windows 7



Hi guys, hope I'm posting this in the right section. New to this forum and hoped someone would have some sort of answer for me.

I'm trying to play a co-op game on-line (Dark Souls) through 'game for windows live'. All my other on-line games work fine however with this specific game, I can only receive a constant connection if I keep something downloading in the background. If I am not downloading then I lose my connection to 'games for windows live' after 5 or so minutes.

Any ideas guys, I could really use any help or advice anyone has to give.

Thanks guys.
massy2k6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2014, 11:49 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
OS: windows 7



Forgot to mention I checked for the necessary ports for this particular game as well as 'games for windows live' and found these to be the correct ports:

Port forwarding must be enabled on the TCP port 80.
Port forwarding must be enabled on the UDP and TCP port 3074.
Port forwarding must be enabled on the UDP port 88
Port forwarding must be enabled on the UDP and TCP port 53
Port forwarding must be enabled on the TCP port 443

I opened these up and tested each one with the port forward app and it confirmed that all these are opened, so not sure what else to try at this point.
massy2k6 is offline  
Old 07-15-2014, 01:52 PM   #3
PC Gamer
 
Khaoz123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 820
OS: Windows 10



Have you tried re-installing the game and maybe your internet?
Khaoz123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-15-2014, 04:26 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
OS: windows 7



Not the internet but the game yes. My internet works fine for other games, could that really be it?
massy2k6 is offline  
Old 07-15-2014, 04:28 PM   #5
PC Gamer
 
Khaoz123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 820
OS: Windows 10


It could be, that or you just need to verify cache if on steam
Khaoz123 is offline  
Old 07-15-2014, 06:39 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
OS: windows 7



I just attempted to try a new router to see if it would make any difference but with still no luck. Sorry I'm not sure how to verify the cache which you mentioned.
massy2k6 is offline  
Old 07-15-2014, 06:54 PM   #7
PC Gamer
 
Khaoz123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 820
OS: Windows 10


If you are on steam you can verify the cache by right clicking the problem game and selecting properties, from there select the local files tab, lastly click the verify integrrty of steam cache button. While the cache verifier is running, please do not play any steam games until it is done.
Khaoz123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
google hijack and other problems
Kk, haven't been able to use google at all for some time. And I have been getting some hot linked random words in web pages that pops up an add when you pass the cursor over them. GMER didn't work for me at all. Went to blue screen with message that they shut windows down. And when I try to zip the...
Cpilot Resolved HJT Threads 35 09-29-2013 12:45 PM
Virus problem - k8h00.exe
I'm sure that I have a virus. I'm getting a notification that Windows can't update, and startup has been extremely slow. When I checked my startup programs, I discovered this: k8h00.exe in C:\Users\user name\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\StartMenu\Programs\Startup, which I'm sure is the virus...
Abitibi Resolved HJT Threads 49 09-12-2013 09:24 AM
A few Questions
Hey guys I have a few more questions, I have been slowly working on my site and looking for stuff to do it like the software to set up a social site kinda like fb or myspace. well any ways I also wanted to set up a message board for the site for people to get help or talk about stuff, for now it...
Dblanchard1278 Web Design & Development 27 07-25-2011 01:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts